We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Griffin

The Griffin
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just been eating at The Griffin for lunch and its so great seeing a pub / restaurant busy and my kids love the place and staff

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    83
    44
    32
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food and service was good to average. Had to ask to order our drinks and had already ordered food before they arrived. Starters were ok. Main course was very good. We decided to share desert and a cheese board. Our brulee was ok but very heavy, our cheese board turned up lots of cheese and only 5 crackers, some celery and maltesers! It was a quiet evening so it wasn't until we had finished that we had a chance to speak with the waitress. we asked why we had no grapes on cheese board and why they been replaced by maltesers without us even being asked. Our waitress returned explaining that the head chef was working that evening and he had held up manky grapes and that the maltesers were the better option. Unfortunately it has spoilt our first and probably last experience at the griffin as we did give them the chance to change or refund mistakes made.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fae e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Ate here on Saturday night with my wife and friends. First class food, service and atmosphere. We had a great night and I would recommend the steak - cooked to perfection. This is the 5th time we have eaten here since it changed hands and each time it has been great. It has been really busy since it changed hands and got refurbished and is getting busier as word is getting out how good it has become, so worth booking in advance. Just tried to get a table again on Sunday and it is fully booked.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was the fourth or fifth time we had eaten at the Griffin, and it remains our top eating place in the area. Of course the interior decor is superb and makes you always feel comfortable and relaxed, but the food is always so good for a gastro pub and the service was excellent too.
I had "Double Bubble & Squeak" for my main course, the potato base was crispy, the eggs poached perfectly and it was topped with a white sauce and pancetta - delicious and beautifully presented. My husband had the beer-battered haddock & chips and he said it was the nicest fish and chips he had - the fish steaming inside and a cripsy coating. They do some simple sounding dishes in a superb way, Well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

There was poor communication between front of house and the kitchen which resulted in us waiting an hour and 45 minutes for our main meal from when we sat down. At the very least you would expect an update from the wait staff to advise if there are any problems in the kitchen, purely as a matter of curtsey.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samehren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin also viewed

 

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing