We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo for destroying the Novotel brand”
Review of Novotel Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Lombok
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bravo for destroying the Novotel brand”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am staying at the Novotel Lombok in Kuta Beach right now March 20. It is a sad and shocking experience to see how a hotel can fall. If you ever had an example of a single hotel try and possibly succeed in destroying the name of a hotel brand. This is it. When you arrive at the hotel, the staff throw and handle your luggage as if was something they wanted to get rid of. The staff talk to you and address you as if you are all hanging out at a local warung [cafe in Indonesian], when you order from the beach restaurant, the plates of the main course are almost thrown on the table, where the waiter do not even clear the empty plates for the the first course which was plates with pizza crust that was so hard that it was almost impossible to cut and close to inedible so much so that of our party of five, four of us only ate the topping. For the main course, the chicken was served cold and uncocked and wrapped in a warm sauce, while the burger was made of meat that was so grey and dry that it seemed to have been frozen and refrozen three times over and we had to leave it on the plate. The smell from our table was so bad, of our company of five,try to three escape to the beach, while two was waiting to sign the bill, for which the two had to wait almost half an hour, as there was suddenly no one on duty while the single girl who was insisted the two had to wait. The experience on the beach was not better, it was in fact worse. The sunbeds, or rather, shade beds, as they are small covered structures with alang alang roof overlooking the beach built for two, had not been wiped or cleaned. Each sun mattress was sandy and oily and it was impossible to lie down. I looked for any attendant. In the beach house there was no one, guests were serving themselves, as if it was self service. I could see the workers and the security guards were hanging out with the local hustlers who try to sell trinkets on the beach. In fact, the security guards and beach attendants of Novotel were sitting on the beach chairs, some of the hustlers were even walking around with knives for cutting grass, so much so that my wife was scared to sit on the beach, so we had to escape to the room. Then finally, in the room, there had been a wind during the day, the tables outside had been turned over, the glass top had been crushed to thousand pieces. This was something the staff HAD NOT NOTICED. In fact, upon arrival, there was no one of the staff who explained either the room of the facilities to us as guests, so much so that they did not even know our dining table lay in a thousand pieces of glass and was a hazard to all. Finally, we escaped into the room. And, I must say, we are staying at NOVOTEL right now, but it seems that we may be hiding away for the rest of our stay.
I would like to say this. IF there ever was an example of a single hotel that succeeded in destroying a brand in a matter of minutes that ws built in a decace, NOVOTEL LOMBOK is certainly it. I have been to many NOVOTEL around the world, as it is often a predictable 4-star experience. But NOVOTEL LOMBOK may have single handedly made me and my company not want to stay at a NOVOTEL for the rest of our lives. For having successfully tried to destroy the experience of a brand like NOVOTEL, there is only one thing you can say to NOVOTEL LOMBOK, a loud and unison, BRAVO.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ScandinavianGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear ScandinavianGlobe.

Thank you for choosing Novotel to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your stay with us.

We are very sad and unfortunate to learn from your feedback that you are not enjoying your stay with us. We are sorry that the friendliness of our staffs are considered improper in such a way but rest assured that our staffs main goals are to make guests feel at home by experiencing Sasak hospitality.

Your comments on our Food & Beverage and Housekeeping facilities and services are well noted as they assist us to improve. Rest assured that immediate actions have already being acted upon by our respective Heads of Departments for further improvement.

Once again we would like to apologize for our short-comings and the inconvenience caused, further we do hope that it does not mar your otherwise pleasant experience with other Novotel Hotels.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    671
    239
    126
    60
See reviews for
519
759
94
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Hands down a sensational location and a great hotel. Be warned not all rooms have a balcony. Beach is fab.. Food was below average.. Buffet breakfast that isn't topped so snooze you loose... Same with the themed dinner nights. Restaurant and room service staff were great, reception I found to be most unhelpful as we're the beach kiosk staff. Reluctant to assist and move furniture to accommodate our party. If you have a bee allergy be warned we were attacked at breakfast by 50 or so bees.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Angela N.

Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.

Courtesy is the hall-mark that we always emphasize during our regular training to our staff, we are very unfortunate for this unspecific remarks. Nevertheless thank you for bringing up the subject and we have taken these comments most seriously to be reviewed and discussed at great length so as to ensure immediate action will be initiated.

Once again we would like to apologize for our short-comings and the inconvenience caused.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We ordered an airport transfer to pick us up. Our flight was delayed an hour and our driver was still standing at the airport waiting for us and he was still in a good mood and very friendly.

The check in process was quick and we upgraded to a garden room (ground floor). At check in they put a 3.5M idr hold on my credit card without notifying us.

The cost of food and drinks was very expensive compared to shops around the hotel and the food was no better, if not worse. The service at the restaurants were very slow. We had to ask for drinks from a waiter when we finally saw one. The breakfast buffet was ok although staff were slow at refilling empty trays of food. We also had dinner at the hotel one night and it was the same as breakfast. Hard to order drinks as there wasn't many waiters and slow at refilling empty food.

The room was fine, great tv service, the wifi was better then average, comfy beds and pillows and the room stayed cool all day without having the air con on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMonty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear MattMonty88.

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedbacks during your recent visit at Novotel Lombok.

We wish to thank you for your comments on our Food & Beverage and services as they assist us to improve for our future guests. Hopefully they did not mar your otherwise pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to the opportunity of your return visit and to have the privilege of being of service to you again in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We flew from Bali to Lombok and definitely advise to,lock or "plastic-wrap" your luggage before checking it in. We only visited Kuta but enjoyed our time there. The Novotel is very nice and the staff were very friendly and accomodating.. If surfing at Gerapuk do not take any valuables and only enough money for the day.The chilli crab is good at "The Chilli " and "The Riviera" has a great acoustic jam night{Wednesday}. Say hi to the manager Herman. This is a quiet spot without raging nightclubs. Be sure to visit Jasmine at "DJ's". Great food and aircon was welcome in the heat. You need to organize bikes or a driver to travel to/from the town...a few kilometres away from the Novotel. This can be done from hotel but remember everything is cheaper in town. Definitely climb Seggurs Hill and see the Mandilika statues on the way.

Room Tip: If staying in the main building,stay upstairs as no possible drain smell. We travelled with our two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Louise L.

We appreciate and thank you for sharing your valuable feedback during your recent visit at Novotel Lombok.

We hope that your trip had been enjoyable and your stay pleasant. Your kind comments will inspire us more to further improve ourselves for our valued guests.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing Novotel Lombok as your holiday destination.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just got back from a weekend there.

This is probably the biggest brand-name resort nearest the airport (about 20-30mins vs 1+hr for Sengigi) ... and the beach & sand are actually quite nice (vs Sengigi from my last stay).

However, this also means that it is very far from the main towns of Mataram and sengigi where the restaurants/bars etc are. There is very little in the vincinity of the resort.

We stayed the first of 1 night in a superior room, and transferred to the sasak poolside villa f/2nights. Nothing wrong with the superior room ... but we wanted some outdoor space. The website isn't clear that superior rooms have no balcony, and only the the deluxe rooms and bigger do.

For us it was worth the upgrade as the villa offered space to lounge outdoors overlooking a somewhat private pool in the shade of plants on hot afternoons.

Everything on the compound was within easy reach ... and the restaurants open decently late (2230hrs), and the spa 2300hrs.

Poolside took a while to get used to - it is elevated above the beach aligned with a restaurant... but offers a nice view of the coast. However, the deck chairs end up facing the sand on the volleyball pit.

The pit separates the poolside from the pavillions on the beach, which offer an afternoon of cool sea-breeze in the shade listening to the waves.

The sand is ok, pretty fine by Lombok standards... though the sea has seaweed. The hotel could have done a better job maintaining the beach and waters too... there was always some rubbish in it.

There are some touts on the beach... if you prefer privacy it is not ideal, but if you are happy to chat with the locals... they're all very friendly.

Around resort

General cleaning could be improved ... the day-beds in the pavillions, the chairs at the bar etc. all felt a bit sticky (sweat and seawater from guests?)... and this was in many locations around the resort... some of the pools looked a bit worn, and the private pool at the villa had a broken jacuzzi.

The buffet breakfast had a decent selection, but some of the colder products could be kept cooler on ice. They looked wilted by 10am.

Both were not a deal breaker, but certainly could be improved.

The staff are all very helpful and friendly ... service is one of the best i've had, esp in Indonesia... and they all speak English (and pretty well too) ... which doesn't happen everywhere.

All said, we had a good time and would stay again.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the upgrade for the balconies over the superior rooms. Book ahead - these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear keltzar.

Thank you for choosing Novotel to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that your trip had been enjoyable and your stay pleasant, further We thank you for your highlights and apologize for our short-comings as they assist us by pointing out areas where we can improve for our valued guests.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing Novotel Lombok as your holiday destination. We look forward to the opportunity of your return visit and to have the privilege of being of service to you again in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

An easy journey from Kuala Lumpur, lovely smiley welcome and beautiful aquamarine skies. Was lovely to see this 'old' hotel fitting into the landscape, thatched roofs on the Villas, a calm tranquility pervading the atmosphere. The staff are relaxed and helpful. I stayed in the actual hotel block which was newly renovated, nice decor and facilities. The villas are beautiful and share their own private pool, although the Hotel pool is lovely too and is located on the beach which is perfect for a sunset swim.
Food in the Hotel was good, nice cocktails for happy hour.
Beach was clean and beautiful and although there are hawkers wandering ( its not a private beach), they lose interest quickly when they see you don't carry money!
I'd recommend Lombok for a tranquil relaxing break, there's no nightlife, just peace and relaxation.

Room Tip: Have a villa if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharp-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sharp-Life.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to arrange room accommodation at Novotel Lombok during your recent visit and to share your experiences with regards to your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for your generous compliments on our services , facilities and team members.

Once again, Thank you for choosing Novotel Lombok as your holiday destination and we look forward to welcoming you back in not in a distant future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

its good if you want to do nothing and relax...then it becomes too annoying to watch local children sell stuff...they are not even nice children. they wanted to sell baby turtles...only to catch them again...thats the scam. they approach you at least 4 times every day to sell stuff. they hate school and make fun of people...its as if their parents don't teach them to be decent human beings. and security hardly tells them to stop harassing people.
the food is good but the buffet is never replenished. there are local vendors at each end that sell chips and beer, which is great. but there is no local restaurant that you can walk to. it seems better to stay in town and rent a scooter, unless you are drained.
also, the pool is smaller than what it appears. the sand is yellow grainy sand but is cleaned every day. no good snorkelling. theres out at the break.
its ok for well behaved kids. the breakfast is a buffet, which is really annoying

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Lombok_GM, Front Office Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear lil085.

Thank you for choosing Novotel to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.

We share your view point with regards to Local beach seller, the hotel itself, as part of our responsible to local community, had tried to relocate and build them a sort of night market to sell their products, however it failed and they keep on and prefer to sell by the beach. this is not only experience by us but also by other hotels in western part of Lombok like Sengigi.

Nevertheless, despite the above concerns we hope that you had enjoy your stay with us. Thank you and look forward to your return visit in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
34.3 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
34.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale
Villa Bau Nyale
#1 of 11 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
33.1 mi away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lombok

Property: Novotel Lombok
Address: Mandalika Resort, Pantai Putri Nyale | Pujut Lombok Tengah, Kuta, Lombok 83111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lombok 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Lombok is a 4 star resort located on the southern shore of Lombok, just 60 minutes from Mataram international airport. Featuring 102 beautiful rooms, suites, traditional Sasak and private pool villas set amongst tropical lush gardens, Novotel Lombok is the essence of relaxation and tranquility. While the children are entertained in our kids club, be pampered with a beachfront or in-spa treatment. Enjoy our four beachfront restaurants and bars, our four swimming pools and fitness centre. Enjoy entertainment and purchase local handicrafts at Novotel Lombok, along with a daily program of activities for both children and adults. Our water sports range from kayaking to scuba diving, or simple enjoy a walk along our private beach. Accommodation Options: Superior Room - King: Paradise awaits. Our Brand New Superior room is fresh and bright, combining modern and authentic decor for a breathtaking Indonesian experience. Our rooms feature LAN internet, 32" LCD TV, in-room safe, mini bar. 1 King and 1 Day bed. No Rollaway. Superior Room – Twin: Escape into tranquility. Our Brand New Superior twin room combines modern and authentic decor for a breathtaking Indonesian experience. Our rooms feature LAN internet, 32" LCD TV, in-room safe, mini bar. 2 Single and 1 Day bed. No Rollaway. Deluxe Room: Embrace freedom and calm. Our Brand New Deluxe King room is spacious and mixes modern decor, ergonomic comfort and total relaxation. Rooms are fully appointed including outdoor terrace to ensure memorable holiday. 1 King and 1 Day bed. No Rollaway. Sasak Villa 1 Bedroom: A unique experience combining relaxation and focus. Our traditional Sasak Villa treats you like a VIP, offering pool, garden or beach views. This villa showcase traditional decor and design, complimented with modern functionality. 2 adults, 1 child. Private Pool Villa 1 Bedroom: Designed with space & privacy where you can truly be yourself. Our private traditional Sasak villa offers an inviting and tranquil ambiance; relax on the terrace overlooking your private swimming pool and landscaped gardens. Up to 2 adults, 1 child. Private Pool Family Villa 2 Bedrooms: Relax in style and comfort. Our private traditional family Sasak villa adds space and privacy for the entire family with private en-suites for both bedrooms. Take a swim in your private swimming pool or simply read a book in the landscaped gardens. Up to 4 adults or 2 Adults, 2 child. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lombok Hotel Lombok
Lombok Novotel
Novotel Lombok Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing