We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here over any major hotel your made to feel so welcome”
Review of The Fenwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fenwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would stay here over any major hotel your made to feel so welcome”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel has gone from strength to strength I was there with them thought alterations and I was so well looked after it was amazing the place now is creditable of 5 star in my view the transformation of the hotel is superb I miss the place very much and the staff are so friendly and helpful it's like being with family miss them very much mr russell Payne

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxxxxxxop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwickHotel, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip advisor.

We are delighted to hear you would recommend the hotel and very much enjoyed having you with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    102
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
131
112
3
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit to this little hidden away gem lovely hotel an the location is ideal the food is excellent and the staff very helpfull and friendly. if you fancy a stay in Kilnarnock look no further

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwickHotel, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

It is such a pleasure to hear that on your visits to The Fenwick Hotel we have continually met your expectations. We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)1560 600 478 for our best available rates.

Kind regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Thought we would try the restaurant as we live locally. Staff were pleasant and efficient throughout (it was quiet & early in the evening).
Starters... Prawn tempura was unremarkable (nice enough but not the largest portion ever), though my partner pronounced herself satisfied with the smoked salmon thingie.
I ordered the pork fillet stuffed with black pudding for main. It stated it came with a mustard sauce but it came covered in the sauce. I'm not keen on creamy sauces so my fault for not enquiring, not sure what I expected but everything was drowned in the sauce, veg, potatoes, the lot. I scraped it off the meat and left the rest.
Partner had a chicken dish which seemed to be nice enough, if unremarkable, again.
Waiter was kind enough to take 10% off the bill when she noticed I hadn't eaten much, even though I hadn't made a fuss, my fault as I say... If you like your dinner drowned in sauce you might like it.
Nice surroundings, food probably about what you would expect for the money, about £45 for 2 starters, mains and large glasses of wine.
Recommendation - ask for your sauce separate unless you want everything to taste the same.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwickHotel, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Fenwick Hotel.

The team are delighted to hear you found their manner pleasant and efficient. In relation to your comments on the food you were served in our restaurant, I have passed your comments onto the chef.

We hope this doesn’t prevent you from visiting the hotel again, and we will be more than happy to have your sauce served separate to accommodate your taste.


Kind Regards,

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killie_kev
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

In reference to the post regarding the dinner dance dated 09/11/2013, I would like to clarify a few details that made the night so shambolic. And these points were discussed at a feedback meeting I had with the events/duty manageress I had on Monday 11/11/2013, and were minuted.
Regarding the points I raised with the manageress with regards to:
Being refused a drink at the bar while waiting for the rest of our party to arrive, and being ushered into the function suite bar.
Being ushered into the function hall after being served at the bar (still waiting for the rest of our party to arrive).
The band setting up and their equiptment scattered over the floor.
Having to listen to a soundcheck while trying to order food.
The food being almost an hour late in being served.
I was told that this was all on the instructions of the Events Organiser.
I also raised concerns regarding the quality of the food and the bar service. I was told I was the only one to complain about the food, and the bar staff were more than capable to cope with the volume of guests. She then contradicted herself by saying she contemplated closing the bar area to allow the staff to reorganise themselves.
Twice I have been promised a meeting with the events organiser, the Fenwick Hotel and myself and not to contact them again until this has been arranged as the matter will not be discussed until then. I am still waiting on communication regarding this meeting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank killie_kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Staying away a lot - I visit many hotels within a range of prices.
I must say that when I arrived at the Fenwick Hotel (staying one night on business), I was delighted.
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The room was clean, well appointed, good facilities and free WiFi (which worked in the room with a good signal).

I decided to eat in the restaurant: The king prawn and chorizo was superb. This however was dwarfed in taste and delight by the steak pie. I recommend anyone staying to try it. I could have eaten it over and over.

Breakfast was also very good and checkout was quick.

The final comment has to be the bar - I had a nice glass of house red and a brandy to finish - both of which were reasonably priced (nice not to be ripped off when in a hotel)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwickHotel, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Fenwick Hotel.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)1560 600 478 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards,

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Have recently had my wedding at the fenwick hotel (30/11/2013) and it was everything I had wanted and more , from the planning to the day everything was perfect , the staff were great and very helpful and polite and the food was delicious , I was so impressed and delighted with how everything went on our day. . I would also like to say a huge thanks to Caroline Crawford the wedding planner she was extremely helpful and went the extra mile to make our day perfect , we would not have been so relaxed and at ease if it weren't for Caroline . Would highly recommend the fenwick hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwickHotel, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that we achieved our goal which was to make sure your dreams all came true on your special day. It was our pleasure, Caroline and her team are extremely grateful for your positive feedback.

We hope you will both come back to visit us at the Fenwick Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked for 24 people for Hogmany and we were not disappointed. We were lucky and had a DJ first and then a band. We were on the dance floor all night. Food, entertainment and staff were all excellent and we will be back next year. I stayed overnight and room was lovely and breakfast was just the ticket in the morning. Thanks again for making our Hogmany so special.

Jackie McCulloch (Kilmarnock Harriers)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwickHotel, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Ms McCulloch,

Thank you for your great review on your recent visit to the Fenwick Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic evening and enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to bringing in the New Year with you again this year.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick
3.4 mi away
Foxbar Hotel
Foxbar Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kilmarnock
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kilmarnock
310 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
14.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fenwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fenwick Hotel

Property: The Fenwick Hotel
Address: 8 M77 Jct | Nr Kilmarnock, Fenwick KA3 6AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Fenwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fenwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque, historic village of Fenwick we are centrally located with direct links to Glasgow, Prestwick Airport and Glasgow International Airport. Our accommodation is the perfect base for a leisurely weekend, getaway or rest and relaxation after the hustle of a business day. With ensuite facilities, writing desk, direct dial telephones, plasma televisions, complimentary wireless broadband, alarm call facilities, iron and ironing board, porterage, hairdryer and room service you will have everything you require for a luxurious stay.Boasting a boutique and individual restaurant, guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in either the main restaurant or in the intimacy of our private chic booths.Our lounge offers a selection of drinks from freshly brewed coffee to tantalising cocktails with a choice of lights bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fenwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Best Western
The Fenwick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing