We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle at Birch Bay to your Saves list
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are staying here through a Time Share exchange program, but you can rent here too.
Great condos. We are in a 2 bedroom condo - a family can live here full time. It's very clean and well kept up. Full size kitchen that is fully stocked. Fireplace in the living room. Within driving distance to Mt Baker ( beautiful scenery!) Close to Bellinham and Lynden,and Vancouver ( went there twice already - easy ride), and located right on the water . Plenty of restaurants nearby. There is a heated pool on site - and while we are not using it, there are people enjoying it each day.

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BK122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great welcome from front desk upon arrival. We had a two bedroom unit. Our stay was to use as a base for day trips on our motorcycle so did not "use" beach, pool etc etc....
Hallway rugs are a little stained. Mattress was a little tired. Apart from that the room was great.Really nice full sized kitchen appliances, granite counter tops, fireplace and tv.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with beach view have best location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boatnutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the weather stayed nice long enough for your Bike trip! We wanted to let you know that we are working to replace the hallway flooring as we know they are in need of attention after a very active summer . We are Thankful for your comments and will continue to work to provide the best experience possible for you and all of our guests! Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a lovely 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit looking right onto the bay. Very clean and well appointed. Birch Bay itself cannot be considered a "destination", but Semiahmoo's spa is lovely to visit and Fairhaven and Bellingham are close by. We were extremely lucky to have beautiful sunsets to view and from the 5th floor spaces, lovely views of Mount Baker! Daily maid service is quite a perk also!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The Sunrise and Sunsets in this area cannot be beat! We are glad you got to experience the quaint town of Fairhaven and were able to enjoy a spa day as well . For your next stay ask us about the Whale watching tours and other events that are available in the area. Hope to see you soon! Thank you , Stacy L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a pleasant surprise!! We weren't expecting such nice lodging in the quite that is Birch Bay. We were there in the off season (Late September - early October) but would consider coming back in the summer. And would look forward to having the kids and grand kids sharing a unit. The staff was efficient and prompt with any request we had. We look forward to staying there again. The value is great compared to the chain hotels along the interstate and the view is outstanding, even through the rain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so glad we were able to Surprise you ! Summer in Birch-Bay is a wonderful time and you and your family will enjoy all the added activities for that time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at the end of August with son, his wife, and their 2 young children. The staff was outstanding for their 24-hour helpfulness and friendliness. Our 3 bedroom was immaculate, roomy, comfortably furnished, with a large deck overlooking the bay and spectacular sunsets. Although our bedroom overlooked the pool and the resort was supposedly full, the pool quiet hours allowed us to sleep without any noise. In fact, overall the place was very quiet. All the TV's and kitchen appliances worked great, and we were even able to stream Netflix movies from our laptop to the LR TV. The location was about a 10 minute drive to Blaine, WA, which is on the border with Canada. There were a couple of nice parks, shopping, and a beautiful marina there. Right across the street from our hotel, we all loved learning to dig for clams and hiking on the empty bay when the tide went out what seemed like 1/2 mile each day. We also took a drive to see Mt. Baker from Artist's Point. Spectacular, and a short (1 1/2 hour or less) drive. The positives far outweighed the negatives, but here is what I didn't like: an ugly power line wrecked the sunset view, so all great sunset pics had to be taken from the shore vs. balcony; nearest good playground and good shopping was in Lynden, WA, about a 20 minute drive. More positives: good walking from hotel, safe area, good bar attached to resort restaurant, rental place for kayaks, etc., next to hotel, free wireless.

Room Tip: Previous reviewer said the rooms facing the golf course are quieter, but there is no golf course (ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family of four spent a week at Sandcastle in early August. We had a two bedroom unit on the 4th floor overlooking the bay. Overall, our experience was very good. The front desk personnel were excellent with many suggestions for day trips to Mt Baker and Bellingham. I did feel that the maid service could be improved with better cleaning of the living areas.
Best location for end of day sunsets

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRUCEfmMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went with a group of girls and stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The room was amazing with 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, full kitchen, a huge deck and a view overlooking the beach. We could have stayed in the room all day. It was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2morrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Bay
0.1 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
9.3 mi away
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#11 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
15.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Property: Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Address: 7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing