We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Klaeng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights for a break after Cambodia and before we moved on to Ko Samet. We were not expecting too much, but were pleasantly surprised. Took 2 hours from Bangkok airport. Taxi driver needed help to find the place, so he called the hotel and they guided him in.

Fast and courteous check in. Cold towel and drink. Pleasant air con reception and lobby.

Superior room, king size bed, small balcony with sideways sea view. The rooms are in a U shape facing the sea. Small fridge. Good TV reception for BBC, CNN etc. Pleasant bathroom. 2 good swimming pools + baby pool. Plenty of loungers with padding. Nice beach towels. Lots of sunshades and shaded areas.

Huge beach that goes on for miles in both directions.Tthe sand is nice, but there is some beach litter. This is not the fault of the hotel. Much of it flows down the river from Bangkok into the bay and spreads out along the coast. Not many palapas on the beach. Nice seating area overlooking the beach to watch the sunset. The hotel is south west facing and gets a nice sunset. Massage bed area overlooking the beach. Lots of tree shade areas for a nap. Newspapers in reception.

Excellent breakfast with lots of variety. Egg cooking station and some Thai food. Good fruit. Fine coffee. The food at the hotel is good and not that expensive. But not a patch on the small restaurants to the left along the beach. There is also a restaurant opposite the hotel and some to the right along the beach. We ate at the hotel the first evening and then the next 3 nightsand lunches at the beach bars to the left. Superb quality at very low prices. Stunning green curries. Some of the best food I've ever eaten. Spicy, fresh, aromatic. My favourite was Mr K Wong's beach bar. Stunning food for an embarrassingly low cost. Main courses 70B!!!! We sat at the bar after dinner and watched shooting stars - idyllic. Meal for 2 with beers 350B.

Free shuttle bus to Ban Phe pier twice a day at 09.00 & 12.00. Returns at 13.00 &17.00. We took the shuttle in and got a cab back - 250B.

Happy hour by the hotel's beach bar 17-18.00 to watch the sunset.

A generally nice resort. Mixed ages and somef children. Most guests were Scandinavian. All very polite.

At only 2 hours from the airport, this is a good alternative to some of the islands. It is nice and quie,t with great food at the bars. There was little we could find fault with here.

Recommended.

Please PM us if you have any questions.

N&B

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 778 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

I stayed at Novotel Rim Pae Rayong last week. The price is good, the hotel is good, rooms are clean, not new, but good. Gardens and swimming pools are great, breakfast buffet is good. The hotel's restaurants are expensive and there isn't much of a choice nearby. I would recommend this hotel, however not the beach! The beach is dirty and seems like no one makes any effort to clean it, not even the hotel beach front, which is mainly frequented by the hotel's costumers. I would recommend you to go to Koh Samet island, via Ban Phe: nice beaches, white sand, clear waters, cheap and nice resorts, only an hour or so from Rayong.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I booked the hotel through Novotels website (Accor). I was offered a superior room at approx. €50.- per night including buffet breakfast. Because the hotel is almost a three hour journey from Bangkok airport, I also booked transportation to the hotel and back at 3500 Thai Baht. The driver was waiting at arrivals for us even though we arrived 90 minutes later. We found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. The rooms have a balcony with chairs and table. The bathroom has a bath/shower and shampoo, lotions etc were provided. 2 bottles of complimentary water was supplied every day. There is a safe in the closet. The mattress was firm, but we had no problem sleeping on it. One drawback, the closet only has about 10 hangers and is very narrow. Hanging long items is a problem since the room safe takes up room in the wardrobe. There are 3 drawers for storage.
There are beautiful maintained gardens along with a large swimming pool, a smaller one and a childrens pool. There are enough deck chairs around the pools and the gardens along as with foldable chairs on the beach.
The beach is very long and wide with beautiful powdery white sand. It is not that deep near the shore. OK for children. There is no coral, stones or seaweed. However, a lot of debris gets washed up with the tide and this is not a pretty sight. The hotel keeps their part of the beach clean, and so do a few others, but the majority of the beach is littered. It is a shame that the local Rayong authorities do nothing about this.
This is a very quiet hotel. Most of the guests are over the age of 45 with a sprinkling of youngers people or families. Mostly Scandinavian, a few Brits and Germans. The hotel is usually quiet as of 10pm. There is no entertainment or clubs. The hotel has a bar near the beach, but this too is very quiet. You would have to go to Pattaya if you are looking for nightlife and that is over an hours drive away. Sometimes at the weekends the hotel caters to groups (Companies) so there can suddenly be a wave of guests. It can get a bit loud in the evening, but this is usually finished by midnight. By Sunday afternoon, most of these guests have departed.
The hotel offers a courtesy bus to the town of Ban Phe (20 mins drive) It leaves at 9am and picks up again at 1300 for the return journey. In Ban Phe there are lots of souvernir shops, restaurants and a Lotus Tesco supermarket. The hotel courtesy bus stops right outside the pier where the ferry to the island of Koh Samet sails. (It takes about 30 mins and costs 100 Thai Baht oneway) However, you will miss the 1300 pickup if you visit the island which means getting yourself transportation. There are enough pick up vans that operate as taxis, picking up along the route. It will cost you 30 Thai Baht per person until 1800. After that, they stop operating, and a private taxi will cost you 300 Thai Baht back to the Novotel.
The hotels restaurants, there are two (One Italian and one Thai) are not that expensive compared to some hotels worldwide. We found the Thai one to be better. Our meal in the Italian restaurant was a let down and the staff are not very organized here. However, their pizzas are tasty. The buffet breakfast is very good. Large choice of western and Thai foods.
On the beach there are several Thai restaurants. We found that the best one and the cheapest was one called Kim. This is outside the main gate and across the road. You cant miss it. (There is another Kim restaurant on the beach, left of the hotel, it is almost as good) We ate at the roadside Kim nearly everynight. With starters, main meal (Thai) and several drinks, it never was more that 500 Baht. Dont be too suprised though when your appetizer arrives after your main meal or vice versa. This is Thailand. It is all done with a smile, so just accept things as they are.
We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and polite. They helped where they could.
We would go back and we would recommend the hotel to friends. We found it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottishlass57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I booked a last minute trip to Rayong for the family for Christmas and New Years as this was one of the few places in Thailand that had hotel rooms available at a resonable price at this time. I decided to try out the Novotel Rayong despite reading alot of mediocre reports here. On arrival I was not impressed as the hotel was noticeably aging, in particular the facade and the pool concrete. The rooms were not great either - smaller than I expected for a resort so far away from the city. The twin beds were small also and I had a tough time sleeping comfortably with my 6 year old son. The bedding was nothing great either, certainly no where near as comfortable as a Marriott, for example. The whole decor of the room was very simple. I'd say the rooms would struggle to make it to 4 star.

However, the moment we stepped out of our room we had great fun. The resort has great facilities packed into a compact space, giving it more of a boutique hotel feel rather than a big chain. There are about 4 pools, some for kids some for adults. One is in an undercover area for those who want to stay out of the sun. There is also a hot jacuzzi in the undercover area next to the gym, which is also rather large. The pools are all wonderful and are surrounded by beautiful gardens and trees. The views are great from everywhere and this provides for great relaxation.

The beach was also surprisingly good. Its long and consists of fine white powdery sand and is almost as good as the finest beaches in Phuket. The water is clear and while there are alot of activities on the beach, it isn't too crowded either. This was a surprising find in Rayong.

The resort is certainly remote as others have pointed out but not as remote as some of the other resorts in Rayong. At the very least there are a number of restaurants nearby. One is across the road from the resort and there are at least two on the beach nearby, a simple restaurant next door on the left and a larger restaurant and bar about 50 meters up the beach on the right. This saves you from paying the higher prices at the hotel restaurants and gives a bit of choice as well. The hotel also runs a complimentary shuttle to Ban Phe at 9:30am and 12:30pm daily, which this helps to reduce the remoteness of the place.

This place is great for rest and relaxation and spending time with the family. After spending time here I would be willing to stay at other Novotel resorts, particularly those that are newer.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank rabbitloverHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 15, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 12, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 6, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaeng
0.3 mi away
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
#3 of 10 in Klaeng
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Centara Q Resort Rayong
Centara Q Resort Rayong
#5 of 10 in Klaeng
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
743 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#8 of 62 in Rayong
92 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lomtalay Chalet
Lomtalay Chalet
#7 of 10 in Klaeng
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort

Address: 4/5 Moo 3, Pae Klaeng Kram Road | Chark-Pong, 21190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Klaeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Klaeng
#2 Spa Hotel in Klaeng
Price Range: $63 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel set amid tropical grounds on a beachfrontThe Novotel Rayong Rim Pae is a 4 star beachfront resort hotel in beautiful Thailand. Set amongst exotic gardens complete with long stretched of clear sand beach, the hotel is the perfect holiday destination, a place to relax and unwind. Enjoy music and drinks at our beachfront bar or a delicious meal in one of our two restaurants The GARDEN Thai International or The SHORE Italian. Whether relaxing by the pool, at our AQUAS health spa, or making the most of our of leisure facilities, guests are spoiled for choice in the friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rim Pae Resort Rayong Hotel Rayong
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort Rayong Province, Thailand - Klaeng
Novotel Rim Pae Hotel Rayong
Rayong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing