We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining at the seaside in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamodrakas

Hamodrakas
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Kalamaria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine dining at the seaside in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Dining at the seaside in Thessaloniki city is hard: usually there's a road between your restaurant and the sea. Not in this restaurant: you're sitting ON the sea, facing west, so a gorgeous sunset is guaranteed... Take bus 5 from Thessaloniki city toward Kalamaria and get of at the hospital there. The bus literally drops you of at the restaurant: you just have to go down an old cobble stone road ( in the direction of the sea, of course) for a hundred meters and you're there.
Don't be put off by the somewhat rickety terrace: the atmosphere is very nice, with plenty of locals, and the fish is excellent. Price/quality ratio is also very decent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wentelteefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    73
    28
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“Not only a meal, but an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Few days ago I was with 6 other friends in the restauront for dinner. Our table was near the sea so we could enjoy the wonderful atmosphere and breeze from the water. We were offered a very wide range of meals including different kinds of pasta, mussels, salmon and many other fishes. The meals were maybe the best such that I have ever tasted, espcially accompanied by several bottles of great white wine and excelent service. To bo honest, I hardly managed to understand how much I drunk because my glass was refilled often enough before I reached its bottom.

A great place to go not only if you are around!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viktor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salonika
1 review
“Must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've had an exceptionally pleasant sea food experience. I particularly recommend the ravioli and muscles. The sea side ambiance is likely the best in the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
1 review
“Delicious food, excellent service and a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

If one is close by Thessaloniki, one must visit this amazing restaurant. They offer an extensive wine and food selection and everything that I tried was delicious (I have visited the place twice). One must definitely try the mussels in white sauce (my favourite dish). The location is amazing as you can sit right by the water and watch the sun dive into the sea. But above all, the service was spectacular. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff, who help you pick the right dish and beverage for your mood.

I highly recommend this restaurant and I will definitely visit many more times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blagoy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

i have been there once for a special occasion.it was for lunch. we were sitting in a table in the balcony next to the see. as it was very hot we didn t really enjoy the delicious food

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pdgiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamodrakas also viewed

Kalamaria, Thessaloniki Region
Kalamaria, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Panorama, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Hamodrakas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing