We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mae Chan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Have lived in Thailand for 8 years now, and as a value for money in Thailand.......You're being ripped off........OK, great location......staff very friendly.....Fact is I would be happy to stay, and enjoy if no more than 1500 Baht a night........The asking price for this place is a rip-off.

Room Tip: Think Tencko........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location and views but an overpriced dump. Staff were surprisingly friendly as I imagine they have many complaints. Rooms are spacious but nothing works, bath water is dirty, no fridge, no soap and everything is broken. Food is expensive and the foreign food very disappointing although the Thai food was good. We were supposed to stay two nights but ended up only staying one. This is a 500 bht a night hotel at best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam56783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were a bit worried by some of the reviews for this place. FIrstly the location is amazing and it is a beautiful hotel. It's not pristine but it is in the jungle and made of bamboo generally so if you want somewhere flawless and spotless you probably shoudnt be staying in the jungle.

The pool is beautiful and the restaurant location is great.

But the service is all just a bit rubbish. There are quite a few things that cropped up when we were there which individually were no problem but overall left you with a bit of a feeling that the owners don't know what a gem they have and how nice they could make it. The spa is pretty pricey too for Thailand. It shares a driveway pretty much with Antalya lodge so if you want to stay in that area - take your pick.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of nights during it CEI trip. If you like mountains and nature you will love the Location and the view. However, do not expect much from the hotel itself. It is pretty basic and even run down in parts.
Service was ok, food was max average but rather pricey.
We would not return, but rather go for another option maybe private room where you would not expect that much to begin with.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paeddelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is our second visit to the resort and we do not regret. Many of the reviews Are correct when they state that the place has seen better days. The weather and nature takes a toll on such infrastructure .Nevertheless the location is spectacular and this resort is unique. We took advantage of low season rates and stayed at the pool villa. Not much more expensive but with privacy ,a larger room and a fantastic location and View and private infinity edge pool. If like me you are tired of holiday inns and the usual Corporate hotels This is the place for a unique experience. Even during the rainy season we managed to get quite good weather and the peace and quiet of a resort that was far from full. The upper part of the hotel will be closed and leased as a yoga resort. This resort is for those that can overlook a few imperfections for the general uniqueness of being Fully immersed in northern Thailand and the Bush.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Innessant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is advertised as an eco friendly 4 star hotel in a peaceful remote location. Unfortunately that is not what we experienced and luckily we only stayed here for two nights.
The hotel is in a lovely location with stunning views but that is all it has - the maintenance is very poor and the place is dilapidated looking. The hotel is not new but it looks unfinished i.e. the conference area has bits of building equipment lying around, we passed an open shed in the gardens with broken bits in it and our balcony overlooked an old shed with broken furniture piled into it etc.
If you have any difficulty with stairs or have small children this is not the place for you. The steps are steep and the balconies are very low.
In our room the safety deposit box was broken, the phone didn't work, the toilet seat could swivel to a 45 degree angle and the blue bath robes were badly stained, frayed and old looking.
We did not see anything remotely eco friendly about the hotel.
We were allocated a bamboo 'cottage' room 403. These are not actually cottages as they are built in a staggered fashion one on top of the other. When we arrived I decided to go for a swim but when I discovered there were so many children at the pool I changed my mind. I was surprised at the number of children. The room above us (402) was noisy that night and it wasn't until the next day that we discovered that the hotel was running a kids camp and the children were sleeping on mattresses on the floor in the room above us. I don't know why we were allocated a room below the kids camp as the hotel did not appear to be full. We were not told that there was a children's' camp when we were booking nor is this mentioned in the brochure.
I decided to visit the spa on my second day but was disappointed to find that the treatment I selected from the hotel brochure was not available.
The food was overpriced and not good - this is the first time we ever sent a dinner back as it was so bad. The hotel owner seems to have 4 dogs, we saw three - one very large dog and two wire haired terriers. As we sat on the hotel balcony for dinner the hotel owners' dogs wandered around. The large dog stopped between our table and the next and did a large 'pee'. A few seconds later one of the wire haired dogs came along and decided to drink it! We like dogs but this is not suitable for a hotel restaurant and would certainly put anyone off dinner.
I agree with a previous tripadvisor reviewer who referred to the place as an ovepriced dump. You are stranded there and have no choice but to pay their prices. The services manager was not in the least helpful and she just said sorry when we pointed out the broken equipment in our room - nothing was done.
In my opinion that this is definitely not a four star experience and the hotel is only getting customers based on its location. We saw other lovely hotels in the mountains so my advice is - look elsewhere and don't waste your time or money going here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you do one thing before you book a few days at this run down dump of a hotel do yourself a favour and read the review by Mends.( I wish I had) We stayed for only 2 days of the 4 days we booked and that was 2 days to long.
The lady running this hole is called Ay, and be warned she will rip you off for everything she can (food, drinks, transport and accomodation).
The room we were given was not the one we paid for, the meal at nearly 500baht a plate was the size of a 120baht meal in town, the taxi to town she tried to charge us 2000baht for (we asked the girl at reception who arranged the same trip in 2 seconds for 1000baht)
She would not rent us a car or motorbike because it had rained the night before????
Noisy airconditioning - we had to turn it off.
Cafe - what a joke, first you have to find Ay who then arranges for somebody to make you a coffee. I just hope thats all you want because thats all there is.
Bar - what a joke, first you have to find Ay who then arranges for somebody to get you a drink.
Library - This room is filthy and honestly looks like it was last used about 20 years ago.
Taxi - All day taxi from this hotel 4800baht, all day taxi arranged in town 2400baht.
I could go on and on but I won't.

Room Tip: Make sure you see your room before you pay anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Partialgraynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chan
11.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
5.3 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#26 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#38 of 108 in Chiang Rai
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
21.1 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
826 reviews
16.9 mi away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort

Address: 142 Moo 8, Ban Mae Salong Nok | Si Kham Subdistrict, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mae Chan
Price Range: $91 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close by but a world away, Phu Chaisai is the iconic Northern Thailand destination resort and one of the first boutique resorts of Thailand and first to incorporate lifestyle and wellness into the holiday experience; For example, yoga and organically grown produce. Set among 500 hectare of unspoiled and lush subtropical mountain forest, peace and tranquility await you at Phu Chaisai. Choose from four room categories: bamboo cottages, mountain cottages, authentic Thai wooden houses, and grande deluxe cottages. All lodging incorporates natural building materials like bamboo and leaf covered roofs to blend into the natural surroundings. There are over sixty seasonal activities and excursions available, from trekking and horseback riding to mediation and yoga. Phu Chaisai is noted for its gentle Northern Thai hospitality, authentic regional Thai cuisine and open-air spa, which offers exceptional value as well as highly skilled therapists. Phu Chaisai is a perfect destination for travelers seeking tranquility and self discovery as part of a fun and enjoyable holiday. At Phu Chaisai you will discover there is no television in our rooms. You may also discover yourself. Phu Chaisai: because sometimes it’s about how you feel in a place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Chaisai Mountain Hotel Mae Chan
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Phu Chaisai Mountain
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort Thailand/Chiang Rai Province, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing