We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps me coming back...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolling Waters Restaurant and Bungalows
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This spot never ceases to amaze us. The accomodation is excellent value for money and the staff/owners are kind and friendly. The restaurant offer a wide selection of food and drinks and over looks the amazing Are Guling bay.

My gf and I walked down to the local village, where we handed out lollies etc. it was great to see all the kids smiles and they are also very friendly with tourists.

We've been back several times and we foresee many more trips in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great place to stay. Friendly atmosphere with great food. Owner has great contacts in town for deals on scooters and restaurants. Best place to kite surf as well as surfing. Will be returning when they have direct flights from Perth wa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed there in November is was truly wonderful - Tony and the mob at Are Goling couldn't do enough for their guests and the sense of community was wonderful. The bungalows are located near a local village which is supported by Are Goling through employment and contributions to the local school (a project dear to my hear) and a lot of work is going to regenerate the area with planting of trees etc. That aside the view, the food, the surf (I don't surf but had a great time having a dip and trekking back up the hill for a bintang (well earned) and then a read and a siesta. Shouldn't really be posting this as I don't want too many people to know about it ha ha

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouFish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Set above the tiny village of Are Goling, the bungalows face direct towards the most picturesque bay on Lombok. The bamboo bungalows are naturally cooled by the prevailing winds and there is one air conditined room. Built high on the hill, the bungalows offer value for money accommodation who want an authentic Lombok vacation. A beautiful beach is down the bottom of the hill (make sure you say hello to the children at the school as you go past) with world class surfing all year round. If the swell gets too big, you can wander over the hill to Marwan and have a bay to yourself.
The Restaurant and Bungalows comprises five bamboo bungalows with queen size beds. The air-conditioned room is smaller but has now views as it is at the back of the restaurant.
The food is as good as you'll get anywhere else on Lombok and very affordable. The beer is cold and plentiful after a day on the beach.
It's a place for those who want to get away from the madness of Bali. It is only a 20 minute bike ride into Kuta, but most people who go to the Bungalows prefer to stay away, even though Kuta on Lombok is just a large village, nothing like the madness of Bali. There is a restaurant at the top of the hill on the way into Kuta. I think its called the Ashtari but you can't miss it. The views are breathtaking and the food is world class. Make sure you have some of their cakes, smoothies and pastries.
The Bungalows and Restaurant have shared bathrooms. Mains power is not yet connected, so power is supplied by a generator set high on the hill.
For those on a budget (around $US20 a night for a twin share room), who want to get away and experience "real" relaxation away from the hassles of Bali, then this is the place to go. They will collect you from the new International airport and its only 30 minutes drive to the bungalows. The local staff from the village are obliging and go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westozsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,921 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Kies Villas
Kies Villas
#4 of 62 in Kuta
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Origin Lombok
Origin Lombok
#3 of 12 in Kuta
143 reviews
0 mi away
Bombora Bungalows
Bombora Bungalows
#6 of 62 in Kuta
174 reviews
0 mi away
Yuli's Homestay
Yuli's Homestay
#1 of 71 in Kuta
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Waters Restaurant and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waters Restaurant and Bungalows

Address: Jalan Are Goling-Marwan | Are Goling, Kuta, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Also Known As:
Rolling Waters Restaurant And Bungalows Kuta, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing