We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another GREAT stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yet another GREAT stay.....”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

What can we say that hasn't already been said about this little gem in the rolling Devon country side. The staff are like old friends and make you feel so welcome. Marina on reception is just great and the new staff seem to be settling in well too. Thankfully, Smelly Cat has gone to gone to the great Whiskas in the sky and is finally out of his misery. Not so sure about the newly white painted rocks but I am sure health & safety has something to do with it. If you can get a good deal and want a peaceful, quiet hotel with pleasant staff, then this is the place for you. This is most probably a hotel aimed at the "middle aged" rather than teenagers, which suits us fine. Just make sure you turn your radiators up when you get in the room before going to sleep for a cosy nights snooze. We recommend, for a nice old world pub with good food, just pop up the road (and down again) to the Nobody Inn at Doddiscombleigh in the evening. Just make sure you have breakfast in the hotel though, as it is truly smashing too. Free WiFi. Lost count how many times we have stayed here, but no doubt we will be back....love it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerculesC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    190
    63
    15
    8
See reviews for
88
182
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We booked this hotel late in the day and got an excellent deal direct with the hotel. We had a triple room which was huge with wonderful views and a very comfortable bed.
Overall the hotel was clean and well kept although the furnishings and decor are quite dated. The nice room that is in the pictures is only one room which is the honeymoon suite so don't be fooled into thinking it has been recently refurbished.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of selection and no waiting for a table and staff were polite and helpful. We also ate at the restaurant the night before and the food was really lovely. Location is also lovely, in the middle of the countryside but one you definately need a car for
I would stay here again but only if it was another good deal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikjo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We had a lovely stay in this hotel, fantastic room, friendly staff and excellent service - comes well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviacostigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at the Lord Haldon in a very cold time of the year, the room was icy when we arrived, but warmed up once the radiator was turned on – it could have been on low which would have created a better first impression.

The décor was a bit tired; the wallpaper in our room was peeling although it didn’t detract from our enjoyment of the stay. We had booked 3 nights as part of a winter saver offer which was extremely good value for bed and breakfast.

The room had the usual tea and coffee facilities, biscuits, bottled water and a nice en-suite bathroom which was pleasantly warm once I turned the radiator on.

The hotel is very isolated and we ate in the hotel the first evening we arrived. We ate in the bar which was a bit sparsely decorated but cheaper than the restaurant; the food was adequate although nothing to write home about. The breakfast on the other hand was very good with a wide buffet choice.

The Lord Haldon is very remote – about 3 miles down narrow lanes, easy to get lost. Satnav will bring you in through extremely narrow approach lane, better to read directions from the hotel’s website and approach through the village of Ide.

I would recommend the hotel for excellent quiet unspoilt countryside with plentiful walks and peace and quiet; it is about 6 miles from Exeter so is a useful base to explore the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

2 day business meeting in November.

Stay included room(s), meals, and conference facilities.

Pleasant location, service okay, rooms not that clean but okay.

Good location, 15min by car from Exeter train station

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel before and loved it, as it is really quiet. As it was our anniversary we thought we would like to stay again, however, we were a little disappointed to be the only couple in the restaurant in the evening, which made us feel a little uneasy.
Can't fault the staff though, they are friendly and efficient, especially reception which went out of their way to phone one of the attractions we were visiting to make sure it was open.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I recently spent one night in this hotel whilst on business in Exeter. A summary review from me this time:
-Food was pretty good, and good value
-Room was excellent, certainly the best part of my stay (room 5) had a double shower and a large bath. Fantastic views over the fields.
-Getting there was tough going, the TomTom got me to the front door, but the miles of country lanes proved a challenge
-Getting to Exeter in the morning took 45 minutes - not the hotels fault, but something to consider.
-Steven the waiter was very efficient - possibly too effcient which meant he came across as somewhat abrupt.
- Desk staff were friendly and helpful, but did take a while to arrive. I was stood in reception alone for several minutes.
- Free wifi

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,043 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,650 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel

Property: Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Address: Dunchideock, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel Dunchideock, UK
Exeter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing