We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel Amazing Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
“Stunning Hotel Amazing Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at the Lord Haldon for a Company Event over 4 Days, the hotel was clean and had the most amazing views, the staff where so helpfull and go well out of there way to help you. The Hotel has recently had a revamp and is looking fab! but still keeping in touch with the old touches a country hotel should have. The Hotel is very Close to Exeter and easy to find just print the details off there web site and go via Ide! you cant go Wrong! Im now returning with my family next Summer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDorset080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    185
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
83
174
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Molton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

the hotel is truly stunning and set in a great location. The young lady at reception was smart, proffesional and very polite and helpful. The evening meal was nothing short of fantastic and the breakfast was just amazing...surperb stay and would highly recommend to all. The staff all through the hotel made the stay even better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWebbSouthMolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Lord Haldon is out the way of Exeter which makes it fairly hard to find but it does make it very peaceful and with good views of the countryside. All the staff there were very pleasent and would bend over backwards to help you out if you had a querie about something which i thought was very good indeed.

The food was lovely, the breakfast was a buffet which you had to get yourself, but at least you could help your self to whatever you fancied (Bacon, sausages, fried eggs, fried bread, mushrooms and tomato) you could even ask for scrambled or poached egg if desired, also a good choice of cereal and pastries. Talking the one of the young chefs there we asked about the breakfast and he said they do a menu but when they are busy they do buffet, but overall it was very good. The service was very good aswell, being only 1 waiting staff being on at the time and all the tables being sat at. We had dinner in the resturant there aswell that night, which was very good with a very good presentation on the dishes and i would recommend you to eat there if you do visit!

The views around the grounds are very pleasant, with a very nice garden you can sit in and have a drink or even a cream tea, sitting in the fun admiring the view. There was a few walks we could of gone on which seemed nice but couldnt do them regretably.

Overall the stay at the hotel was brilliant and we will be recommending it to our friends and will push them to come a visit very soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMicock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed for five nights at the Lord Haldon and it must be the worst hotel that we have stayed in. A lovely situation with outstanding views and the Reception area was welcoming, however the bedrooms are drab, shabby and dated. The hotel was noisy ie beer coolers underneath our bedroom, a broken fire door, a broken bedroom door and a party in the next room until 2.30 in the morning. The furniture was also broken and the bed the most uncomfortable bed ever slept in. Our bathroom was not cleaned during our visit and we had to ask for our milk to be replenished. The breakfasts were awful, pink plastic sausages, salty poor quality bacon, hard and dried eggs floating in fat. The breakfast service was also poor and the waiter indifferent. The Reception staff were, however, very good and dealt with our complaints immediately. I will not be making another visit to this hotel and would recommend that you don't either!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We had a great time at the Lord Haldon, our base for a classic car rally in Devon.
As must be the case with all large hotels at the moment, times are hard and large refurbs may not be an option. I think it's unfair of some reviewers to complain of 'dated' rooms if they are spacious light and clean. We took up most of the hotel and not one of our group felt the need to change their room at all - they all thought they were fine.
As mentioned, the hotel is in a quiet location, but only minutes from the A30 and A38 and nearby Ide has a village store and several good pubs.
The view from the hotel is totally amazing and we were very relaxed as we knew the cars were safe and the children could run around without any worries about traffic etc.
What really made it for us, though, was the friendliness. Ruth, the manager, and all the staff could not do enough to make our stay easy and enjoyable. We had quite a full agenda, so they had to provide a buffet, meeting room, full dinner and various other last minute requests, including helping the AA find the hotel for one of our cars, sadly! They didn't let us down once and Ruth just seemed to be able to make anything possible in an amazingly calm and efficient manner.
For a quiet get-away, a group booking or wedding I think it's fantastic value.
However, if the countryside and stillness doesn't suit you, it might not be the best choice.
I, personally, had an amazing time there and the hotel, and Devon in general, did us all proud.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashellgirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stunning location, but thats about it. 15 miles of winding road wide enough for one car lead me to an amazing location, but thats where the good things I can say stopped. When i tried to check in the receptionist told me there was no booking, even though I had given her my name numerous times, I then had to call head office for my company to re-confirm the booking, during the call the receptionist said Oh Yea!, Ive found it now! She then asked me if i was going to be dining with them that evening, I declined the offer as the chef was sat, in his chef whites, behind the desk, with a dog on his lap!!! The room looked like something from the 20's, there was barely enough light in the bathroom to shower! and to cap it all off, i was woken by housekeeping at 7am, talking at the top of their lungs!!!!!! All in All i would never stay here again, and would not recommend it to even an enemy!! 0/10

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

I booked to stay at this hotel for one night after seeing it on the best western website, the hotel is beautiful from the outside and the views are wonderful....... unfortunatly thats the only good bit about my stay.
I checked in and went to my room, when i walked in the first thing i noticed was that it didn't have any big windows, just two small windows above head hight. i went to turn the tv on but couldn't find the remote. went to reception to ask them for a remote, they said they would bring one to my room when they found one. While i was waiting i thought i would check it wasn't in one of the drawers, it wasn't, i looked behind the chest of drawers to see if it had fell behind, i found an empty pack of biscuits and a full pack, i picked them up to find that the 'best before' date was april 10, therefore they had been there months!!! then i noticed how dirty the carpet was!!! it looked like the carpet had not been vacuumed for days. I asked for a different room to be told they were full and i couldn't be moved!
I went to the bar to get a drink and half the drinks were not available, i was told that they had a wedding 5 days ago and they had ran out. I looked at the menu and ordered a 'Homemade Haldon Burger' when it came it was definatly NOT home made!
I know when some people read this you will think i'm just a moaner, i stay in best western hotels on average of 2 night a week with my work, this was the dirtiest room i've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freekyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Address: Haldon Drive, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing