We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful, inflexible, awful”
Review of The Abingdon Arms

The Abingdon Arms
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 9/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful country pub with garden views over Otmoor Nature Reserve offering delicious freshly prepared meals along with an extensive wine list, real ales, speciality gins and several choices of draught lager and cider.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got back from this awful place. Don't go. We sat in the lower bit of the garden having a drink and then decided that we would like to order some chips. We were told that it was impossible to have them at all unless we were prepared to move to another level, due to the rules of the manager (this has been possible before if we collected). I had offered to collect but was told that this was now not possible. We had bags, two dogs etc so moving would have been been a real pain. So we left after one drink, whereas we would have liked to stay. The staff were just standing around so not too busy to help. Lost sales this evening - we won't probably be back either as we just felt so unwelcome .. and entirely due to the manager's awful attitude.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liccyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in this week to meet up with friends who had to travel a distance. They and I were impressed by the professionalism and care of all. The selection of Beers/Cider unusual and very well recommended. If all village owned pubs were run like this one, then more people would return to drink in them.
I didn't have the chance to eat there, but I'm sure that I will soon.
Thanks you.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reikiman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Really great food had by all 3 of us, good portion sizes and prices reflective of Oxford as a whole. We sat inside in the restaurant which was cosy but both the bar and the outside terrace looked great also. Worth making the effort to get there!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Lloydt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

I picked this pub as a stopping point en route from London to Oxford with a Canadian guest, and we couldn’t have been more delighted. A warm and friendly local, in a charming village and, despite building works which were causing the management some difficulties, the food was local, fresh and delicious.
A great first visit to Oxfordshire for my friend.
Thank you.

We shall definitely visit again.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank JKLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

Sunday lunch is served in 2 sittings 12 & 2; having preferred 1pm we booked the 12 slot; on arrival we found the pub mostly empty, and were rudely told we MUST vacate our take well before 2. This hostility dampened the mood and left a very bad feeling.

That said the food was very good and the rest of the service was great.

Interestingly as we left the pub had only got marginally busier and the "large parties" (we were 8) that were offered as the reason for the rudeness were not in evidence.

Would hesitate to return when we are used to welcoming service at many of the other Oxfordshire pubs

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DC10-AC30-FAC319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abingdon Arms also viewed

Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
Stanton Saint John, Oxford
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire

Been to The Abingdon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing