We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mae Chan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent two nights at the Phu Chasai resort. I had booked us there because of the advertised scenery and tranquility and: they allowed me to bring my Yorkie along! We were not disappointed: the resort and surrounding area are simply amazing and breathtaking! If you want to get away from daily hectic moden life, this is the place to go. The facebook addicts still have internet available, but there are no TVs (with all their meaningless blabbering programs) .... giving you the opportunity to relax and just enjoy life itself for a change.
The staff's friendliness and attention does exceed the already high standards set by the wonderful people of Thailand. The GM, Steven, made sure himself, that my special needs were met (for example: treating me to some "cold stress relief beer" upon arrival, after I had gotten lost on the way to resort and subsequently drove around without a clue at night for some time).
Even my little Yorkie had a wondeful time: there were new doggie friends to be met, so many new places and smells to be explored and she enjoyed the spacious room with patio as much as we did.
It is a wonderful place and now, that I know how to find it right away, I am certainly looking forward to my next visit!
My "kob khun mak krup" to the entire staff!

Rudi, Joy & Sophie

PS: I did not give a 5 star rating (liked to give a 4 and 1/2) due to the fact that price of hotel, restaurant and spa is comparable to "western" resorts. I have travelled some in Thailand and surrounding countries to know that upscale hotels and resorts, like this one, do command such prices. I have not yet stayed at "cheaper" places that are available, so I can't really compare the service. As "buyer" one always likes to pay less, if possible, right? Either way, I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudi_kleinle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    74
    20
    15
    13
See reviews for
47
105
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

After 4 hectic days in Chiang Mai, we had the most wonderfully relaxing 3 nights at Phu Chaisai. Set on a bamboo forested hill, the views are wonderful. We didn't do much, just some walks round the estate and chilling out in our pool villa which was idyllic. We chose a Baan Thai pool villa for the sunset views, and loved it. Large room, with all the facilities - fridge, coffee making stuff, plus two person marble bath overlooking the pool.. And free Wifi. We also had a tv but we didn't feel the need to turn it on. The best thing was the private infinity pool. These villas are a 10 min uphill walk from the reception and restaurant, but if you don't feel like walking they will collect and deliver you by car.
Stephen the manager is a foodie and we thoroughly enjoyed his recommendations on local wild boar curry, mushroom salads and pork omelet. Most of the food is organic & locally produced and we found it all delicious, inc the breakfast coffee!
Best time of year to visit is the cool season Nov to April. It is especially green after the rains end of November, and there were lots of butterflies.
If you are driving from Chiang Mai, I would recommend taking the longer scenic route Rt 107 via Fang and Tha Ton. Takes about 5 hours but the scenery is wonderful. En route recommend a coffee stop at Doh Kham Royal Project cafe about 11/2 hours out of CM. Lovely arabica cappuccino and clean loos.

Room Tip: For Honeymooners and Romantics, recommend the Baan Thai Pool villas with sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear XXXAsia

I am so happy to you enjoyed your holiday with us here in Chiang Rai. The staff and I enjoyed being your host and they send you their regards. Next time you visit I will take you to Lake Mae Suai for some fresh lake fish and then to Doi Mae Salong for some Yunan tea leaf salad. We can eat our way across the Golden Triangle (lol)

Fond regards from Phu Chaisai,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very special place located in a sea of green. The view from the room is spectacular. Once you are there and you realise how far it is to the nearest shop... you don't miss it at all. The scenic landscape, garden, modest architecture make the place. AND FIRST I SHALL MENTION great, dedicated, carrying PEOPLE that work here with such an enthusiasm.

The food is very good, in particular breakfasts. Those crazy for organics shall feel like home. 99% of food served is local. If you are not lazy you may find garden when greens come from.

Really nice swimming pool and spa.

Regaring expensiveness: generally it is ok but if you want to try "this and that" the bill may surprise you.

STAY HERE AND YOU SHALL NOT REGRET.

Room Tip: all are fine but use it properly: take a look at stars in the middle of the night from your terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaszNowakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location overall. The pool villa was overlooking Mae Salong Valley and sunset from the swimming pool was gorgeous. Great breakfast. Thai food OK, but again great sightseeing from the restaurant. This is a Green Hotel in a large property. Certain things may be a bit simple, but fully respect the environment. Do not go there expecting a luxurious place, but the emphasis is elsewhere. You go there for the nature and what it has best to offer in a very accessible way. This is the value of Phu Chaisai. And last but not least, as in most places in Thailand the staff is very friendly and efficient attending promptly any request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GIACO51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We loved this place. It is in the middle of nowhere and we had got there by bicycle (needless to say we were shattered). Our room had a mountain view and was beautiful. Place has a really good vibe and we could have stayed another day. Restaurant over looks the mountain and a large fish pond with noisy bullfrogs. Food was good and we spent a very comfortable hour in the bar area.
We left the shutters open overnight and woke to the amazing view. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

High up in the foothills, a quiet enclave of peace, eager staff keen to please, over 500 hectare to explore, pleasant accommodation though a little more attention to detail is needed, wifi works well, restaurant is fine but not outstanding.
Restaurant coffee was dreadful, the days of stewed cona coffee should be long gone but not here!!!

Room Tip: Further away from reception you move into the forest so to speak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Maxsamba

Thank you for being our guests and for your kind comments about our friendly staff and the peaceful beauty of our estate. I am terribly disappointed you did not enjoy our organic Chiang Rai Arabica coffee, which has won several cupping championships in Asia, Scandinavia, and the EU. There is no excuse if we failed to make a good cup for you with the quality of beans we have here in Chiang Rai Thailand. Please do email me with details of what you mean by “the days of Cona Coffee” so I can understand how we failed to maintain our coffee standard; our coffee and espresso is brewed from freshly ground beans, we do not use a specialty Cona brand glass vacuum filter coffee maker. Thank you in advance for taking time to write; I hope you will visit Phu Chaisai again and let me make you a perfect cup of coffee or espresso and, if you have time, take you to the farm where the beans are grown, aged and roasted.

Best regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The property is impressive with its size; stunning view but the major disappointment was its condition.

It was lovely that they gave me an free upgrade from "Executive Suit" to "Thai Pool Villa". I understand the room was trying to imitate the life style of tribal people. My first impression about this room was the lighting; it's a bit dark, there weren't enough light in the room at all. The room was also a bit stuffy; had to open all the window and door to let the air flow for a while. But the view was really cool, the pool villa facing the west - perfect to soak yourself in the pool watching sunset before dinner!

Over all condition of the room; I can spot dust and spider web all around the room. Apart from that there were some needle's heads sticking out of the wooden floor. This is quite dangerous! (I informed the GM and he said he would take a look at it; the change of the season could make wood shrink or expand.)

During my stay, I had problem with the water in the room. When I turn the tab at the bath tub, I notice the water was brownish; there were some black debris (soil, grass and leaves) coming out. I let the water running for a couple min but the debris kept coming out. Later on we discovered that it was not only happening at the bath tub but the same thing happened at all tab!!! Sink, Shower or Loo!!!! The pipe broke some where outside the villa; and the debris contaminate the water system. Good thing though, as soon as I called the reception, they send people to take fix right away. (it was at 10PM!!!!)

Apart from the beautiful view; what I like most from this hotel is the friendliness of the staff - they were all really caring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supaphon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Khun Supaphon J

Thank you for your review of Phu Chaisai on Trip Advisor. I am happy you enjoyed your house’s infinity pool and the beautiful mountain views. I passed your compliments on to our staff; it makes them happy to know you noticed and appreciated their efforts to serve you.

Thank you also for calling to my attention the nail heads in your floor. I inspected the floor with our carpenter and we will replace the traditional square head nail with screws, which should solve the problem.

I am very sorry about the burst water pipe but I am happy we were able to repair it immediately so you could enjoy your house during the duration of your stay.

The Thai Lana style wood house you stayed in does have only few windows, as that was the style of its era. I regret you found it too dark. Spider webs, well there is no excuse for that and our housekeeping staff have already heard about it from me.

I thank you for your feedback and for choosing Phu Chaisai Resort for your holiday. It was truly a pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chan
11.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
5.3 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#24 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
20.2 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.1 mi away
Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 142 Moo 8, Ban Mae Salong Nok | Si Kham Subdistrict, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mae Chan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close by but a world away, Phu Chaisai is the iconic Northern Thailand destination resort and one of the first boutique resorts of Thailand and first to incorporate lifestyle and wellness into the holiday experience; For example, yoga and organically grown produce. Set among 500 hectare of unspoiled and lush subtropical mountain forest, peace and tranquility await you at Phu Chaisai. Choose from four room categories: bamboo cottages, mountain cottages, authentic Thai wooden houses, and grande deluxe cottages. All lodging incorporates natural building materials like bamboo and leaf covered roofs to blend into the natural surroundings. There are over sixty seasonal activities and excursions available, from trekking and horseback riding to mediation and yoga. Phu Chaisai is noted for its gentle Northern Thai hospitality, authentic regional Thai cuisine and open-air spa, which offers exceptional value as well as highly skilled therapists. Phu Chaisai is a perfect destination for travelers seeking tranquility and self discovery as part of a fun and enjoyable holiday. At Phu Chaisai you will discover there is no television in our rooms. You may also discover yourself. Phu Chaisai: because sometimes it’s about how you feel in a place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Chaisai Mountain Hotel Mae Chan
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Phu Chaisai Mountain
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa Thailand/Chiang Rai Province, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing