We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good private place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sunbeam Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Villa with private pool
Private pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kuta, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Kevin S
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“A good private place to stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Not a hotel in the normal sense of the description but then why would anyone think it is when the name itself suggests otherwise. A collection of three separate buildings. One a small bungalow room, the other two are private pool small villas. These consist of a bedroom, which is a good size with a large shower room. Equipped with very effective a/c, WiFi, TV we didn't try. Outside is a kitchenette area but equipped just with a fridge not for self catering a meal. In this kitchenette is also a small seating area facing the garden. In the garden is the pool, 5x3 metres, a good size plunge pool about 1 metre deep for a part and 1.60 for the rest. A really useable pool for a dip after a day at the beach and completely private with 2 metre high garden walls and gated entrance.
And so, not a hotel with reception and services and room cleaned and towels changed, but these things are on request only not conducted daily, primarily so that guests have complete privacy if they want. Breakfast is provided, just tea or coffee, eggs to choice and toast. Sufficient to start the day. And while there might be no formal reception services, one of Amin's team is usually there to answer questions or Amin is available on whatsapp via the WiFi, but you do need to be prepared to live in a reasonably local environment. It is a 30 minute walk to the town and restaurants, the best direction being out left from the property which is by far the easier on motorbike being just 100 metres to tarmac road. The other direction is about 800 metres unpaved to the other main road into the town where you'll start to find restaurants. But a motorbike is highly recommended, not just for getting into town for restaurants but to visit the stunning nearby beaches like Tanjung An, Mawun etc.
At this price for a private plunge pool room it cant be beaten, but care and maintenance of the highest standard will be needed to maintain the attraction of the pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Massive difference between what they say you get, and what you get”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It turns out that if you book the less expensive villa, you don't really get very much at all, certainly not the list of features they promise in the description of the place. No kettle in the room, no hot water in the outdoor shower, no pool access.

If your mother knew that you even considered touching the 'welcome drink' of homemade rice wine in a dirty old reused plastic bottle, she'd never let you leave the house again.

An outdoor shower is a nice idea, until you realise that you have to stand outside naked, surrounded by mosquitoes. When showering, expect to share shower space with a banana plant. The toilet was filthy and the built-in bum gun didn't work.

If you wanted your room cleaned, you had to ask for it, but reception was not staffed during the day so our room wasn't cleaned for the three day stay. In order to make contact with anyone, you've got to send a WhatsApp.

We asked for a driver to take us to the beach, the owner sent round his friend, who tried to charge us 500,000 for a return journey. We found a much friendlier driver in town who took us for 250,000 return.

I have no clue where all these glowing reviews came from, but I would be deeply suspicious of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasper B
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pros: Owner is very friendly and helpfull
Cons: Needs to be more clean, location, breakfast could be better, price to high

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Dear our special guest Mr Gasper.
Thank you for the review,we are happy to have you as our guest and we did our best to serve and assist you during your one night stay.
We are keeping on upgrading all aspects of our property.
We have our pricing policy and so far all of our previous guest were very happy to what we have been doing.
Wishing you all the best in your life and we do hope a great thing always come on your way.
Hope to serve you again on your next holiday.
Regards
Amin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias J
1 review
“Amazing owner, and a wonderful villa”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked this place after a bad experience at an other place, and it was just amazing place! Brand new, so some things was stille under construction, but that didn't matter, we had a privat pool, big bedroom with a comfortable bed, a big nice bathroom with hot water. And then the owner, simply an amazing host, very helpful and he just want the best for you. We could have breakfast when ever we wanted too, he came to pick us up by himself down in Kuta. He was very helpful to recommend different places around the area, which we went to by a rented scooter we rented through him. He told us about a cave called Mystical Neverland, which is a cave filled with fruit bates and Python snakes. An amazing experience but also a bit scary(;
I can only recommend Sunbeam villa you will only have a good time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikke A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing ”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

These Villas are beautiful, new, clean and private. The staff really respect your privatcy. The owner is very helpfull and has a lot of ideas on what to do, and where to go. He learned us to ride a scooter, and we rented a scooter there as well. We had a Great stay. And its only 10 minutes Walk away from City center. :-) thank you for a great experience:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thank you nice couple.
Happy holiday.
Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane and...
2 reviews
“Brand new, private pool, comfortable, self-contained”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Includes a nice garden setting with a small pool, own kitchen, very spacious and nice. Owner is very helpful, genuine and speaks good English.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luuk N
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Private and personal”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We walked in on this place by accident as we didn't book anything in front. Amin is very hospital and likes to help you (e.g. he got us some anti mosquito spray when we asked were we could find, =) !). He invited us to drink some local palm wine as well.
The place has a nice bathroom, but water pressure is pretty low (we didn't mind though), the room is spacious and you will have your own private mini pool. There is just one other villa next to you, also with an own private pool. And you can rent a motorbike for a fair price (I think he also mentioned that he takes people on day trips). Altogether, for sure recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing