We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas meal”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked as a family with elderly parents and one grandson with nut allergy. They took our booking, sorted out an area for us with wheelchair access, in a quiet area as one person rather deaf, and there was no problem with the nut free meal. The waiting staff were attentive and helpful. All seemed well until the meal actually arrived. It was awful. Frozen roast potatoes and vegetables (except for the red cabbage which was fresh). A roast meal is one of the easiest meals to prepare and serve, but this was obviously beyond the chefs there. Avoid the food.

Room Tip: We did not stay! We just had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    77
    54
    25
    14
See reviews for
74
101
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went here for a meal last night. The food was very good but the service very poor.
We had to ask for a menu after having being seated for quite sometime.
The glasses of wine were rather expensive.
When I ordered an coffee, I had to go back and ask where it was - the barman admitted he had forgotten - very poor bearing in mind there were no customers at the bar!
The toliets were really shabby, no toilet paper in the one I went in.
I would probably not return here as there are plenty of better places around to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianBExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having stayed here numerous times over the last few years my recent visit was as expected. Check in was prompt and the room was spacious (Room 9) with all the traditional features you would come to expect of a budget hotel. I paid £30.00 for B&B from their winter promotional feature and got value for money. The evening meal was excellent with the service good. The bread at breakfast was a little stale but over all my stay was faultless!

Room Tip: Room Nine was fine and overlooked the car park. Quieter than those on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonnie2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were meeting friends and were given a nice table in the restaurant

The food was good and we were well looked after by the staff.

Good portion size and nothing to complain about.

Lots of parking and a handy location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewForestJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in a family room which consisted of a double bed and a made-up double sofa bed. The room was spacious and fine for our one night stay. Yes, the decoration and finish was not the finest, but the room was clean and adequate for our stay. The price was more that reasonable and worked out at £15 per person inc:breakfast.
Talking of breakfast, the offering was continental only, which seemed strange, but was fine as we dined so well the evening before in the excellent pub.
The pub is excellent, good surroundings, good atmosphere, comfortable layout, excellent menus, superb wine list and well kept real ales. There is even a crackly fire on colder evenings. Oh!, the service was attentive and friendly too.., What more do want.?
Needless to say, we will be back at every opportunity..!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I pre booked our stay well in advance - a twin room was booked for 2 nights. On arrival we were told that a twin was not available - only a family which had a double bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable and although I asked to see the manager in the morning he was not available. We were given the option by staff to change rooms for the second night and infact this room at the back of the building was much more comfortable.

Although I have written to Innkeepers head office I have not had an explanation of how the booking system went wrong infact my letter was ignored - they offered me another nights stay at this lodge between now and February which I wont be using - why repeat a bad experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clyst Saint George hotels

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night weekend stay in a very small, twin-bedded room overlooking the car park. (Average rating based on room size.)

We arrived at 1.45pm and our room was ready but we opted to order lunch. Food not as good as our local Vintage Inn.

Our warm room was reasonably clean and everything worked. With a closed window to suppress the traffic noise, we slept well. There might be problems in the summer with an open window though.

The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and staff kept the area clean and immediately responded to requests.

We liked the informal atmosphere of the pub and would return for a short stay in the future. Its location is excellent for local trips, walks and quick access to the M5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
517 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Gipsy Hill Hotel
#16 of 31 in Exeter
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
497 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing