We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living and sleeping area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Living and sleeping area
Front of Annexe
King size bed
Modern Snuggler settee seats 2
Rear view of the property showing part of the lovely garden.
Some of our summer flowering shrubs
Our family pet Meggie
Some of the many plants and shrubs
Clifford's Tower in York City
The Shambles one of York's quaint streets
York Minster
St Williams Collage
Side street leading to York Minster
Dunnington Gold award for village in Bloom
Annexe lounge and bed area
Modern Snuggler settee and chair
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dunnington, York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kenrick48
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed ten days in the annexe and from the first minute, we felt at home, Greeted by Jean and George (+ Meg), it was like meeting up with old friends. We were shown around then left to unpack. The beautifully fitted bedroom with king-size bed left nothing to be desired, so much space for everything......including the cases. Same in the living area, comfy chairs, big telly with DVD player, plus a stereo unit, although I was happy to watch the birds in the stunning private and secluded garden, through the lovely big windows, or from the patio with table & chairs.

Same again in the kitchen and bathroom. Everything what one needs for a homely, luxurious stay. Spotlessly clean pans, crockery, glasses & cutlery plus the added bonus of a washing machine. The bathroom, again all with fitted units, a big shower and hot water a-plenty.

Jean puts a lot of thought into making her guests welcome, which incudes fresh flowers and fruit, soaps in the bathroom - and a bottle of wine in the fridge!

As for the location, Dunnington is the ideal place for getting around. Just a few minutes from a Park & Ride for the City of York, Less than fifteen minutes from all the big shops, plus the York designer outlet. An hours' drive and you're in Whitby, Scarborough or Bridlington plus a host of other places.

These are just a few of the plus points we experienced staying in the annexe. There are lots more to enjoy. If you are looking for any negative comments, well I'm sorry, there are none.

Thanks again, Jean, George and Meg, the big loveable dog, for making our stay such an enjoyable one and hopefully we will visit again in December, to experience York in its Christmas apparel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB2...
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - home from home!”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the fifth time we have stayed here and it's as lovely as ever. We have never returned to a place more than three times in the past, but we are drawn like a magnet to Jean and George's perfect little annexe. They are the ideal hosts and have become good friends over the years.
It is beautifully equipped, sparklingly clean and as comfortable as anyone could wish. We absolutely love it and will return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann...
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

George and Jean are wonderful hosts and the Gateway Annexe is a great place. It's comfortable, clean, quiet, up-to-date, attractively decorated and convenient to all kinds of interesting and historical places. In addition to all of that, the garden is beautiful and Meg, the golden retriever, is a real sweetheart. Jean and George are kind and clearly enjoy meeting new people. They love the area they live in and are happy to share information about it. They are ready to help if needed but are not at all intrusive. They've put a lot of thought and attention into creating a real home away from home for their guests. Dunnington is just minutes away from a park and ride into the city, but you can easily drive in in under 15 minutes. It's also handy to many other interesting and fun places. If you're looking for a great place to stay close York, look no further!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol0917
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I stayed here because of working in that area and really enjoyed my stay. George and Jean have a perfect holiday home with everything needed to enjoy a break and being able to sit out in the garden in the evening was lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, Dunnington is a lovely village and close enough to York to be able to visit that as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem to relax and fully charged”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location is so wonderful just in the centre of the avenue. No interruption from neighbours barking dogs, George and Jean, the owners were like family. I remember returning from shopping to this stunning and wonderful studio apartment, and got loss. I called George and before I could look around twice, George was there to take me back to warmth of the studio.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Second Home Away From Your Home”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I felt like Jean & George adopted daughter. What a marvelous place to be in beauty and tranquility!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire-Ma...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful warm and very friendly”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place, clean warm welcoming and homily. Lovely village friendly locals and good walking for the dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing