We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend in a heart beat- beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fifth Milestone Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful room with 4 poster bed, attention to detail was perfect and the dressing gowns a lovely touch. Very homely with very welcoming staff. Lovely grounds with friendly animals Would love to stay there again Lindsay & Harry

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linzi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Fifth Milestone Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 410 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you want to know a secret: it's this. The Fifth Milestone Cottage is one of the best bed and breakfast establishments I have ever stayed at. It is reasonably priced, has beautiful well-appointed rooms, friendly and caring hosts, just off the main road into York, but far enough out that you could hear a pin drop during the night.

Must mention also that we arrived early (check in is at 2.30) and we sat undisturbed in the grounds eating the picnic we had brought. There is excellent parking and the gardens are beautiful.

Just to add, our room was heated on arrival and it was a lovely sunny day. Can't believe Traveller22 stayed at the sdame place

Room Tip: Ask for the Lavender room. You'll love it!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamberbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Absolutely fantastic room, with four poster bed - we felt like royalty. Lovely friendly welcome, made to feel at home right away. Super bathroom, and bags of room to park the car. The garden is beautiful with loads of fantastic birdlife whose singing was such a joy to hear. We had a continental breakfast and what an amazing choice we had, really delicious and set us up nicely for our journey home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh1rsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our four-poster bed gave us a perfect night's sleep in this pleasant country setting. There is ample parking - a bonus when visiting York. Patios and out-door seating, overlooking the orchard, are inviting on sunny days.Our comfortable room had everything required and the breakfast was up to the standard of the many excellent B&Bs we have stayed in. The owners are friendly and helpful and working hard to improve facilities further: a decking area with a pond and seating is in construction. A great place to stay for couples or families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniortraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is definitely one to miss. As soon as we saw the room we knew we could not stay. It was cold despite the fact that our arrival was expected. It had a horrible smell about it. It was not what we regard as clean. The room was far too small. There was no floor space on which to leave our bags. The hanging cupboard (could not be described as a wardrobe, more like a broom cupboard) was tiny and was occupied by a grubby ironing board. The seating consisted of a tiny two-seater wicker type settee. We forfeited our £75 deposit and left. We found excellent accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheExtraMileYork, Owner at Fifth Milestone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

This is the first time in 2 years we have had to reply to such a review , so first of all we would like to apologise to the guests for there concerns about our accomadation. The heating does not come on until 2.30 pm which is checking in time, we will adjust the heating to ensure the room is warm for those who choose to arrive early. The horrible smell we can only put down that our choice of air freshners do not suit everyone . As regards to cleanliness we are baffled as we have had 116 guests staying in that room this year and have not had one complaint. The wardrobe is a built in one and we have found that it as been more than adequate for our guests as the majority of our stays have been only for one or two nights and as regards to the ironing board well that's brand new ! .The seating that is referred to is rattan furniture which once again is of a new condition and comfortable to sit and enjoy your morning coffee . The guests were offered another room which they refused and they instructed us to keep there deposit as they had originally booked the room out for 4 days . We would like to also point out to future guests who may read this review that the day after this particular incident , the AA hotel inspector called on us, and are proud to announce that the fifth milestone cottage was awarded 3 gold stars for our accomadation so once again we can only say sorry that our humble guest house was not up to standard on this occasion .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am happy to recommend this B&B. The welcome was great and the room allocated to us (Lavender) was charming, clean, warm and comfortable. After the lumpy mattresses I had slept on during the previous ten days the bed was a REAL TREAT.
I only eat a full breakfast when i stay in a B&B (like to get full value I suppose) and this one was absolutely up to scratch - I almost had to skip lunch..
I might even invent a reason to go to York to stay there again

Room Tip: book early to get the room you want. Take a spare apple as the Shetland pony will be very grateful
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug5576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated near Dunnington (just outside of York) we hoped this B&B would be good for our first night in the UK. It turned out to be the perfect start to our holiday, particularly in the context of a consistently friendly and generous spirit of the local Yorkshire folk.

Our hosts, Terri and Steve, were most helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit, always ready to provide directions or give useful local knowledge.

Our room (The Orchard) was lovingly restored accommodation, with everything you would expect ... comfy four poster bed, great bathroom and facilities. The breakfast was also varied and plentiful to get you well into the day. Plenty of parking near our room was a great feature too.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
5.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
4.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifth Milestone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifth Milestone Cottage

Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range: $86 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifth Milestone Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing, beautiful, cottage b&b, look no further than FIFTH MILESTONE COTTAGE Bed & Breakfast. Spoilt for choice of rooms, from a lovely twin room with luxury en-suite wet room and views looking directly onto the paddock, to our lovely double rooms, also en-suite. Our family room with original vaulted beamed ceiling and wet room en-suite, and our luxury four poster room complete with beamed ceiling and luxury wet room en-suite. All rooms have freeview TV, digital radio, tea and coffee complimentary tray, fridges, ensuring both short and long stays are pleasurable. We ensure relaxation with furnished patios to sit and enjoy the gardens, orchard and paddock. There is also ample parking including loading bays directly next to rooms for your convenience. We offer a 3 course locally sourced full English breakfast to be enjoyed in our conservatory. We are often told by our guests, that they keep coming back for the breakfast alone. We also have wi-fi connectivity, so for those of you here on business, it can be business as usual. Our location is very convenient for all major roads in and out of York as we are situated on the A1079 just 1.5 miles off the A64. For easy access to York City centre there is the Grimston Bar park and ride 2 minutes from our door. The Elvington Air Museum is 5 minutes away, also the Yorkshire farming museum is 5 minutes away. Please note that this property has recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fifth Milestone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing