We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is tucked away in the Devon countryside and was a very relaxing place to be in. We only stayed one night, as a stopover on our way to Cornwall, but would have loved to have stayed longer. Excellent service and food, both dinner and breakfast. It wasn't too busy as it was a Monday night. Only one thing could have been improved. We had a fantastic spacious room, including bathroom but the bed does need improving. Not comfortable at all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank UkDebs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    187
    61
    14
    8
See reviews for
84
176
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We use Best Western whenever we can as we find the standards very good. This hotel was no exception - lovely exterior surrounded by beautiful countryside. Greeted very warmly and checked in swiftly up to our room which was very spacious with lovely views but only had shower - no bath. My husband loves his wallow in the bath so went back and asked if we could change rooms. He was given a key (room 21 I think) which had a bath but was nowhere near as nice as 26 so we kept the original room. Sorry to have been such a pain - but my husband was happy to put up with the excellent shower. Spacious room with king size bed and lovely bathroom with partly heated floor (home from home). Dinner was OK but my husband has a problem with his steak which was quickly changed. Breakfast was good with lots of variety and cooked to order.
Lovely weather for early March and we were able to sit out to have coffee and to enjoy the wonderful air and superb views. We will definitely return when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here recently when working in Exeter. The Hotel is around 15 minute Drive from the City and is set in the countryside with beautiful grounds and beautiful views. The Hotel is noisy during the day so i would avoid if you want any sleep after 9am. I was working nights during my stay and because new carpets were being fitted throughout, l i didn't have a good sleep all week. Staff Were friendly and helpful and the food was nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited recently as a potential large function customer.
Waited in reception whilst receptionist obviously was ignoring us, thought maybe she was extremely busy and would be with us as soon as possible. Girl in the office by the reception also saw us waiting and chose to ignore us also. Reception phone rings, huge sigh of relief on the receptionists part, she could get out of acknowledging us at all now.
Although we made the effort to drive to this hotel, won't be bothering again ! Sort the front of house out and maybe you won't have to do promotional sales for your weddings !

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westkirby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Great venue for a short break. Hotel lovely and clean,nice bathroom,spacious room.
Friendly and helpful staff,would stay again if in the area.Reasonable prices and a good base for us exploring the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mandymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in Feb 2014 and was pleasantly surprised.

- room on top floor (33) was large and elegant, with bath and great views over the countryside. Much may depend on your room allocation.

- wifi free and easy to connect

- breakfast was good and there was seemingly decent provision for vegetarians

- water noises and adjoining bathrooms meant a bit of a lottery in terms of early / late noise.... but slept very well overall.

- hotel's rates with Capital taxis in Feb 2014 are £14 to Exeter and £25 to airport, likely to be better than standard rates quoted by taxis.



Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keepsmiling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel

Property: Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Address: Dunchideock, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel Dunchideock, UK
Exeter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing