We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good manager and respectable food redeems very average accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good manager and respectable food redeems very average accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located on a junction, the inevitable road noise is compounded by the building age and lack of room insulation from corridors and neighbouring residents. Our room was fairly spacious and comfortable but is due a deep clean and perhaps a general revamp. A great TV contributed little to our stay as most of the channels were without any signal. The helpful and capable manager was however excellent, as were most of the staff and the food offerings on our two day stay were surprisingly good; a chef who can cook fish perfectly was unexpected and the accompanying sauces flavoursome. Inclusive breakfasts are only of continental style but they make that clear beforehand which is fine and the coffee tasted of .......coffee; far from the norm in considerably more salubrious establishments.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear which overlook the car park or courtyard may (or may not) be quieter to those near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The George and Dragon, Innkeepers Lodge, Exeter. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    73
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
68
91
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

One of the nicest pubs I have been to food delicous went there two days in a row iam vegertarian and loved everything which is very unusual as its normally very bland food you get on other menus my friends had steak and cod which they said was amazing I just wish we had one in hereford could not fault any thing oh and by the way check out desserts yummy

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaloolooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The St George and Dragon a good place to eat, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and hadn't booked. We were swiftly seated in an already busy lunchtime service. We were very impressed with the service, from all the staff, especially our waitress Sophie. The food was really delicious. Definitely will be returning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
May we thank you for your review, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at St George & The Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table but got lost and turned up an hour late,the place was packed but they still managed to get us a table .The food was excellent and particularly Ian who served us our drinks and food he was run off his feet but still gave us wonderful service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The St George and Dragon . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

a late booking for just one night and the St george and dragon provided a perfect family room, exceptionally clean in all areas. The room was warm and provided everything we needed for a perfect stay. Evening meal was spectacular, large portions and well made as well as nicely presented in a quiet restaurant environment. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. All in all, one of the nicest places I have stayed in

Room Tip: advise them of your needs and if they possibly can, they will provide it...to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The St George and Dragon and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed in February (19th-21st) .It was our 4th visit to the Hotel & we enjoyed it very much. The staff were welcoming & .friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room on the ground floor was clean, comfortable & warm. Had evening meals including starters, fish & steak which we all enjoyed. Been to a lot of vintage inns throughout. the country and this is one of our favorites and good value for money.
Already booked our next visit in April. Can't understand some of the critical reviews.
From the Rodgers family in Cornwall.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found St George and Dragon a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffculme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Arranged to meet a friend for lunch, arrived and went to bar to order a drink and get a menu, was told to take a seat at a table and someone would attend to us, 20mins later still waiting. Why they could not have served us a drink and a menu I don't understand, it looks like a pub, feels like a pub but thinks its a restaurant. While we where waiting we watched 4 other people walk out, so we gave up and left. Not what I would call customer service and won't to returning any time soon.

Room Tip: unless you have all day for lunch, avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandJaneuffculme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clyst Saint George hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
4.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
0.9 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing