We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Khao Sam Roi Yot National Park
from $150.00
More Info
from $74.00
More Info
from $133.04
More Info
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
192
90
16
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
90
16
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phraya nakhon cave sam roi yot laem sala boat ride hua hin national park flip flops fishing village day trip steep climb limestone peaks wooden walkway visitor center bottle of water start early indiana jones worth every step
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 303 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

If you have the opportunity to visit Khao Sam Roi Yot you definitely have to do this.
We took the boat to the beach and climbed up one small mountain. It was very hot that day (38 degrees Celcius), but it was worth it.
I could only say one thing When we arrived in the cave and that was "WOW"

What a magnificant, breathtaking place.

A good tip as others already mentioned in their review, wear good shoes to make the climb and descent!

Date of experience: April 2016
3  Thank 268jurgenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016

Found this place based on reviews on this site and my God what a sight. We were doing a road trip from Hua Hin to Bang Saphaan and stopped off here.

Like others have said the walk can be a bit difficult but we have a 5 and 8 year old and they managed just fine. Just take your time and enjoy the views.

I would if you can recommend either getting your own driver or hiring a bike or scooter to get there so you can start the walk early. We managed to catch the light at 11 am but I would recommend starting the walk around 8.30-9am so you can catch the light just starting to the come through the top.

Plenty of restaurants and places to get a cold drink before you start at the car park. If you are fit and able than scrap the boat ride and walk over to the beach which the path starts right next to where you pay the national park fee (200 baht per adults and 100 baht per child) if you do take the boat there will be someone at the desk waiting to give you prices etc. She told us 200 baht pp return. We walked instead :)

It would be good if you could wear proper walking shoes however you will survive in sandals. Take plenty of water, sunscreen, insect repellent and we took some fresh fruit for a snack as we have small children.

When you arrive at the beach it's only a few hundred meters before you get to the next set of signs that will tell you where to go, rules and what to look out for (wildlife). We saw lizards, monkeys, tree snakes and a few local chickens oh and plenty of birds.

There are plenty of stops on the way to rest and we were told it would be a 1 hour walk but it took us almost 2 due to the kids and having lots of pit stops to rest or take photos.

This place is truly worth the travel and as a family we are very happy we got the opportunity to see such a wonderful place.

Tip: avoid mid day if you can as it can get very very hot!!! Plus if you go early you will beat the crowds.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016

A fair walk up the hillside, but worth the effort, a very memorable afternoon, one of our highlights to the trip to Hua Hin,

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016

If you are not physically fit or lazy (just like me) then you can skip the caves and mountain climbing (for the Khao Daeng Viewpoint) but you must definitely visit the lotus pond during sunset.

The temple within the cave is nothing special to us since we have lots of these in our homeland. The Khao Daeng Viewpoint is just too dangerous to get to if you are not well prepared or have no experience in rock climbing. The path is treacherous with sharp rocks and if you are not careful, you WILL DIE falling down and it's totally deserted. The halfway point which normally can see the view is covered with bushes and you have to climb to the summit which takes a total of over an hour one way. The climb down is even more dangerous because it's so steep and sometimes slippery. Don't bring sling bags (use back packs) and carry lots of water, gloves, shoes (not slippers) and mosquito repellent.

The National Park covers an area that is quite large and has some amazing beaches that needs tickets to enter (you can buy them anywhere in any entrance). Ticket prices are not expensive but if you only want to visit just one place that is the Lotus Pond, you don't need them after 5.30pm since the place will be almost deserted. The Nature Education Center of the Lotus Pond will be closed at around 5pm but you don't need to visit it, the pond is right in front of it. If you have a hard time finding this place using Google Maps just follow the same road until the end. You will pass by a large temple, after that drive about 5 minutes and you will see the pond and the entrance.

The view here is spectacular. If you come here during flowering season I would imagine it to be even more so. The sunset is amazing and it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Renting a car just for this place is worth every penny.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

Sam Roi Yot National park is a beautiful area south of Bangkok. Mountainous, tropical, and very picturesque, the area offers something for all the family. Beautiful beaches, crystal clear sea water, tropical islands, caves and mountain walks, Sam Roi Yot is a great place to visit.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Barney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews