We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"From little things big things grow..”
Review of Yuli's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yuli's Homestay
Ranked #1 of 64 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Have just returned from another stay at Yulis.Just when you think it cant get any better..it does!!
Mike and Yuli have added 5 new bungalows AND another pool!!The new area is awesome,and for those who just cant live without a hot shower ,there is one by the pool as well as a bathroom. For those guests who checkout and have a later flight ,there is now the bonus of having a shower to use before jetting off.
Of course with their well deserved noteiriety comes the fact that you have to book well ahead.Its no longer a secret anymore that Yulis is the BEST accommodation around. Not to mention the fantastic staff.
No TV ,just fresh air ,great value bungalows and the ability to become immersed in an Indonesian culture.
Truly my second home!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicntak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Yuli's Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Yuli's with my parents in December 2011. We had a wonderful time in Kuta, in large part because of the advice and hospitality of Mike and Yuli. My mum booked out rooms and was always impressed by Mike's prompt responses and helpfulness. When there we hired scooters which Mike taught us to ride and explored the surrounding areas.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. And the grounds and pool area are very well presented.

If/when I go back to Kuta I will definitely be trying to stay at Yuli's again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBrereton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last year and looked no further when booking again. We love this place. It's away from beach down quite lane. It's a homestay but with privacy of your own room. 4 new rooms a clean swimming pool and grass and space . Don't forget the other pool and 3 rooms at front. It's a place to chat and read. It's not party hotel but it has interesting people staying, families surfing or exploring . Great breakfasts, fridge and kitchen tea and coffee and great extended family to talk to. Yuli will organise anything. Motor bikes push bikes car hire where to eat etc. mike keeps it all ticking over and always up for a discussion. And their beautiful daughter just adds to the relaxed atmosphere. Mike has added 1 communal hot shower otherwise cold in the room which is fine . Aircon good, never had any mossies, keep your door shut at dusk and all good.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gus1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My spacious room was the most southerly one, close to neighbouring thick vegetation, and as such may well have been the only one to suffer from mosquitos.  The air con in my room, set to 18 degC at dusk and kept on all night, only managed to cool my room to 25 by the morning, which is full on party temperature for mossies (they conk out at 20).  I woke up to 7 bites on my face alone and checked out after breakfast.

Ironically I'd initially asked for a non air con room but was told the rooms were all air con due to the heat.  The owners know how hot the rooms get.  In hindsight I should have realised the air con wouldn't adequately cool the room; most rooms with decent air con provide a duvet or blankets whereas Yuli's didn't.  Kuta does suffer power failures but the generator was cranked up that evening and the power was on all night.  Basically the room was too big and hot for the air conditioner.

Everything else was fab, the place is smart and clean, the breakfast scrummy and Yuli is lovely, however mosquitos are a serious health hazard and Yuli should be providing better solutions (effective air con / nets / pemetherin). I made sure to complete my course of antimalarials.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Simonocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at yulis. Yuli was lovely and welcoming and so was her husband mike.
The rooms were lovely and spacious and and had huge double beds and a wardrobe.
There was an en suite in the room with shower (cold water only the hot showers
Were by the 2nd swimming pool)
There was a guest kitchen with a fridge and coffee and tea. Both pools were
Lovely. Nothing was too much trouble yuli and mike booked drivers, take always and were wonderful hosts. Kuta is a fantastic place to explore and we can't wait to come back. Thanks yuli, mike and beautiful Maya.
The hamer Jones family
, Five stars from me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is almost as if all of kuta is one big family - everybody knows Yuli, and everybody nods approvingly when they are told you stay at Yulis. And with good reason - this is a lovely homestay, with guest staying in private cottages. There are two sections - the original three rooms and shared kitchen near the entrance, and then a new area where an expansion brings a second pool, a couple of dining areas and five more rooms with a shared kitchen.

Everything is impeccably clean and brand new. The staff is exceptionally friendly and engaging, and kudos to Yuli for really being the star of the place. Scooter rental is very cheap and essential - the traffic in kuta lombok is so different from bali - there is absolutely no reason not to ride a scooter - as Yuli says, if you can ride a bicycle, you can ride a scooter in kuta lombok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Although we had visited Lombok four times previously over 6 years, this was the first time we'd ventured into the 'deep south' of Kuta to stay. (We'd come down on a day trip last year to check out the general area and really liked what we saw, vowing to stay here on our next trip). Wanting to avoid the big 'N' hotel at all costs, we looked into home-stay-type accommodation and found Yuli's to come highly recommended on numerous travel websites. Booking was a breeze and Mike's email communication with us during the 7 months between booking and arriving was always prompt and timely.

At the time of our stay, the 'new wing' of five rooms had only been opened for 6 weeks, and they were immaculate. Could not fault them. Large verandas for each room which were lovely for sitting out on in the evening. 12 coat hangers in each big wardrobe (yes, I counted them because hotels consistently scrimp on these - we stayed at three other places on this particular trip including an AU$800 per night villa and not one of those places gave us more than 4 damn hangers!) No hot water in the rooms but there is a shower next to the second pool which has hot water if you can't live without it. Two pools - can you believe it? A home-stay with a choice of pools?! Fabulous. Free wi-fi. Simple but tasty and adequate breakfasts. A communal kitchen which has ice-cold soft drinks and beers on sale at market price (using an honour system). Lovely spacious gardens which our three kids enjoyed running around. Lovely staff.

Mike and Yuli were the perfect hosts and could not have been more accommodating. They run a personalized but exceptionally professional operation and deserve every accolade their home-stay is awarded. "Yuli's Homestay" is very highly recommended; we love it and are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itch-4-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kutamara Hotel
Kutamara Hotel
#74 of 180 in Lombok
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kuta Indah Hotel
Kuta Indah Hotel
#9 of 12 in Kuta
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kies Villas
Kies Villas
#3 of 58 in Kuta
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Bangkat Homestay
La Bangkat Homestay
#2 of 64 in Kuta
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuli's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuli's Homestay

Address: Jl. Baturiti I, Kuta, Lombok 83573, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range: $32 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A safe, quiet and relaxing location for your holiday 600m from the beach. Big bright sunny bedrooms all with own private cold water bathroom & air conditioning, fan & comfortable spring beds. 5 hot shower buildings on site. kitchen facilities are available anytime. Free tea, coffee & drinking water supplied. 3 on site swimming pools. Indonesian and Kiwi hosts. Motorbike rental. Airport pick-up and drop off. Reliable information on all the good stuff to see and do in Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yuli's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuli`s Homestay Hotel Kuta
Yuli's Homestay Kuta, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing