We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It’s better to rent a castle than to own a cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It’s better to rent a castle than to own a cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've been staying at The Sandcastle in Birch Bay on a regular basis since it opened. After doing the math we realized it is a better alternative to buying a seaside cottage. And as a bonus, our vacation time is free of all the maintenance chores which come with a cottage.

The Sandcastle has well maintained units with full size kitchens for practical family use. TV’s with DVD players are good for movies and music CD’s. Balconies have either ocean or golf club views. The furniture is stylish, comfortable and rugged. There is a heated pool and hot tub for all year use; A workout room with decent equipment; Family movie nights; And a rooftop games room with a deck and two grills ( a great place to meet fellow travellers) . All in all it is a great place to visit and relax.

The staff work hard to keep the place clean and in shape. However, you must realize that this is a popular seaside resort, with families constantly trudging through the hallways after days playing on the tidal flats. No carpeting can keep up, regardless of the cleaning. This also applies to the furniture. We groaned when we saw the first scratches and pot marks on the tables. That is the tough part of not having exclusive ownership. But the convenience is a good trade off.

We can check in for a few days, enjoy the oceanside, build a fire, exercise in the pool, explore the local farms and markets, wine and dine in style in our unit, (visit a casino & nearby outlets for a few hours). And never have to pick up a hammer or bucket of paint!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back are the quietest and get morning sun. The front is noisier because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin-Noden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a perfect location, we wanted to get away from it all. We arrived in sun and warmth. To see Mt Baker in the distance from your room and balcony was wonderful. We made full use of the pool, having an adult only time really suited us. From the moment we arrived it felt like a home away from home. It was hard to leave even in the rain! Staff were great, rooms were serviced every day which was refreshing. You are right on the beach, what more do you need.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you also get the noise from the pool. We had a view to the back, which meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_Dawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I rated this property slightly lower because of one primary thing. More care needs to be taken with the cleaning. The carpets in the public areas are in desperate need of a thorough cleaning. The lobby belies the cleanliness of the rest of the property.

The staff are very friendly and willing to help.

The location is superb. You have unobstructed views of the ocean from the rooms at the front of the building. Even the back views are OK if you enjoy grass and trees. You are literally across the road from the ocean.

The pictures on their website are true renditions of the rooms. They are well equipped and suitable for a family.

Be advised that they don't have air conditioning as they are so close to the water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneOldSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location. Location. Location. We stayed here for a week in March. Wonderful property and staff. Friendly, helpful and there for the guests. We were in a large three bedroom, three bathroom unit with a view of the bay. Being off season we were pleasantly surprised with 5 days of sun for out walks. Lots of good restaurants close by with large menus including fish and chips, clam chowder and fresh fish selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rainbows4Sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

these are condos right on the water. the people at front desk were very helpful, the property was very well maintained and the condo it self was great. Don;t think you could find any better! They also have bar and grill on property, we watched the playoff games had great time, the food,service and atmosphere are all very good ! would definitely say here again and use the bar and grill !

Room Tip: ask for water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooks1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Back in Blaine to see the grandchildren and for another fine stay at the Sandcastle. Had a two bedroom unit this time, I assume because a one was not available. No complaints at a bargain $100 a night. Love the convenience of a kitchen for breakfast. Enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub despite the 40 degree temps. Very helpful staff. One woman at the desk saw us checking out the rack of brochures and came up with a day trip idea for us without being asked. If I had to complain, I would wonder why only the TV in the master brdroom would take a DVD, but that's quibbling. Hope on our third return next year we get a view of the bay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joannecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Sandcastle with some friends during the 1st week in Oct. This time of year was at the very end of their season. The place was booked but it didn’t have that feel…we hardly saw anyone there. Our suite was a 2/2, w/d, fireplace, full kitchen and shared living/dining room area with a full view of the bay. Sandcastle was clean and decently renovated. They offered several amenities (pool, Jacuzzi, workout room, spa, and an onsite restaurant – though we never tried out the onsite restaurant). The staff was very accommodating and helpful, catering to our every request and giving us great suggestions for day trips. We really loved the location –Vancouver, Snoqualmie, Mt. Rainer, Lynden…all within about 30-60minutes of driving.

Room Tip: Request the Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Bay
0.1 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
9.3 mi away
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
6.5 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
15.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Property: Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Address: 7854 Birch Bay Dr, Birch Bay, WA 98230-9656
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing