We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic venue for a wedding”
Review of The Fenwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fenwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fantastic venue for a wedding”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Was at a family wedding there yesterday and what a great day we had. The hotel staff were warm, welcoming and very friendly and kept the drinks circulating for both arriving and during the meal. The master of ceremonys at the hotel did a great job and kept things moving. The wedding meal was absolutely superb - (I never rate wedding meals highly as they are usually rushed out in bulk) - but cant fault this meal - brilliently presented and all piping hot and quickly served as well. loved the surroundings as well - was at a wedding in this venue 16 years ago and it has certainly went up market since then - well impressed. if you are currently looking for a wedding venue you wont go wrong with a look at this hotel - easy acccess on A77 from Glasgow and surrounding areas - go on - have a look. All the family who stayed also rated the rooms really good and very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDYIRWIN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Wendy,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Fenwick Hotel.

We are so pleased to hear that you felt that the wedding which you recently attended was an outstanding success in all aspects, from drinks to food to the staff.

We strive to offer all of our guests an experience like no other and ensure that they are looked after every moment of the day.

Your compliments have been passed on to our chefs and once again we can't thank you enough for your kind thoughts on the quality of food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    102
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
131
112
3
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Who knew that a fusion between Scottish and Indian cuisine could tantalise the palate of even the most finicky eater?

We had the pleasure of sitting down for a meal at The Fenwick Hotel for dinner last night. The food was a delight to the senses with not only the combination of flavours complimenting each other beautifully, but the presentation of the meals being a generously sized visual feast too. Judging from the demographic of fellow diners, the contemporary menu offered at the Fenwick appeals to a large range of varied clientele from tiny tots through to Senior Citizens.

All members of our party of 4 were extremely satisfied with the level of service, the value for money and the ambience.

Compliments to the Chef and the staff members who made last night a thoroughly enjoyable experience. This particular finicky eater will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiegrlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and relished in our new menu with the blend of Asian and Scottish cuisine. We always strive to offer a varied array of menu choices to suit every customer's needs.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful dining experience with others here on trip advisor.

Your kind wishes and compliments will be passed on to all the staff which helped to make your evening fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Went for a meal tonight after a run down from East Kilbride. Great quality and fantastic value in pleasant surroundings. Been for lunch before about 6 months ago. Only minor negatives - same CD as six months ago and ha to ask for the bill a couple of times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear valued customer,

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience here with us on your recent return visit. I would like to re-assure you that we have taken action to ensure that the music is now changed and varied on a regular basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fenwick Hotel in the near future and hope you won’t wait as long before your next visit.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My father and I stayed two nights at the Fenwick Hotel in August. The service was fantastic, rooms very clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was great. All the staff were very friendly and polite. If you are considering coming to the Fenwick, don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendamiller314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear valued customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit and are delighted to hear that your recent stay with your Father was truly enjoyable. Your kind wishes and comments will be passed on to all of the staff which helped to make your stay with us so memorable.

Upon each guests visit to the hotel we continue to strive to exceed their expectations and we hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future to allow us to strive and make your next stay even more enhanced.

Kind Regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We held our wedding here on the 28th July 2012 and the service we received was fantastic. During the lead up to and on the day of the wedding, Fran from the hotel was always on hand and extremely helpful, ensuring that we had everything in place to make sure the day ran smoothly, which it did - it was perfect! Nothing we asked was too much.

We met up with Fran on a number of occasions before the big day to discuss arrangements and usually just had a meal while we were there - the food was always delicious, with a varied menu and reasonably priced. We also sampled the monthly curry night, which was excellent and very busy.

Myself, my mum and my bridesmaids stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding and from the minute we walked in we were pleased with the service, everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The meal we had that night was delicious too.

The actual setup in the venue for a wedding is perfect and the refurbishment has been done to a very high standard. Fran and the team clearly know what they are doing when it comes to a wedding, as the day ran like clockwork meaning we could enjoy our day without worrying about anything at all.

All of our guests told us that they enjoyed their meal very much as did we and people raved about the buffet served at night - especially the pakora which was amazing!

The rooms have been decorated to a high standard and there is still work ongoing to improve the bathrooms I believe, but the current bathrooms are clean and tidy. I am very confident that they will be lovely if the standard of decor around the hotel is anything to go by. The bridal suite is just beautiful too and was a great room to get some pre-wedding photographs done with my mum and bridesmaids.

We really cannot fault The Fenwick Hotel and would not hesitate in recommending others to consider it as a wedding venue or simply to have a delicious meal. There is a real personal touch to the customer service you receive which makes all the difference.

Alison & Martin Mackay

**please note there is no swimming pool or fitness centre at this hotel, I just can't deselect those options**

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibalii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Alison and Martin,

We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience here with us at The Fenwick Hotel to celebrate your marriage with us.
Our team work tirelessly to ensure no stone goes unturned in order to make your special day unforgettable. We take great pride in providing all of our couples with help and guidance throughout every step of planning and organising their wedding day. We strive to give every event, special occasion and wedding that little bit extra by providing a personal and unique service to allow our customers the knowledge that they are in the safest of hands where nothing is left to chance.

Please be assured your kind words will be passed on to Fran and her events team which played a part in your special day.

We are thrilled to hear that you have sampled and experienced and enjoyed every aspect of our culinary experiences throughout the hotel, from our restaurant to the monthly curry night and the meal shared with your guests on your wedding day. Our dedicated team of chefs will be delighted to hear of your enjoyment.

We are happy to hear that you were able to capture your treasured memories prior to you becoming the new Mrs Mackay in our bridal suite allowing you, your mum and bridesmaids to begin your day in beautiful surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Fenwick Hotel in the near future and we would like to once again take the opportunity to congratulate you both and wish you all the best for your future married life together.

Kind regards

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here as was attending the Rowallan Visitor Centre.
Very nicely refurbished public areas. Bedrooms are comfortable but don't quite meet the standard of decor of the rest of the hotel. Staff, facilities and food were all first class. Our dinner and breakfast were lovely. The menu seems to carry a hint of Indian cuisine, and very nice it is too. Can't say a bad word.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear valued customer,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay with us whilst visiting Rowallan visitor centre.

On all occasions we strive to exceed our customers expectations and are pleased to hear that you received first class hospitality from our staff throughout the hotel as well as from the dining experiences which you had. Our menu is designed to offer our guests a blend of varied cuisines and seasonal delights.

Please be assured your kind words will be passed on to all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at The Fenwick Hotel on a business trip recently. The staff were wonderful - very friendly. We arrived quite late and the lady on reception quickly sorted out some sandwiches for us. The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme and looks very stylish. My room was comfortable with a big bed and cozy feel. The restaurant also continues the boutique theme and offered some very tasty food.
Now for the negatives - unfortunately my colleagues and I all suffered from sleepless nights. The hotel is bang smack next to a motorway - so close in fact that if I reached out of my bedroom window I could touch the cars whizzing past! The traffic noise woke me up numerous times during the night even though I had the window closed. My colleague also had to complain as he was kept awake most of the night by work being carried out in a room above. The shower was also a very disappointing dribble.
I wouldn't choose to stay here again, however if in the area I would come back for a meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the motorway end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsgowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorFenwick, Manager at The Fenwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear valued customer,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us.

Whilst happy to hear your comments in regards to our staff, hospitality, decor and food, we understand that there were certain matters which prevented you from having an outstanding stay with us.

We are saddened to hear that you had sleepless nights due to a noise above you, upon you notifying reception we immediately had our maintenance department rectify the problem which appeared to be caused by a fractured heating pipe. Once again, we can only apologise sincerely that this affected your stay.

In regards to the shower facilities, we are currently in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms in all of our accommodation and sadly as it is peak season we are unable to complete all of the work immediately. However, I can only apologise sincerely that you did not experience one of our new luxury bathroom suites during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fenwick Hotel in the near future.

The Fenwick Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick
3.4 mi away
Foxbar Hotel
Foxbar Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kilmarnock
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kilmarnock
310 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
14.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fenwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fenwick Hotel

Property: The Fenwick Hotel
Address: 8 M77 Jct | Nr Kilmarnock, Fenwick KA3 6AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Fenwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fenwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque, historic village of Fenwick we are centrally located with direct links to Glasgow, Prestwick Airport and Glasgow International Airport. Our accommodation is the perfect base for a leisurely weekend, getaway or rest and relaxation after the hustle of a business day. With ensuite facilities, writing desk, direct dial telephones, plasma televisions, complimentary wireless broadband, alarm call facilities, iron and ironing board, porterage, hairdryer and room service you will have everything you require for a luxurious stay.Boasting a boutique and individual restaurant, guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in either the main restaurant or in the intimacy of our private chic booths.Our lounge offers a selection of drinks from freshly brewed coffee to tantalising cocktails with a choice of lights bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fenwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Best Western
The Fenwick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing