We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
215
105
32
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
215
105
32
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chiang rai mountain resort golf cart main lobby rooms are huge heated jacuzzi western food tea plantation beautiful place incredible views large balcony our night stay take advantage mountain side suite spa thailand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 363 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We found ourselves booked into Katiliya when we bought a two night mystery Wotif deal. We did not know what to expect, but were beyond thrilled with what we got! It was the highlight of our 12 day trip to Thailand.

Unfortunately getting there was a bit of a problem, as we found ourselves stranded at the Mae Sai bus depot where the resort staff had told us to go. Once we got there, no-one had heard of the resort and it was 9PM. Finally a shop owner took pity on us and took us to his home to use the internet to look it up. He then insisted that a reluctant driver take us there for 1000 Baht). It would have been much easier to just get a ride from Chiang Mai instead.

But once finally there, all was forgiven. The lovely staff escorted us to our king deluxe suite and were enchanted.The room was huge, immaculate, and well decorated with absolutely gorgeous views over the mountains.

The rest of the resort had a very calm and peaceful feeling, and we found ourselves whispering just to blend in. The food in the restaurant, free buffet breakfast and dinner, was acceptable, but not great. But given their remote location, and small number of guests while we were there, this can be understood. Dinner was reasonably priced which was nice.

The pool was large enough for us to lap swim which is a big bonus for a hotel pool. The free pool toys and floating lounges were a nice touch.

We were able to follow paths from our room take a run each day. The resort is also within walking distance of tribes at the top of the hill. This had the great benefit of being able to experience the real culture and not having to pay for a sterile tour!

The resort was pretty empty while we were there and we worry about it's survival. It would be such a shame if they went the way of the resort nearby (which was an absolute mess, but the desk clerk handed us a brochure offering a room for $200 a night!-double what we paid for Katilya)

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights of peace, quiet and gentle luxury. Wish we had stayed longer.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyNancy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Booked two rooms in May 2012, The rooms are hugh with perfect bathroom, comfy beds and beautiful vistas from balcony. Although the staff don,t speak very good English they are very helpful and kind souls. We booked a van( hotel organised this) with driver to take us touring it was great. This is a special Hotel that you only find every now and then.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Booked two rooms here in April 2012. Hotel and grounds are beautiful and rooms as well. Rooms very large and spacious with great little surprises like the closets opening from both sides from both the bedroom and bathroom, and a spa tub, separate shower, and another shower with a rain showerhead. The hotel is made up of three story bungalows connected to another three story bungalow. We had a room in the middle level and realized later that the rooms were not all the same when we had to temporarily switch rooms later. Tip: ask for a room in the middle...more spacious bathrooms and more privacy than the top ones. Great and spacious patio area as well with a great stream/valley view. Location is very remote with no stores, etc or anything near it. 50 baht per person for hotel to take you into town. Turn on the air conditioner though and it was a great escape from the heat and humidity. Buffet breakfast was complimentary and while not extensive, was very good with hot made to order options.

Now the cons:
- Internet was free but conectivity was terrible...worse than dial up...very slow and kept dropping every couple minutes if you could even get on. Thought connecting in the lobby would be better but experienced the same problems even there. Lobby has no a/c or even fans so very stifling to sit there anyway.
- Hot water for the rain shower took five minutes to warm up each time although my parents did not have the same issue.
- Hope you don't mind little bugs and mosquitos in the room with you. My husband discovered a millipede in the bathroom on returning to our room at night by stepping on it. We later discovered 3 beetles flying around as well as mosquitos, and then he felt a small beetle in bed with him. My mom discovered a beetle everytime she took a shower...it seemed to come out of the shower head by the force of the water.
- Our first day, our electricity blew out and we were in the dark. The hotel was very nice and helped us move to the room above us which is when we realized the bathroom was smaller. On returning later, we asked to move back to our original room since the room was bigger and more privte and closer to my parents and they let us.
- Patio doors not sealed completely when locked...you can see large cracks in the frame, explaining how critters were getting in.
- While beautiful from afar, on closer look, many small cracks in the walls and in the sealant around items.
- Very nice staff and difficult to get mad at them even with all the issues we had given how softly they speak. Only one person spoke English fairly well, otherwise, they would nod but not understand what you wanted.

Would have rated it higher if not for all the little things above.

Room tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the three story bungalows. Larger bathrooms with rain shower in those than the top rooms which face the walkway and have no privacy.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M6625ZMstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The resort is a 40min drive from Chiang Rai Airport. Would recommend you book a rental in advance... Continental have a good selection of sedans you could choose from..... The drive up was smooth and the scenery was breathtaking... Good time to visit is Nov - Feb.... The resort is situated on a hill top and chalets are sprawled around the valley. The mountain suites were excellent.. perhaps the most spacious rental I have stayed in so far... It had a huge bath with a twin basin and separate rain shower.. The view was over the top.. a decent size deck with a recliner and table for 2 to enjoy an morning cuppa..Nice 40" LCD TV with DVD player. The room service was prompt. Steep climbs up and down to the reception area were tiring.. So forgetting your shades on the way to the heated pool would be a bummer. The golf carts were never available.. The breakfasts were not really great... Sausages were soggy and service at the restaurant was poor. Never really got a table with all the crockery... and had to get my own coffee.. not expected from a 5 star rated hotel. Great free wifi connectivity all over the resort. We won 2 nights free at the gala night so will definitely go back....pretty vistas all over

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I went there 4 days during the New Year's holiday. The place is amazing, secluded in the beautiful mountains near Chang Rai, Mae Sai, Golden Triangle.
The resort is beautiful, with a great fireplace in the lobby.
The view is wonderful. The rooms are so huge, well equipped and the bathrooms are ...GREAT!
WE had 2 kind of rooms: The Katilyia suite (standard), and it's was perfect, a little bit fare from the lobby and swimming pools, but with a large terrace and so quiet. There is always a golf cart coming to pick you up or dropping you off.
The second suite was near the Hot stream ( a real wonderful idea, cold and hot water swimming pool...try it!!!)and near the restaurant and lobby. If the first suite was huge the second one was...more than huge! The Bathroom was bigger than the other with also a external beautiful shower...We loved both the suites!
There are there 2 swimming pools, the first one is a large pool with a Jacuzzi space. The second one is with cold and hot steams...amazing! The restaurant is good, on a nice scenery.
The food is good. The breakfast is good , but no cheese... :(
The staff is very, very kind and helpfull!
The Spa is good too!
WE had a so pleasant time there and a funny New Year Eve with a nice party and good food and music!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterPatItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews