We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint rice barn, superb staff”
Review of Fern Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fern Paradise
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The rice barns are a refreshing approach to convert them to rooms.
It was really a back to nature experience.
Mr Om and team are superb for their hospitability!
Highly recommend fern paradise - a nice family-run resort!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJLim80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Can't recommend this place enough.
It's just gorgeous. Excellent value for your money. Short cab ride to downtown Chiang Mai. Excellent, super-friendly staff that strike a great balance between attentiveness and privacy.

We stayed 3 nights in a "Superior" room. #2, I think it was.
Beautiful room. Floor to ceiling windows on two sides looking out onto endless, lush greenery. The rooms are authentically rustic. The gentleman that runs the resort was nice enough to join us for breakfast on our first morning there and offered to give us a tour of the stunning property, which includes; a pool, a plant nursery, a creek, hundreds and hundreds of trees and plants and everywhere you look, ferns of all variety.

The property is really amazing when you get there. You can completely forget that there is a city beyond the all of that beautiful greenery. All of the rooms are old Thai rice barns from across norther Thailand that have been moved and reassembled at Fern Paradise. Every detail has been attended to. Everywhere you look there is something beautiful and interesting to see. Literally everywhere. Yet the rooms are clean and comfortable.

This is really what people imagine an exotic Thailand hotel would look like.

It's just a very beautiful place to spend your holiday.
Can't say enough good things about it.
You won't want to leave.

Room Tip: There are literally no bad rooms at this hotel. We stayed in room 2. A "Superior". Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeforeTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We would highly recommend Fern Paradise to our dearest friends. The property is beautiful, the rooms are a delight (converted rice barns with all the mod cons), it's quiet and green, and the pool is great. The food on offer is also excellent and, despite being a little bit out of town, the location and transport options are more than workable. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful that we have experienced anywhere. For the price it simply can't be beaten. We will be returning!

Room Tip: The rooms next to the pool offer the quietest locations but all of the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TobycHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Outside of the bustle of Chaing Mai, Fern Paradise lives up to it's name as a true Paradise. I had originally booked only three nights here with the intention of moving closer to the city, but quickly changed my schedule and was able to spend a week a this beautiful retreat.
The rooms were nothing besides perfect, as was the rest of the complex, which was tastefully decorated in an understated way, allowing the natural beauty of the setting to come through. Service was impecable and the staff, while always there when a meal or taxi was needed, also allowed us to feel like we were the only people at the hotel. The pool and gardens made it a perfect place to relax after a long day of temple hopping in the city, which is only a 15 minute cab ride to from the hotel. We would most certainly return and hope to again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegNY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Fern Paradise for 3 nights whilst in Chiang Mai on our honeymoon and it was our favourite place from the entire trip (we did a number of places and hotels all over Thailand).

The hotel is only small and it is so unique, the barns are quiant and have everything you need for a relaxing break (including fast and free WIFI). The staff were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us, the food is amazing and so reasonably priced, we ordered dinner a couple of times and they served it to us on our table and chairs under the barn.

We were out and about most days and the staff arranged a taxi for us which is set prices and so reasonable, it was 300 baht to go to Chiang Mai (15 minutes away) and we went up to the temple on the mountain and the driver waited for us and then took us to a cookery course and it was 1000 baht for the day.

I would definitely recommend this break if you are looking for a relaxing break and love to be in beautiful natural surroundings.

We will definitely be coming back next time we go to Thailand.

Room Tip: There are only 9 barns and all of them would be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at fern paradise in march on the last leg of our 3 week visit in thailand. I couldnt rate this place any higher. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were having a great time. Our barn was big with everything you need. We didnt go out on any trips - We used the pool and bikes. FYI There is a 7 eleven 5 minutes bike ride from fern. We would certainly visit again beautiful :)

Room Tip: We stayed in barn 3 at the front. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first stay at Fern Paradise ,but it won' t be our last. This place has a lovely feel about it and the owners make you feel very welcome. If you like unobtrusive service, good food and a truly lovely environment you will enjoy this place. Fern Paradise suits a variety of people and if you get tired of the pool / a walk amongst the ferns/ a read or a DVD, transport and tours can be organised.This is a gardener s delight peaceful, but just close enough to central Chiang mai.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Jonnell U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
7.5 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#3 of 7 in Doi Saket
31 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
5.2 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
3.4 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
4.4 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 394 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Paradise

Address: 73/1 Moo 5 Sansai | Amphr Sansai, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range: $63 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The touch of nature, to live in the old rice barn, to meet the diversity of ferns, to be away from crowded city and stay in a peaceful land which is surrounded by shady trees and variety of ferns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Fern Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Paradise Hotel San Sai
Fern Paradise Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - San Sai
Fern Paradise Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing