We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visually Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mae Chan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

As a family of 4 we recently spent 3 nights at the Katiliya in late December. Check-in was relatively smooth however there was some confusion about bedding for the children and our 6 year old had to share with us and my 10 year old slept on the converted but comfortable day bed. The room itself (Superior Suite) was large and had the biggest King bed I have ever seen. The room was impeccably clean and very tastefully decorated in subtle Lanna style with a massive bathroom fit for royalty, although the best part of the room was the balcony and views of the misty mountains in the distance where we saw many spectacular sunsets.

The hotel grounds and pool areas were beautiful with lots of Thai and Lanna features. The restaurant, bar and lobby areas were stunning also tastefully decorated in Lanna style with magnificent artworks. It’s a shame the heated spa is only mildly tepid.

The food was probably the biggest let down, the local dishes were good however the Western meat dishes were pretty bad and expensive. (pasta and pizza were fine). Alcohol was also very expensive but they did run some good happy hour specials between 5pm – 7pm.

The Staff are warm, friendly and helpful and English was widely spoken. Day trips can be arranged with or without tour guide. We rented a van with driver for 2000 baht for a full day and visited Doi Tung, Mae Sai and the Golden triangle area, all worthy places to see. A taxi to Chiang Rai airport will cost you around 500 baht, which is cheaper than the hotel’s van.

I think with a few minor improvements the Katiliya could be a bona-fide 5 star property and I hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms facing west and on higher levels offer great views of misty mountains and spectacular sunsets
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 251 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed from January 01 until January 03, 2014.

Our room was very spacious and provided just a breath-taking view of the wild landscape.

The staff was very friendly, but I expect that not only staff at the reception speak and understand English, but as well the rest of the staff who has client contact.

The Thaifood (even though they offer as well Western Food, but hey I'm here for Thai food) was absolutely delicious!!! I just could not get enough from it, just wonderful!!!

All in all we enjoyed our two nights at the Katiliya a lot. I had here as well babysitting services for my 21 month old toddler girl. They even have a kid's hut with lots of toys in it. They took great care of my daughter.

The Katiliya is great if you are looking for absolute tranquility (e.g. if you want to write a book, etc.) with a fantastic view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

In a nut shell:
Stay here for modern amenities and reasonable priced rooms. But be prepared to leave grounds in hotel shuttle if you want the best food, massages etc that area has to offer. Hotel itself is nice with great views, but corner cutting (eg the 'warm' jacuzzi) doesn't warrant a staycation. We will stay elsewhere on our next rodeo.


Pros:
Super friendly staff. Typical of our trip they were friendly and gave 110%. We loved restaurant manager, evening front desk and general staff.
Great views. Fog rolling in the morning is beautiful.
Modern facilities
Reasonable wifi connections.
Big, clean rooms
Big lobby

Cons:
Restaurant has a bigger Western menu than Thai menu. The food was not the best we had (not close) despite Western pricing (which is high for the area). We dined at another resort and found the food to be much better and cheaper.

Jacuzzi does not get hot. Should be called a heated pool. And heated pool should just be called pool. I assume this is to save money.

Hotel pushes their transfer service over local taxi service. We would have preferred to hire taxi take us everywhere and wait for us, vs calling hotel all the time.

Massage service was weak by Thai standards. This struck me as a relaxing "resort" massage that ranked as the most expensive I took in Thailand, and lowest quality.

Rooms get chilly in the mountains and need heaters. Pack sweaters/fleeces!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tobywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spacious modern clean room with noce hardwood flopr, big bathroom, large patio and beautiful view over jungle covered hills and distant mountains. Well functioning mosquito net screen door so room is free from bugs. Staff friendly and attentive, but few speak english. Good thai food; During four days I tried almost entire menu and found many northern thai specialties. I did not bother to try the western menu, nor drink wine, even though they had a moet chandon from eternay in australia :-)
nice breakfast with many asian specialties and truly boring western style baked goods but nice selection of fresh food.
hotel has vegetable garden on a hill across the lake, so salad and hebs is absolutely fresh.
surprisingly few guests, which I think is great.
almost fell of the patio, as the wooden fence was so weak it was covered with fungi.
great place to relax big time, but so remote that it is not for people who like to nip out for a meal in town.
good and fairly priced (2000 baht) thai masssage in spa.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank OleTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent two nights at Katiliya on a recent trip to SE Asia. We were pretty disappointed.

First of all, the hotel/resort is very attractive and set in a very pretty, albeit remote, location. Our room was lovely, with a HUGE bathroom and large open air porch overlooking the hillside. Unfortunately, that is where the positive aspects of our stay ended.

Since the hotel is very far from anything, one is precluded from "running into town" for dinner. (We usually prefer little ethnic spots to hotel dining.) Therefore, we had dinners at the hotel. The food was marginal, at best. My satay was very dry; my husband's $50 steak was very chewy; the other dinner was forgettable! Breakfasts, which were included in the price, were not much better. My husband ordered an over easy egg and received a scrambled one. My omlette with ham and cheese arrived without ham and with bacon. And there were only two other couples staying there while we were there, so these issues were not because of the crowds.

Very few people spoke even passable English, so it was difficult to communicate with the staff. We had $60 (each) Thai massages and I kept saying to the masseuse, "Lighter please!" and she smiled and continued with all the strength she had!

And we didn't experience the service orientation that we found at other Thai hotels, most of which were much less expensive than Katiliya. Rather than walking back to our room after dinner at night, we requested a ride on the hilly path in one of the golf carts that were sitting outside the reception area. I felt that we were really asking for the moon!

It appeared that the hotel was training in new staff as the season began. Most people gave us blank looks at our questions and had to ask a manager for the answers.

But the oddest experience happened on our first evening. My husband sat on the bed with a glass of wine to read a little before dinner. The bedside table was not quite positioned correctly so he went to move it and all of a sudden, it fell off the bedside table that was under it! Clearly the original table was too low so a second table was placed on top of it!

Anyway, for our money, I wish we would have stayed at one of the other hotels/resorts in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sallie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

All, from A to Z, was great with my stay at that wonderful, out of line, property! All suites, great view from each point on the premises... nestled on the top of a mountain, and indeed the greatest pizza I've ever had in my life! Big credit to the management for running it in such an efficient way.

Room Tip: ASk for a suite in a building closer to reception if you're not a good walker, as the whole area...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our second time to stay in this hotel. The reason to comback are the room and the staffs. The room is at least 90 sqm. clean, large bed, very comfortable for our family (2 kids). The view from the room is fantastic, you will relax with the green of the mountain and the mist among the trees is the unforgotable scenery esp. in rainy season. Not much activities in the hotel don't expect just relax with a good book and recharge your battery.

The staffs are friendly and service minded. All additional requests were prepare and quick delivery to the room. Will go back there again whenever visit Chiang Rai.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for the amazing view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panpim_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katiliya Mounta... C, General Manager at Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

May I take this opportunity to personally thank you for staying at our resort during
your recent visit to Doi Mae Salong, Mae Chan.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and kind compliment about the Katiliya.
Your comments and suggestions will allow us the opportunity to continuously improve,
where necessary, in order to serve you and our other guests better in the future.
Our staff are delighted to hear your positive comment about them.

All of us here at the Katiliya hope that you have enjoyed your holiday
with us, despite the minor inconveniences, and will give us a second try.

Warm regards,
Nopporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chan
11.1 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.1 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
20.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
1,006 reviews
21.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
753 reviews
5.4 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#25 of 109 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 388/1 Moo 4 | Pa Sang, Mae Chan, ChiangRai, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mae Chan
Price Range: $84 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrouded in mist at the gates of the fabled Golden Triangle, Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa brings contemporary luxury to a land steeped in lore. Situated in Thailand's northern-most province, Chiang Rai, Conveniently equidistant between the city of Chiang Rai, Mae Sai, Doi Tung and Doi Mae Salong, just 35 Kms. from Chaing Rai airport and the Golden Triangle where Myanmar, Laos and Thailand converge. KATILIYA, is an all-suite luxury resort in Chiang Rai. Nestled on the top of the mountain KATILIYA retreat said to be the only all suite resort here in Chiang Rai , boasts over 90 - 175 sqm of living space in each suite, with panoramic views across the valleys enhanced by the peace and quiet. Distance From /to ChiangRai Airport & City. : 35 Kms. Mae sai (Burma-Thai border) : 30 Kms. Golden Triangle : 45 Kms. Amenities include on site restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, outdoor swimming pool and kids pool and free wifi in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katiliya Mountain Hotel Mae Chan
Katiliya Mountain Resort And Spa
Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa Thailand/Chiang Rai Province, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing