We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway for the family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mae Chan
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“Perfect Getaway for the family.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Brought the wife and daughter for a holiday treat. Great location, set in the lush and idyllic rice fields of Mae Chan. Romantic is the first word that comes to mind about the place. Rooms were spacious and well laid out, the staff ever present and helpful at all hours. Food at the restaurant was top notch, coupled with the view that accompanies your meal. The Manee Dheva Resort is on top of the list for us when we take our next road trip north again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruffneckalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    43
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
150
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Actually I booked for Twin Bedroom but I was offered an upgrade to Double Bedroom which is great!. Room size is big enough for 2 big guys like us. There are greenery fields around the resort, very impressive! Good breakfast (American and Thai style with local fruits, I love both ^^). The owner, Mr Francis is very kindness and friendly to us.

The resort is quite far from the main road but yeah not too far from Doi Maesalong and Doi Tung if you planned to go there.
As the resort already mentioned that there might be some bugs/insects in the room so it's acceptable for me because this resort is so close to nature so it's not a big deal to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights.

Pros:

- Fantastic location, in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by ricefields and lovely sceneries
- Nicely appointed rooms, big, quiet and relaxing
- Excellent food
- Lovely atmosphere

Contras:

- Pool facilities: missing
- Transporation fee: too expensive
- Internet: never managed to get connected once in 3 days, connection unstable 99% of the time

As this is a newly created resort, a lot of improvements are yet to be brought.

Some examples:

- Staff: local friendly people, need to be trained in order to assist the customers more proactively, more staff should be allocated at the restaurant area.
- Cleanliness: pool should be cleaned on a daily basis, same goes for room bathroom (open-air, full of insects)
- SPA: atmosphere is poor, same as for the facilities.
- Facilities should be reviewed and optimized (pool, bar area, internet access, insect prevention)

Overall had a pleasant stay and would return upon improvment of the above points.

Owner was very friendly and did everything he could to make our stay more enjoyable and apologized for what was missing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManeeDheva, General Manager at Manee Dheva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for this review, your appreciation of our outstanding location and atmosphere, and your encouragement to improve several points in our service and facilities.
We value your comments, and take them in serious consideration. In particular :
- We have already recruited additional staff for the restaurant and bar service ;
- The internet system has been modified and upgraded, in order to prevent the unfortunate connection interruptions experienced during your stay ;
- The swimming pool condition is being monitored on a daily basis, and our guests are having a great time "swimming in the sky".
Be sure we are working on permanently beautifying our new facilities and services, as we aim at offering our visitors the most enjoyable stay and an amazing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Manee Dheva Resort is about 45 minutes from Chiang Rai and a 15 minutes drive from the closest town, Mae Chan. The setting of the resort is very romantic in a valley, in between the rice fields, a small river and the road from Mae Chan to Doi Mae Salong. The resort had recently opened its doors, so we were the only guests for most of our 5 nights stay.
We had our own private bungalow with a beautiful view on the river, the rice fields and the mountains. During the day it was quiet and peaceful. At nights 'our' house gecko tried to keep us out of our sleeps, but as the bed was one of the best we have ever slept in, it was in vain. Sitting on our own secluded porch was amazingly relaxing.
On our first evening there was a serious power failure due to harsh thunderstoms and rain. Completely in the dark, the staff arranged (and facing the elements) a beautiful and most romantic candlelight dinner in our villa. The food in the restaurant was delicious, the wine was affordable, but breakfast was too limited in choice and the provisioning was rather poor. No toast for breakfast? Only fried eggs? No black tea?
Although the staff were sweet and very friendly and arranged some interesting trips for us, they were quite unhandy and not prepared for the service you may expect of a 4-star resort. That was sometimes really annoying and such a pity.
Yes it is true: they opened up just a few months ago. So with some good and personal coaching of the staff, a prompt tidying up of the swimming pool and the general used areas and the proper food in stock, the Manee Deva Resort has the potential to become an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnoushkaJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManeeDheva, General Manager at Manee Dheva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, and for your beautiful description of Manee Dheva's setting and premises !
We were honored and delighted to have your kind company for 6 days, and tried our best to make your stay with us as pleasant and comfortable as possible, even in challenging circumstances from Mother Nature as you justly described !
We thank you for your comments, and take good note. In particular, the variety of our breakfasts has been improved, and the frequency of our supplies increased so as to provide our guests at all times with a large choice of Northern, popular Thai and Western dishes.
Our staff is committed and constantly made aware of the care and wellness of our guests. We mostly employ local people selected from the neighboring villages, who certainly did not follow the standardized training of large hospitality institutions, but have the positive, spontaneous attitude and willingness to serve and please our visitors. Daily training and growing experience are gradually providing them with the skills necessary to reach excellence in hospitality service.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you at Manee Dheva, and heartfully share with you some other of the wonders this beautiful region offers !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Manee Dheva Resort gave me the precious and unforgettable memories of Holiday, Itis like a wonderful moment once of my life to get the opportunity to experience the feeling of Relaxing and the warmth deeply inside in northern Thailand. Last time my girlfriend and I had really great time in the place, We spent time here just only a night,it's very short time to stay, but great Impression is still there forever and ever, Because the place is very charming in its style such as mewly style or design of the room, good food soft bed clean toilette beautful surroundings and especially power of spirit of exclusive service and hostpitalty of people. Everything there made me all the time think of coming back to the place. We really enjoyed every moment here very charming and facinating nature mountaineous area, surrounded by beutiful rice field, which made me feel home and the good time with my girlfriend. We will be back soon!!! Thank you mr. Francis for taking care of us as your best person and family.

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderful and you just relax, feel the nature surrounding and keep good memories insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phasakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Time to sit back and relax in the beautiful valley in Mae Salong, Chiang Rai. We were trully amazed by the fantastic, stylish resort in the middle of the rice fields. The food at the restaurant was some of the best I have ever had in thailand. The villa was beautiful, private, lots of glass windows to view the rice fields, the rain shower in the room had lots of water pressure! The staff were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PakinPakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Amazingly stay indeed. Great Balinese/Thai bungalow, super high ceiling plus a grand balcony. The endless padi field is definitely a best spot of this resort. I have been traveled 4 continentals and 95 major cities over the world, I would say this unique experience will be included onto my top 5 ranking.

We stayed at the deluxe linked-suites, not kidding-our opened shower place as big as a squash court. The hot tab right at the centre of the shower room, trees, essential oil, dim lights, clean moon, meditation melodies are serving you a best experience. Our room, I am not a architect, but I assume this bungalow might as high as a three floors apartment. Clean cut windows with wooden frame, super huge curtain and a spacious living area.

Now I am sitting in my office in the heart of KL, but my mind still with the smell of morning dew and mild fog over the night. It was first time of my life listen to the melodies composed by natural creatures, allowed my mind blow by the April breeze. Francis, the MD of Manee Dheva, a great helpful french handsome man made our trip complete. The only 9 bungalow, the authentic dinner and 5 cats plus white land owner - a native white dog always walk with you but keeping a distance, it made our trip unforgettable and memorable.

It's first time I found time is never enough for the stays, and we wish we could shorten our sleeping time then could maximize our time with this resort, sounds foolish but you may experience this once you be there yourself.

If I were you, I will not hesitate book this hotel right now before it revised the price. It's new, it's grand, it's peaceful, it's a place that recall your childhood dreams and spend your great life with your love ones.

If you have any question, you may just mail my personal mail to tiptopmann@ovi.com

Room Tip: Manee Dheva provided us a free hill top trip to visit the native village and you may have very very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptopmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chan
10.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
19.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
968 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
170 reviews
19.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manee Dheva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manee Dheva Resort & Spa

Property: Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Address: 352 Moo 4 | Pasang, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mae Chan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manee Dheva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manee Dheva is located in the picturesque valley of the Mae Salong river, surrounded by rice fields and mountains. The Resort includes an open-view Lanna style restaurant serving in particular delicious Northern Thai dishes, and 9 independent villas scattered along the Mae Salong river. It offers a haven of calmness and peace of mind, with the aim to give its visitors an insight into the local culture and nature, for a full Lanna experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manee Dheva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa Thailand/Chiang Rai Province, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing