We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best Thai Cooking Class

The Trichada Cooking class starts with a visit to the local markets to purchase your ingredients... read more

Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Reviewed 3 days ago
Marcia V
Exciting Cooking Day

The cooking class with Oui was just awesome! Oui is such a lovely person, she picked us directly at... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
IsaB1086
via mobile
Read all 190 reviews
  
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
127
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews her husband thank you so much cooking class local market delicious food chiang mai wide variety of dishes course menu outdoor kitchen thai dishes market tour lemongrass tea explained everything an excellent teacher soups curry stir fry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

The Trichada Cooking class starts with a visit to the local markets to purchase your ingredients and experience the atmosphere of a busy Thai food market. The class takes all day and I advise not to eat too much breakfast as you are eating the dishes you cook with Oui, our teacher, all day. Believe me you will be struggling to finish the last delicious meal.
The class is small and very individual instruction with a cooking book of all the recipes emailed at the end of the class so no need to take notes.
An excellent day and one of the highlights of our visit to Chiang Mai.

Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
1  Thank Marcia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The cooking class with Oui was just awesome! Oui is such a lovely person, she picked us directly at our hotel and took us to the market in Chiang Mai. There we had the chance to try a lot of local fruits and food.
Afterwards each of us picked 5 different dishes which we cooked together! Oui explained each step and what we should beware of when we want to cook it at home. As we were only 2 persons in the cooking class, it was really individual.
The food was amazingly good and we enjoyed this day a lot!

1  Thank IsaB1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

It was great, that we were only 4 people, and our "teacher" was so lovely and patient! I loved the market visit too! And the food: sooooooo delicious and since it is "granny style" REAL thai food and not some "tourists food". Would recommend this for everybody who loves food!!! In the pictures you can see only a few of the yummy dishes...

1  Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Oui is such a passionate and energetic chef which gave us many eye openers when it comes to home-cook. Thai Cuisine! Get ready to enjoy this private wet market tour and cooking class. All foods tastes so yummy!! Will definitely come again.

Thank Sylvia19HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

My boyfriend and I had an amazing day with Oui learning all about Thai cooking. We had a very interesting walk around the food market to source our ingredients then went back to her lovely home for our lesson. Oui was an incredibly knowledgeable and friendly teacher. We made an incredible selection of dishes and loved that we got to make such a selection. Everything was delicious and we have taken the recipes so we can recreate at home. Being one on one meant that we learnt a lot and could focus on our specific interests. Thanks for a great day Oui, it was lovely to cook with you especially in the setting of your lovely home and family.

Thank sarahstrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Simply put, this is an excellent cooking course!

You’ll leave with a feeling that not only have you eaten proper and possibly the best Thai food you’ve eaten, but that you cooked it yourself!

Smaller groups means you progress at your speed; you make the dishes with your tastes dictating the ingredients; and the cooking is explained to you.

The course is done in the teachers home and it’s very personal and relaxed. Because of this, you’re not pushed and told to follow the set recipe/format.

You’ll learn, leave full to the gills, and experience a really enjoyable day.

1  Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

There are so many cooking schools in Chiang Mai that it can be overwhelming and difficult to choose. If you want a more intimate experience with small class sizes (1-4, with 6 people maximum) then Trichada the Cookery Home is for you! My friend and I were Oui's only students on the day of our class, and we were delighted! Everything about this day was perfect. Oui is so friendly and knowledgeable. She made us feel comfortable and welcome in her home, where we did our cooking. The food was absolutely amazing! Take a look at the Facebook and Instagram accounts for this business; the photos speak for themselves. I highly recommend Trichada the Cookery Home!

1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Oui was not only knowledgeable but the sweetest lady! She took us to local markets to gather the items we needed for our class and then took us to her lovely home where we were welcomed by her children and Peter. She is very passionate about food and loves to teach and share her cooking with others. This was an incredible day and we will definitely be going back!

1  Thank WilliamNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Traveling through Thailand with my daughter and her college friend we spent a fabulous day with Oui and the Trichada the Cookery Home. This is a much better option than the larger classes because it is limited to 1-6 people and you get a wide variety of dishes to chose from.
It was just the three of us the day we went Oui picked us up at our hotel in the Old City at 8:30 in the morning and had us each select 5 dishes we wanted to prepare. She then took us to the market to pick up the ingredients and she took the time to explain each one and the importance to Thai flavor. She then took us to her home where she had individual cooking stations for each of us. Oui is a great cook and a wonderful teacher. I highly recommend this while in Chiang Mai!

Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

My friend and I planned 4 days stay in Chiangmai and we all wanted to try something interesting, as well as relaxing... After a discussion on a few options, we chose to experience the thai cooking class at Trichada cookery home, I knew that we had made a great decision when Oui guided us to that local market...All kinds of fresh herbs, veges, fruits, and nice dessert/ snacks Oui let us try...made us so excited...Then Oui drove us to her lovely home, where her husband Peter welcomed us with two hot drinks and started to chat with us while Oui was preparing the ingredients for our first dish, the Starter. My friend Alex chose her favorite papaya salad, and I went for spicy tomato dips, which told by Oui that it's typical Chiangmai food, couldn't wait to try...Traditional thai food can be very spicy, Oui's quite considerate to let us choose the heat scale that we are comfortable with. We enjoyed every dish after cooking, while Oui would prepare the ingredients for next dish and Peter help to do the clean up, 5 dishes each can be a bit too much for girls though, but we can have the uneaten food packed and take away. We had nearly a whole day with Oui and her family, Oui's so nice, knowledgeable, and Peter's with sense of humor, made everyone burst into tears when doing selfie for us... Thanks Oui and Peter, and your lovely beautiful daughter...The day we spent with you guys was definitely the highlight of our trip. Would like to meet you again and if possible, check out the local Saturday(or Sunday?) market you mentioned with you...

Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews