We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly budget accommodation”
Review of Kuta Bay Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuta Bay Homestay
Ranked #13 of 70 Kuta B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I recently spent two months surfing and travelling throughout Indonesia and spent around 2.5 weeks in total at Kuta Bay Homestay, across two visits. Most of the surf spots in Lombok don't have nearby accommodation, so Kuta is a good base as you are halfway between spots in either direction, and have the convenience of all the restaurants, bars and accommodation that are around.

We chose Kuta Bay Homestay as it was just off the main road (so quieter than many other options) and a stone’s throw from the beach. Without a doubt, the best thing about this place is the friendly owner, Susi, and her team of staff. Everyone is super attentive and happy to help with anything from small queries about things to see and do, to motorbike rentals, to transport to get in and out of Lombok.

The homestay offers a variety of rooms at different rates - during our time there we stayed in one of two wooden sasak style rooms right by the pool, paying 175,000 rp, and later stayed in a smaller, brick room near the back of the complex and paid 150,000 rp. Rates included breakfast, which is an added bonus. Both rooms were basic but with comfortable beds, decent fans, flushing western toilets and porch areas to sit outside.

One thing that drew us to this homestay was the swimming pool, a delight to jump into during hot afternoons and not something that many of the budget accommodations in the area offer. While we were there, the homestay opened an adjoining restaurant so you could also get a tasty, mid-priced meal for lunch or in the evenings.

There are a couple of things that I feel could be improved, which really just come down to attention to detail. While our rooms were generally pretty clean, I felt that the bathrooms really needed a good scrubbing – particularly the wall tiles around the shower which were pretty grimey in both rooms. Additionally, the first of our two rooms had a broken toilet seat, a dripping sink which left the floor permanently wet, and no shower head – not a big deal by any means, but minor things that could easily be rectified.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would return again on a future visit to Lombok. I would recommend this homestay to any budget traveller looking for a bit more than your average backpacker accommodation in a friendly, family environment.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the entrance get better internet signal, but rooms at the back are quieter (you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Kuta Bay Homestay became a second home to me during my stay in Lombok. What started as a three week visit to Lombok became a 7 week everyone-is-family endeavor. My boyfriend and I became close with Susi, as she is an excellent host and a good person all around. She and her staff are welcoming and treat you like one of the family. We loved our stay so much that when it came time to go, it felt like we were leaving home.

The location is ideal. You are within walking distance of the beach, markets, restaurants and shops. If you don't feel like walking Susi has motorbikes you can rent. The location for surf is perfect, a 15 minute drive in either direction (East or West) and you'll be at an incredible bay with pumping surf.

The rooms are great, traditional Sasak style housing with palm roofs and bamboo walls, ideal for keeping cool. The breakfast was (and still is!) the best breakfast we've had in Indonesia in 6 months. The pool is perfect for cooling off on those extra hot days and Susi's collection of books will keep even the most voracious reader busy.

Kuta Bay Homestay is one of a kind. It's safe, friendly, welcoming AND has a pool! What more could you want?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doyletinfoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed for four nights at Kuta Bay but would have gladly stayed longer if our visas would have allowed! Susi and the staff here truly make you feel and home and go above and beyond to treat their guests like family. The rooms are very comfortable and reasonably priced, the new pool is amazing and the food at the restaurant is some of the best in town. Susi was soooo kind and accommodating she organized and helped us with absolutely everything while we were here. I originally contacted her via email to inquire about availability and let her know that we were not sure about our dates in Kuta since we wanted to hike Rinjani. She responded back with several suggestions on trekking companies including prices and details (which were much cheaper than quoted by the companies themselves)! So she booked everything for us and we couldn't be happier. Then we arrived afterwards, tired and broken, and she took such good care of us! Laundry, motorbike rentals, suggestions on things to do, excellent surf advice from her husband Tom, everything. She even let us know each night what the local fishermen in town were catching and offered to get us any fish/seafood we wanted to cook up in the restaurant for us at night. Absolutely massive plates of fresh mahi-mahi, cooked to perfection (a rarity in Indo where we found most fish is cooked to death)! The most full service experience we could imagine. Thank you so so much Susi, Tom and the Kuta Bay staff. We will definitely be coming back and we'll be sending everyone we know your way!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. In the centre of town and near the Sunday markets so close to everything you need. Had a room without air con and slept well. It's in the centre of town so comes with some noise (but quiet at night) and it has all you need and you can easily walk to the restaurants. We strung up a hammock and relaxed with a book not far from the pool after awesome days of surfing and exploring the villages and beaches. Thanks for the great stay Susi.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank wavewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

All the staff here is very friendly and helpfull! There's a swimingpool, free breackfast, the wifi is working good even in the room and the price is realy nice! The mosquito nett is realy big, you feel confortable in the bed!
They can find cheap motorbike with boardrack ... All you need is here!

(Don't forget to bring your own hammock to make your private balcony PERFECT )

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romantish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I originally booked a 2 week stay at Kuta Bay after extensively researching the local accommodation online and I wasn't disappointed..( I ended up staying 6 weeks )..Kuta Bay is perfectly situated as its just off the main drag so quiet traffic wise but you're still close to all the cafes etc..From the get go we were looked after impeccably..Susie who owns the home stay is such a warm, friendly and helpful lady who would go out of her way to make our stay all we hoped it would be and more. She has a wide knowledge of indonesia and can arrange any excursions you desire at very reasonable prices..Everything she organised for us went with out hitch and ran like clock work.. Susie's staff were all really lovely also.. They would always meet you with a big smile and be eager to help at all times..Tom, Susies super chilled Californian husband is a legend of a guy who's knowledge of the local surf was a massive help to us..The accommodation was clean spacious and very reasonably priced in comparison to surrounding home stays with surprisingly good wifi..There is a wide range of accommodation from basic to deluxe and every one I met during my 6 weeks was very happy they'd chosen Kuta Bay..The brand new pool was much appreciated on those baking hot days also..All in all I very much doubt you'll find better hosts or accommodation of this nature as reasonably priced. Theres a lot more positives I could add but just know that you won't be disappointed if you choose Kuta Bay home stay..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jdubrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I took a once in a life time holiday to Lombok with my boyfriend, 2 brothers and their girlfriends for a relaxing/family time/surfing holiday. We couldn't have found a better a place to stay. The Delux rooms were comfortable, big, clean, air con and showers all working perfectly, TV working although we never watched it. The best thing about Kuta bay home stay was the amazing team of people who looked after us during our two week stay. Susie is a wonderful kind generous fun and happy woman who took such good cafe of us if we needed, she cooked us an incredible lobster banquet and provided drivers, masseuses, trips out, any thing we needed, when we needed, at fair prices that gave local people a good rate, Susie had everyone's interests at heart, her beautiful two young boys were a happy addition to our stay, who politely played during the day, giving the home stay a relaxed homely feel.

There is plenty of space at Kuta home stay, so one can always take some time out from other guests if needed, the pool is deep and brand new, clean and cool, we spent many a late night in there staring up at the stars.

Tom,Susie's husband was an essential part of our amazing time on Kuta also, with his extensive surfing knowledge and an understanding of there area from a westerners point of view, you always felt you had some good advice to learn from him, an incredible relaxed, kind and trustworthy man that was incredibly generous with his time and took a genuine interest in his guests as individuals.

Breakfast in the cafe in the morning was a great experience watching the market near by, Kuta home stay is a quiet place to be, yet a stones throw from well stocked convenience shops, more cafés and restaurants you could ever need (wifi everywhere) and fully equipped medical centre, and the beach just 1 min away. Kuta might feel more busy than local beach side places to stay, but we really appreciated the local amenities, as everyday we hired scooters from Susie to go surfing or take a short road trip to beaches. for us it was the perfect location.


Susie Tom and their boys became friends of ours and leaving them after a two week stay was very sad, I am desperate to go back, and as soon as I can I'm booking in to home stay for another period of pure paradise with my friends,


Go to Kuta home stay you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Same Same Bungalows
Same Same Bungalows
#10 of 61 in Kuta
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yuli's Homestay
Yuli's Homestay
#1 of 70 in Kuta
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Bangkat Homestay
La Bangkat Homestay
#2 of 70 in Kuta
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mimpi Manis Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuta Bay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuta Bay Homestay

Address: Jl. Parawisata, Kuta, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range: $10 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kuta Bay Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuta Bay Homestay Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing