We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but still considerate and scored highly.”
Review of The Windmill

The Windmill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Windmill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Dunnington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Windmill & Turnpike is a family friendly restaurant that caters for all. Food served from 7.30am-9pm. Spacious garden, dining room, conservatory and bar area, there is the perfect spot for everyone. Whether it's a light bite work lunch or a 3 course family celebration, look no further.
york
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Busy but still considerate and scored highly.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I took a party to the Windmill on Monday 16th Dec for Christmas lunch. A couple of 'hiccups' but that wasn't bad at all considering there were 16 of us!!! At least 9/10 for service, 10 out of 10 for food. On Wednesday 18th Dec I took a party of 17 and, though there was little room for improvement from the Monday trip the service was excellent 10/10 and the food again top class, again 10/10. At a very busy time to score 39/40 is really testament to the hard work and caring attitude of all the staff. I will certainly be arranging more visits there in the future. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blue01York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    71
    33
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the food here today, portions HUGE, in fact they could save some money making them slightly smaller & help people's waistlines! Staff friendly and helpful, will certainly be re visiting, possibly later this week!!

Helpful?
Thank secretskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a family Sunday lunch here today and despite the pub being very busy, the food and service were excellent. There is a wide choice on the menu offering something to suit everyone. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herriots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant everytime!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Me and my partner go to this pub a handful of times for something to eat and it's just purely amazing food every single time. My parents rave about this place everytime they come to visit (live in lowly Ipswich!) and everytime we go for something to eat. Prices are typical pub prices (£7.95 etc) but the portions are more than generous! The hunters chicken....superb, the pies....mouth watering! and the deserts!!!! go on an empty stomach because you'll need to be empty to eat it all! absolutely amazing place

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great pub food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Taken on my first visit by friends and I was very impressed. A good selection of ales, I had the Black Sheep and a good and varied menu plus blackboard specials. Greeted by friendly staff, quick service and great value for money. £4.75 for a generous portion of calamari to start, huge steak pie with veg and chips for £9.30, the largest piece of belly pork with crisp cracking that I have seen in a long time for £9.45, and a chicken curry for £8.95 - all good. Drinks maybe a bit more than other locals at £3.85 for a pint but the overall bill balances this out. I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank peterturgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill also viewed

Dunnington, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Newton on Derwent, East Riding of Yorkshire
Dunnington, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing