We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Klaeng
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I am writing this review as a warning to others who may be considering staying at a hotel in the Rayong area of Thailand. While satisfied with other Accor Group Hotels in Thailand, the Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Hotel was a large disappointment.
I understand from the Hotel Manager that it is not actually owned by Accor and that this may a reason for its disappointing performance relative to other hotels in the same group.
In brief, I was given a room in the hotel as far away as possible from the seafront. Given the linear nature of the plot of land that the hotel is built on this meant I only had a very oblique view of the sea along the side of the hotel while also looking through all my neighbours' balconies!
There was no privacy on the balcony. The view directly out of the window was to a derelict site that included a disused water tower and buuiklding rubble. Close to my room was the hotel's garbage storage area.
I could clearly hear heavy trucks passing along the main road at the front of the hotel.
There were warning signs NOT to open the balcony windows due to mosquitoes and other flying insects!
The television system had a very poor selection of programmes with no international news channels. Most of the channels were in Thai language only. The staff admitted to me that recently the hotel had taken a cheaper TV package that would still appeal to Thais but had far less choice for visitors who cannot speak Thai - this is not what one expects from an international chain of hotels.
There was no breakfast provided in my choice of room and payment and the breakfast facilities ona pay-per-meal basis were very unappealing.
The so-called gynasium/ fitness room was poorly equipped.
My neighbours included tour groups of Thais having room parties.
The hotel had clearly dumped me in their worst room with their cheapest guests. I booked through Agoda but will never use Agoda again.
Other friends who book with Agoda have had similar bad experiences of being given the worst rooms in hotels.within the room, there was a large hole in the bathroom ceiling, large enough for any vermin to enter!

Room Tip: The only decent rooms are near the pool and sea - the sides of the hotel and front are dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelrayongrimpae, General Manager at Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your review that brought to our attention. We are sad to hear of your bad expierence during your last stay with us. we have taken notes of all your comments and suggestions and we will seriously look into the areas for improvement.

We wish we can still have the opportunity to welcome you again and assure you that we will do better to make your stay with us comfortable.

Thanks again for your valuable and kind comments.

Yours sincerely,

Terry Butt-Gow
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    356
    148
    36
    18
See reviews for
283
211
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seoul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here with 3 adult kids. Beautiful setting and gardens and the beach was okay except for the rubbish on either side of the 'clean' part. (When will the Thais start tackling the garbage on their beaches?) We are foodies and weren't impressed by the restaurant, instead eating mostly at Pol restaurant on the beach (to the right) which was great fun. Our main problem was no surveillance of the pools which meant that some Asians (shall not be specific here) thought it normal to spit IN the pool and on the surrounding areas. Yuck! One of my kids even scolded a 60 year old eastern European for tossing his empty beer cans into the bushes. Is this the sign of times to come? We left early and went to Ko Samet where the sea and sand is much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelrayongrimpae, General Manager at Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write your comments in this present review.
We are happy to know you did enjoy your stay with us during your recent visit to Rayong.

We really appreciate your information in regards to some of the inappropriate behavior of some of the other guests, also some various points of suggestions. we will definitely look into these matters and apply the suitable means to prevent and improve some controllable circumstances.

We do wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again and rest assure that we will always do our utmost to provide you a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Terry Butt-Gow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to get out of Bangkok for a weekend so drove over to Novotel and really had a nice stay. Easy going hotel, nice staff, nice kids playground. The beach was easily accessible and clean. Food was ok but Thai restaurant great! Staff very friendly and smiling. Would go back for sure with the family. Felt relaxed and the kids pool was nice.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelrayongrimpae, General Manager at Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment about our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you were able take home some good memories. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Your Sincerely,

Terry Butt-Gow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and was very nice room facing pool. The children enjoyed the beach, pools were fun and staffs very friendly. Great value and so easy to go around the islands nearby. Thank for the various recommendation of the EAM whom really helped us. We will be back again. Maybe having an ATM in the hotel. Thank you to the entire team.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank youbel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelrayongrimpae, General Manager at Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame
We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Rayong and for taking the time to write this review. Also, we are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Thailand.

Your Sincerely,
Terry Butt-Gow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have now stayed more than ten times at the Novotel Rayong. It is a great hotel, especially for families. Not too big, right next to the beach, friendly service, clean and good restaurant.
This time the ocean was calm and clear, other times the waters have been not as clear as Ko Samet. Neither is the sand on the beach the bright soft white as Ko Samet, but I can recommend a daytrip to the island where there is no resort that can compare with this.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Martinfamilyfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelrayongrimpae, Manager at Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame
We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Rayong and for taking the time to write this review. Also, we are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Thailand.

Your Sincerely,
Terry Butt-Gow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

a nice hotel with respect for thai tradition,not a multi storey buiding but little buildings around multi-swimming pools.trees and flowers and a nice way of living a beach.Good rooms,fully equipped,different restaurants,a good breakfast.A little expensive the restaurants and silly to require money for faster wifi.

Room Tip: the sea view ones are nice.Beware the mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flincoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotelrayongrimpae, General Manager at Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give us a trip advisor review comments,
We are every happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

We have also taken into our attention about the pricing in our hotel outlets, we are in the planning of coming up with more choices or regular promotions with attempting prices to serve our value guests like your good self.

We hope to see you again soon, we are always ready to provide you our best services always,

Yours faithfully,

Terry Butt-Gow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaeng
0.3 mi away
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
#3 of 10 in Klaeng
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#9 of 55 in Rayong
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Centara Q Resort Rayong
Centara Q Resort Rayong
#5 of 10 in Klaeng
85 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lomtalay Chalet
Lomtalay Chalet
#7 of 10 in Klaeng
78 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort

Property: Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort
Address: 4/5 Moo 3, Pae Klaeng Kram Road | Chark-Pong, 21190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Klaeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Klaeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel set amid tropical grounds on a beachfrontThe Novotel Rayong Rim Pae is a 4 star beachfront resort hotel in beautiful Thailand. Set amongst exotic gardens complete with long stretched of clear sand beach, the hotel is the perfect holiday destination, a place to relax and unwind. Enjoy music and drinks at our beachfront bar or a delicious meal in one of our two restaurants The GARDEN Thai International or The SHORE Italian. Whether relaxing by the pool, at our AQUAS health spa, or making the most of our of leisure facilities, guests are spoiled for choice in the friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rim Pae Resort Rayong Hotel Rayong
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort Rayong Province, Thailand - Klaeng
Novotel Rim Pae Hotel Rayong
Rayong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing