We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mae Chan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2009

I love this resort, it's location and ambience especially. If you live in SE Asia the heat can get to you so the relative coolness of the hills around Chiang Rai is bliss. And the resort is just lovely. The photos on the website are just how it looks for real. Only thing is they could improve the tours they have on offer, most visitors will want to get out and about into the golden triangle etc, perhaps they could liase with a more experienced tour agency?

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mat268, General Manager at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2009

Sawasdee krab from Katiliya Mountain Resort and Spa.

Please accept our grateful thanks for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you and look foward to your return visit.

With best regards from all the team here in Chiang Rai,

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 263 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

In my time here there were very few guests. The staff went out of their way to ensure my absolute comfort. They were polite, friendly, and more than gracious and obliging at every opportunity. I hope for their sakes this hotel project succeeds,its birth pangs overcome,and it thrives into the future. They still have a long way to go.

It is very isolated. In fact it is in the middle of nowhere. Unless you have some form of transport, or have many tours planned that will exaust you, and you only want to return to the hotel to eat and sleep then its ok. If however, you bore easily this place is not for you. Unlike for example the Anantara (different location) were you can at least have more immediate access to tne nearest village, and the golden triangle itself.

The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are magnificent. The beds large and comfortable, good tv and dvd access. The high speed complimentry internet facility, is also a big plus and appreciated. Very nice pool area, but no pool umbrella's. Poor. Even for a start up hotel this is not acceptable.

The hotel spa facility was good and I would return again just to experience the services of Kuhn Serm the resident massuer. Believe me worth it for him alone, but- the hotel is not the best value for money, given its isolation,and very ordinary service levels

I could have got a similiar package in the Meridian in Chiang Rai itself, or the Anantara at the golden triangle for in and around the same price, I just pose the question, what added value,(other than a larger room) does the katiliya offer its guests over these other properties that justifies their cost base?. When it truly becomes a 5 star property, perhaps the pricing can be justified. However its still a bit to go in becoming that. I hope it gets it right in small ways. Again I had to make a point to the staff that I objected to paying for bottled water in a restaurant that was given free in my room or at the pool, then becoming a chargable item at dinner. The matter was dealt with when mentioned, but the impression of an attempted "rip off" had still been created in my mind. It was the same last year during my stay in the anantara. You do not charge for drinking water in 5 star hotels, FULL STOP

As said at the beginning I hope this hotel succeeds, I personally liked the isolated location and the wonderful rooms, and I will most likely return if it becomes that little bit more competitive on price with the other top hotels in the region

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mat268, General Manager at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2009

Thank you Mr. Tyrell for your message here on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you stay at the resort and the comments are much appreciated. The question of drinking water has addressed so to the lack of the 'designer' umbrellas which unfortunately were not delivered in time for the Songkran Holiday from Bangkok.

We would like to thank you very much for your comments with regards to our team here at Katiliya Mountain Resort and Spa. Adjarn Serm has been especially recognised and will be put forward for our monthly 'Employee of the Month' as a result of your message. Thank you.

The highlight of the resort is certainly the peace and quiet of the location, hence the number of repeat guests we already have and as you quite rightly point out. Chiang Rai is very lucky to be able to offer such a diversity of city hotels and resorts therefore you can certainly find somewhere to suit all tastes.

Mr. Tyrell, thank you again for taking the time to post this comment and l look foward to welcoming you back to Katiliya Mountain Resort and Spa on your next trip to Chiang Rai.

Best regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

The Katiliya is gearing itself up to be the top spa destination of Northern Thailand. At this stage the spa is not finished and there are still problems with TV and telephone lines which is why it is not being advertised in the west.

But when it does become available and you feel like a few days complete break before enjoying the historic delights of the northern Thailand capital, Chiang Mai, then Katiliya is the place.

Sumptuous apartments are dotted around the hill top setting with the reception, bar and restaurant standing at the apex like a great, open barn with a huge central fireplace. The staff are young, friendly and local although still finding their feet so some orders have to be repeated before the message gets through.

There is a first class menu of both Thai and western delights as well as a fabulous wine list and a terrific range of malt whiskies. And if you want to feel thoroughly pampered sort out a massage with Saichon Chaichana the spa manager. After an hour with her, following a long flight and a bus journey, I felt as though I had been given a new back as well as feeling more relaxed than I had been in months.

Katilya is remote but extremely well worth the visit to recharge the batteries and get over any jet lag. It would also be a fabulous place to start a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Pros - Great, friendly helpful staff, including Khun Ron, Khun Glang, Khun Bantee, Khun Chef, Khun P.K., Khun Lek and others. Outstanding location with panoramic hilltop rooms, which is pretty unique for Thailand in my experience. Very large, beautiful rooms with a great view . Delicious restaurant with an extensive menu, I would come for the food alone if staying in Chiang Rai area. Many interesting cultural and outdoor activities in the area. Golf at Santiburi was great.

Cons - We were the very first guests at the resort, it is still finalizing many details, it should be close to 100% by January 1, 2009. The resort is about 40 minutes from Chiang Rai, if you want a quiet serene setting, this is the place, if you like more action, its a long drive to town.

Summary:
My wife and I were the very first guests at this newly opened resort. As we drove up to the entrance there was still a fair amount of construction activity taking place. We were a little afraid of what we would find inside. Wow, we were very pleasantly surprised. We were met by very friendly and cordial staff, even by Thailand standards. The facility is first class. The lobby has extensive beautiful stone work, with a huge stone fireplace as the centerpiece. It was like Banff Springs hotel meets Thailand. We enjoyed a nice conversation in with hot coffee and dessert in front of a roaring fire (its cool in the mountains in winter here) with Khun Ron, the GM of the resort.

Khun P.K., our butler for the stay, took as past a beautiful pool, cabana, very large jacuzzi and through lush garden and much more of the generous stone work. Khun P.K. didn't blink an eye when my wife jokingly asked if he would hold her towel for her 3 a.m. swim. I was impressed.

Our room was huge, the bed huge, the bathroom huge, flat screen TV huge, the terrace over looking a green mountain valley, again huge. It was all well decorated and every detail was taken care of. We could have spent long hours staying in our room and on the terrace. While we didn't spend too much time in our room, we did enjoy a nice hour long Thai foot massage with Khun Pim and her assistant on our terrace, after playing golf at challenging but fun Santiburi golf club (shot 96 still had a great day).

The restaurant was outstanding. I figured they would not be able to support such an outstanding variety of dishes, being their only guests the first night. Both nights they had were able to have exactly what we ordered and the dinners were outstanding. Khun Chef prepared delicious western food ( we had angus steak, grilled tiger prawns, minestrone, pizza, fresh baked bread, etc.) We live in Thailand so we passed on the Thai menu, but my guess is that it will be delicious as well.

The resort is still work in progress on many details, such as finishing up some of the units. That looks to be done before the new year and I expect to find it even more impressive when I return soon. All in all, it was one of my favorite experiences (the people at Katiliya made it so) in many travels. It will be the premier destination in Chiang Rai/ Golden Triangle and while not inexpensive, well worth the money.

Sorry, I haven't had a chance to down load the photos yet, but their website photos are an accurate depiction. Yes the bedroom is as big as it looks in the photo.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Boelkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mat268, General Manager at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2009

Sawasdee krab from Katiliya Mountain Resort and Spa.

I thought that l would introduce myself as the new General Manager here in the Resort. It truely is a beautiful resort, and totally agree with your comments. Must admit l read tripadvisor.com comments before making the decision to join!

The resort is looking greener by the day; the spa, pool bar and meeting rooms are on line within the next week or so! The guestrooms are now finished and boasting the largest guestrooms here in Chiang Rai.

We do hope that we have teh chance to welcome you back soon to the resort and enjoy the full services and relaxation here up in the hills of Chiang Rai.

Best regards
Matthew Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que soliciten villas próximas al hall
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MadridRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Taku-granma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Owner at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank PAU2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katiliya Mounta... C, Sales and Marketing Manager at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chan
0.1 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
20.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
11.1 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#26 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#38 of 108 in Chiang Rai
7 reviews
21 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 388/1 Moo 4 | Pa Sang, Mae Chan, ChiangRai, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mae Chan
Price Range: $98 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrouded in mist at the gates of the fabled Golden Triangle, Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa brings contemporary luxury to a land steeped in lore. Situated in Thailand's northern-most province, Chiang Rai, Conveniently equidistant between the city of Chiang Rai, Mae Sai, Doi Tung and Doi Mae Salong, just 35 Kms. from Chaing Rai airport and the Golden Triangle where Myanmar, Laos and Thailand converge. KATILIYA, is an all-suite luxury resort in Chiang Rai. Nestled on the top of the mountain KATILIYA retreat said to be the only all suite resort here in Chiang Rai , boasts over 90 - 175 sqm of living space in each suite, with panoramic views across the valleys enhanced by the peace and quiet. Distance From /to ChiangRai Airport & City. : 35 Kms. Mae sai (Burma-Thai border) : 30 Kms. Golden Triangle : 45 Kms. Amenities include on site restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, outdoor swimming pool and kids pool and free wifi in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katiliya Mountain Hotel Mae Chan
Katiliya Mountain Resort And Spa
Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa Thailand/Chiang Rai Province, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing