We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in October”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a lovely 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit looking right onto the bay. Very clean and well appointed. Birch Bay itself cannot be considered a "destination", but Semiahmoo's spa is lovely to visit and Fairhaven and Bellingham are close by. We were extremely lucky to have beautiful sunsets to view and from the 5th floor spaces, lovely views of Mount Baker! Daily maid service is quite a perk also!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The Sunrise and Sunsets in this area cannot be beat! We are glad you got to experience the quaint town of Fairhaven and were able to enjoy a spa day as well . For your next stay ask us about the Whale watching tours and other events that are available in the area. Hope to see you soon! Thank you , Stacy L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a pleasant surprise!! We weren't expecting such nice lodging in the quite that is Birch Bay. We were there in the off season (Late September - early October) but would consider coming back in the summer. And would look forward to having the kids and grand kids sharing a unit. The staff was efficient and prompt with any request we had. We look forward to staying there again. The value is great compared to the chain hotels along the interstate and the view is outstanding, even through the rain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are so glad we were able to Surprise you ! Summer in Birch-Bay is a wonderful time and you and your family will enjoy all the added activities for that time of year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at the end of August with son, his wife, and their 2 young children. The staff was outstanding for their 24-hour helpfulness and friendliness. Our 3 bedroom was immaculate, roomy, comfortably furnished, with a large deck overlooking the bay and spectacular sunsets. Although our bedroom overlooked the pool and the resort was supposedly full, the pool quiet hours allowed us to sleep without any noise. In fact, overall the place was very quiet. All the TV's and kitchen appliances worked great, and we were even able to stream Netflix movies from our laptop to the LR TV. The location was about a 10 minute drive to Blaine, WA, which is on the border with Canada. There were a couple of nice parks, shopping, and a beautiful marina there. Right across the street from our hotel, we all loved learning to dig for clams and hiking on the empty bay when the tide went out what seemed like 1/2 mile each day. We also took a drive to see Mt. Baker from Artist's Point. Spectacular, and a short (1 1/2 hour or less) drive. The positives far outweighed the negatives, but here is what I didn't like: an ugly power line wrecked the sunset view, so all great sunset pics had to be taken from the shore vs. balcony; nearest good playground and good shopping was in Lynden, WA, about a 20 minute drive. More positives: good walking from hotel, safe area, good bar attached to resort restaurant, rental place for kayaks, etc., next to hotel, free wireless.

Room Tip: Previous reviewer said the rooms facing the golf course are quieter, but there is no golf course (ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family of four spent a week at Sandcastle in early August. We had a two bedroom unit on the 4th floor overlooking the bay. Overall, our experience was very good. The front desk personnel were excellent with many suggestions for day trips to Mt Baker and Bellingham. I did feel that the maid service could be improved with better cleaning of the living areas.
Best location for end of day sunsets

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRUCEfmMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went with a group of girls and stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The room was amazing with 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, full kitchen, a huge deck and a view overlooking the beach. We could have stayed in the room all day. It was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2morrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The do called beached were not really beaches butud flats. I'm from ct and expected sand. The units ate spacious but there was only one end table I'm the master bedroom and I like to read before bed. The couch was uncomfortable to sit on and watch TV. But the location is great for visits to Vancouver, Whidby Is and the San Juan's.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I read many reviews and lack of ventilation is a key issue. NO AC; But that is the only negative and mind you we are in room 211 that faces away from the Puget Sound. You can get a robust view by going to the 5th floor and going out on the roof or the pool level. Beautiful sunsets and beautiful views all the way into Canada. . The hottest it has been all week is 77 degrees. Why would anyone need AC? Nice 1 bedroom room and a great staff and nice décor. It has been refurbished in the last few years. . Nice kitchen and lots of space. No complaints here. Try CJ's restaurant when you are here as we liked it, only two lots to the north of the Sandcastle. the pool is nice and available year round. Washing and dryer are the stackable kind and better yet the washer is front loading. Have never seen a front loading washing machine in a timeshare. Raintree Vacation Club is easy to work with if you think 1 year out and they have many nice properties in Mexico, Telluride, Whistler BC, And Park City Utah. Walks are so nice and the C shop has sugar free ice cream and cinnamon rolls to die for. Beauty everywhere. Why would you vacation anywhere else?

Room Tip: Ask for ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deslagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted that you appreciate the charm and beauty that our resort and surrounding area have to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to beautiful Birch Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Bay
9.2 mi away
Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa
0.1 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
90 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
473 reviews
4.6 mi away
Semiahmoo Resort
Semiahmoo Resort
#1 of 3 in Blaine
594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Inn Motel
Driftwood Inn Motel
#1 of 2 in Birch Bay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Dr, Birch Bay, WA 98230-9656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range: $149 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle at Birch Bay is an upscale resort located in the serene community of Birch Bay on the northwestern coast of Washington State. The resort is the perfect place to stay for nature lovers or those looking for a quiet retreat. Sandcastle at Birch Bay’s guests have access to an on-site fitness center to keep up with their workout routine, a heated swimming pool, and a hot tub, the perfect spot to relax after a full day of adventure. Sandcastle at Birch Bay’s one-, two-, and three-bedroom condominiums feature all the amenities guests need to feel right at home. Each unit has a fireplace, flat-screen TV, washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, and a balcony that offers a view of either Birch Bay or the snow-capped Mt. Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing