We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel, in major disrepair but still fabulous”
Review of Matahari Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matahari Inn
Ranked #42 of 59 Kuta B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel, in major disrepair but still fabulous”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was once a very grand hotel with beautiful grounds, random art objects strewn around, a nice pool and pretty rooms, some with lovely decorations. It is also somewhat decrepit, in a romantic rather than a gross way. Our ceiling fan had lost most of its paint and was covered in some kind of growth, the sheets and towels were completely mismatched (I had a fake Gucci towel). It feels like being on an old, abandoned set of a Hollywood film from the golden ages, back when there were real stars. We went early in the season so were able to bargain the price of our room (we paid 200,000rp for a deluxe room but without a/c -- there were nicer rooms for around 350,000rp). The restaurant was completely dead and we never ate there -- there are plenty of more authentic warungs in the village.

Room Tip: grand old hotel, past its prime but still glamorous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayaflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    13
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2010

A 'surfing' destination that sucks. I arrived to an aggressive, unhelpful set of staff. The rooms were damp, uncomfortable, nothing worked, including the toilet.

The entire complex is shabby and run down, the staff were untrustworthy, and the town itself is shameful. I visited Kuta Lombok in 1997, and the place is now a hell hole compared. It has been ruined by local people who don't care about their surroundings any longer. The beach was literally covered in seaweed and plastic, and all manner of flotsam and jetsam which had been dumped there. Stray dogs roam, and the locals will rip you off at any opportunity, including the Matahari Hotel staff.

If you're thinking of going surfing here, think again. You can find good waves in destinations where the locals deserve your money, with respect for you, your trip and your well-being.

This hotel needs bulldozing. So does the town, and the residents need moving on. A sad demise of once beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardSwanwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Well, the Matahari has taken a nose dive since 2008, along with the rest of Kuta Lombok. The guys here know it's only a matter of time before the village is bulldozed to make way for a new resort complex, and they haven't done even the most basic maintenance on the place in years. We chose to stay here on the basis of a rave review in the Lonely Planet, but I don't think the writer had visited any time recently. We looked at about 6 rooms before choosing the 'best' from what was available. Unfortunately we arrived on the eve of Idul Fitri and there was nowhere else to stay, otherwise we would have moved on. As it was, we chose to get straight back on the ferry to Bali the very next day rather than staying here another night.
The rooms are shabby - bathrooms were obviously once lovely, but now covered in limescale and mould. None of the showers in the rooms we looked at could be hooked to the wall as the attachments had all broken. Our toilet was held together with string and broke after one flush. The place was incredibly damp, and the bed uncomfortable. The management were unfriendly - when we asked for transport to the ferry port they told us it wasn't possible and that we'd have to stay there another night. We were, however, determined to leave and kept on until they called a minibus. Which was almost full, so not impossible to leave then...
The beach - which everyone would have you believe is a white-sand paradise - is in fact the village rubbish dump, complete with a pack of mangy dogs. This was the biggest disappointment of our recent trip to Indo, and prompted us to take an early flight home.
To top it all off, the room cost £30. No haggling, no negotiation, no friendly smile.
A truly miserable place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelarivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We turned up out of the blue and the place seemed quiet but we immediately warmed to the Manager, Ian, who offered us his "Honeymoon Suite" at no extra cost as we looked around deciding whether to stay or not. The Suite was a corker for about £17 per night including breakfast - it had a few very minor failings but we were very happy with it as it was well made up and accessorised, spacious and everything functioned properly and you would expect to pay so much more for it. Ian continued to give us special treatment and supplied us with a stack of DVD's to take to our room and even biked off to buy us a plug adaptor for the room.
I would highly recommend this for those travelling on a budget as it felt like more than just a homestay but the room prices were great value. Give it a try for a couple of nights, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — The service was great.
  • Disliked — The toilet didn't flush very well but the rest of the stay more than made up for such a minor problem.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoskoPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.0 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale
Villa Bau Nyale
#2 of 11 in Kuta
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 11 in Kuta
1,830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kuta Indah Hotel
Kuta Indah Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kuta
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Matahari Inn
Matahari Inn
#13 of 63 in Legian
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shu Villa
Shu Villa
#12 of 54 in Kuta
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Spot Bungalows
The Spot Bungalows
#40 of 54 in Kuta
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Inn

Property: Matahari Inn
Address: Jl. Raya Pantai | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matahari Inn offers clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in friendly and family-like atmosphere. Located in Kuta south of Lombok, with famous white virgin beaches, it's crystal clear water, and breathtaking scenery and it's ideal base for exploring the region's many outstanding Surf Spots. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matahari Hotel Kuta
Matahari Inn Kuta, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing