We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocktails & Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fenwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fenwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cocktails & Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was in the hotel for a birthday meal the food was great the staff were excellent and tended to our every need as quickly as possible. We were all impressed as the restaurant was so busy.
But what made our night was the COCKTAILS in the cosy cocktail lounge. As we perused the menu the attentive barman, who made all the cocktails that night, recommended that we tried the Sant Fe Sunset. It was fabulous. As the night came to a close we had only had a fraction of the cocktails from the menu. We will be back to try the rest! Highly recommend to everyone. The cocktails were just as good, maybe better, but the fraction of the price you would pay in most other hotels.
Fantastic highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocotheorangesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear valued customer,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great birthday meal and that you enjoyed our vast selection of cocktails. We are truly passionate about our cocktails and look forward to welcoming you all back to sample the remainder.

All of your kind wishes will be passed on to our staff and it is always a pleasure to pass on such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    98
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
128
105
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the junior suite room for a night. Good points- room size was good, nice furniture and nicely decorated. Really nice 4 poster bed. Bathroom was clean with a good sized tub.

Negative points- could not open the windows as it was very noisy because of motorway traffic. It got stuffy in the room and a AC would have helped. Shower was just a dribble to the extent that we just didn't bother using it. Basics such as a shower cap would have been nice and also toilet roll could be of higher quality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milli035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear valued customer,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are always looking for ways to enhance our customer experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the suite, however we appreciate there were areas which weren’t to your satisfaction.

The points raised in your review have been noted and passed onto the relevant department to be rectified.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently organised a charity ball at the Fenwick Hotel. I chose the Fenwick Hotel as my venue as my husband and I had held our silver wedding there in January and we were very impressed by the venue, food and staff.

My friend recently passed away, she had cancer and I decided to have a fundraising ball in her honour, as it would have been her 50th birthday. From the early stages of planning I was offered support and exellent ideas and pointers from Fran the extremely helpful and ever smiley event planner. I was in constant contact with the hotel, as this was my first charity ball, and the staff always answered my querys quickly - nothing ever seemed to phase them.

All of the setting up was taken out of my hands, the chair covers, the laying out of the tables, and the table decorations were all done by the staff - all i had to do was deliver all the items to the hotel and they set everything up for me. ( it looked wonderful when i arrived and it had all been done)

The night went without a hitch and the staff were always on hand - the meal was served with military precision, the bar staff were first class and the lay out of the venue was perfect for the fundraising event.

I am convinced that the night wouldn't have been the success it was without the help and hard work of the staff of the Fenwick Hotel and I take this opportunity to let everyone know that we raised £8275 for the Ayrshire Cancer Support - thanks again - Anne

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AncientAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Anne,

We are delighted to hear of the success of your yellow rose ball recently held at the hotel, where a phenomenal amount of money was raised.

We thank you for choosing The Fenwick Hotel and are so pleased that the staff, food and venue all helped make your night a success.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed one night here on as a base for a company function. Nice well equipped rooms and really good breakfasts. There has been a lot of refurbishment here and we were shown around some of the newer rooms which looked really nice. When they are all complete it will be great.

It is very close to the motorway but this did not bother us at all.

Even the little guest bar coped with our food orders at short notice and the late night drinks. well done.

Room Tip: Dont worry about being near the motorway. There was little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and you appreciated our refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our daughter's wedding reception was memorable for many reasons, including this first class venue and its' service standards. From the first visit at the planning stage to breakfast on the morning after the reception Fran Hannaford and her well trained team looked after us and our guests extremely well. Recently upgraded, the hotel can't be faulted. We recommend it, without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candle563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear The McKenna and McNally Families,

We are delighted to hear you and your guests had a memorable day at Laura and Craig’s recent wedding here with us.

We strive to offer all of our guests an experience like no other and ensure that our staff are always on hand to look after them.

Our team work rigorously to ensure that from the planning stages through to the day itself and breakfast the next morning that every detail is taken care of.

It is always encouraging to hear such positive feedback for our guests and we are delighted to pass on your compliments to our staff.

We wish Laura and Craig all the best for the future and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

visited the fenwick hotel for dinner on a sunday. the carvory was ok but could have been better. the waitor ladie kept forgetting about us as we were away in the corner. the deserts were good eton mess is the best to get. a little bit pricy but we can say we hace tried it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montyblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. All feedback is important to our business; it is through such feedback we can improve our product.

Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with all departments involved and steps have been taken to enhance our carvery experience.

Kind Regards
The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had heard about the hotel’s restaurant from friends and along with my good lady decided to try it out. The restaurant is very welcoming with a choice of booth or open table seating. We went on a Tuesday evening and although the restaurant was relatively quiet we dined in a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were attentive but not over intrusive with a professional and pleasant manner, fitting the excellent surroundings. The food was fantastic, I cannot praise it enough, the attention to detail in the presentation, preparation and flavour would not be out of place in a top London restaurant. In fact, in many ways it would exceed these standards!

If you are looking for pleasant surroundings, fantastic food and a bill that would put a smile on even the tightest Scotsman, then please don’t just take my word for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your good wishes within your review. We are so pleased to hear that your recent meal within our restaurant for you both was such a wonderful experience and from the atmosphere to the food you enjoyed every moment.

We would like to thank you for the praise which you have given to all of our staff and your kind wishes have been passed to all which made your evening with us truly unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick
4.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kilmarnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.4 mi away
Foxbar Hotel
Foxbar Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kilmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
14.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kilmarnock Hotel
16.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fenwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fenwick Hotel

Property: The Fenwick Hotel
Address: 8 M77 Jct | Nr Kilmarnock, Fenwick KA3 6AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Fenwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fenwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque, historic village of Fenwick we are centrally located with direct links to Glasgow, Prestwick Airport and Glasgow International Airport. Our accommodation is the perfect base for a leisurely weekend, getaway or rest and relaxation after the hustle of a business day. With ensuite facilities, writing desk, direct dial telephones, plasma televisions, complimentary wireless broadband, alarm call facilities, iron and ironing board, porterage, hairdryer and room service you will have everything you require for a luxurious stay.Boasting a boutique and individual restaurant, guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in either the main restaurant or in the intimacy of our private chic booths.Our lounge offers a selection of drinks from freshly brewed coffee to tantalising cocktails with a choice of lights bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fenwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Best Western
The Fenwick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing