We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Caswell Bay Chalet

Caswell Bay Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay Caswell Bay from the Coastal Path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay
Caswell Bay from the Coastal Path
Caswell Bay Chalet
Caswell Bay Chalet
Open plan living/kitchen area
Open plan living/kitchen area
Caswell Bay Chalet Living Room
Kitchen area
Caswell Bay Chalet Double Bedroom
Caswell Bay Chalet Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay
Caves on Caswell Beach
Caswell Beach shop
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay Cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bishopston, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MalcB548
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Compact, but clean and fully equipped for three of us. Very nice site and only two minutes to Caswell Bay. Special thanks to Margaret Breen for her help, particularly with our short notice change of dates. My teens children loved it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you had a great stay at the chalet and were able to enjoy Caswell Bay in such brilliant weather. In the sunshine there's no place I'd rather be!

I'm glad your teens loved their stay too - it can be a bit daunting taking teens on holiday but there is so much to do in the area that it's not a problem. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy base in fantastic setting”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful chalet park, comfortable chalet with all the essentials only minutes from Caswell Bay. As a chalet park do not expect complete luxury but you could not ask for much more for this price in this location. Owner is helpful and easy to book with. Very much recommended for a bargain stay at the sea for not much more than camping would cost but with much more comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you found the chalet comfortable with everything you needed for a good stay. I'm also glad that you enjoyed being so close to beautiful Caswell Bay. We look forward to welcoming you in the future..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
advantage...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect family holiday with the beach on the doorstep”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have had a better holiday than the one we had at this chalet. Booking and communication with the owner was excellent. It was also very convenient having the key available in a key safe by the door, as we arrived later than planned. The chalet is very fresh and clean with comfortable beds and new duvets, pillows etc. The electric shower was great for post-beach showers, especially for the kids. No shortage of hot water. The kitchen is well stocked with equipment so we self-catered most days although had a couple of breakfasts at the cafe on the beach. Having a washing machine was a bonus. The other really convenient thing was having the patio and table/chairs outside - this is where we spent most of our time when we weren't on the beach as it is a really sunny spot. With the beach so close, it was easy to pop back for lunchtime naps, forgotten toys etc. And the beach - it is stunning with plenty of room with lots of lovely sand and rockpools. I'd thoroughly recommend this chalet for an easy, relaxing holiday at a quiet chalet park. We'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted that you found the chalet comfortable and well-equipped for your stay and enjoyed the beach. You're right that the patio is a real sun trap - it's a great place to spend some time relaxing with a book while the kids nap or a post-beach glass of wine when they're in bed. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit - you'll be very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little tired but great location”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we had a lovely time here though I feel the chalet was a little let down! There was mould on the curtains and behind the beds as boys wanted them together was grim! it was quite dirty . I have managed a holiday home last four years and no way would we have accepted humidifiers full of water where you put your clothes. I did not unpack the whole time as the shelving was grim and no liners.
There was no space in kitchen to put anything like food you had bought and the cuboards never shut properly. At one point I tried to mop the floor and the mop fell apart and left debris every where. The shower was hit and miss and doors never shut properly. Toilet roll holder had given up!!
we did have a lovely time as weather was fab but having managed holiday homes for past four years feel yours needs a little TLC its a little tired and you could do so much to enhance the property.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you for your review of our chalet. We’re glad you had a lovely time at Caswell but were a little surprised by your comments regarding cleanliness as we take great care with cleaning and, as you’ll see from other reviews, have been commended for this. We’re very keen that if there are any issues for guests that they get in touch immediately, using contact numbers given in confirmation emails, and we’ll be very happy to put things right where we can.

Thank you for letting us know that the toilet roll holder broke - it has now been repaired, as has the mop. We’ve had the shower tested and that seems to be working fine too. You’ll have seen that the chalets are all compact so storage is always an issue. We took the decision to have a washing machine installed at the expense of some storage space, which seems to have been the right choice amongst our family customers.

We are glad that we are able to reunite you with your tablet computer which you left behind at the chalet. I’m sure you’ll agree that at £13 per person per night, your stay at Caswell was exceptional value.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carobull
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“great honeymoon destination for peaceful break”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely venue in a tucked away small chalet park, within walking distance of the beautiful Caswell Bay beach. We loved the chalet as a compact but roomy and warm base for a few days break. Enough room and good facilities to lounge, cook and sleep comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a quiet area to unwind and enjoy the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thanks for your comments. We're glad to hear that you had a great stay at Caswell and enjoyed staying at the chalet and being so close to the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilina W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An ideal base”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ideal for beach days or exploring further afield, compact but functional with surprising storage in bedrooms. Would like to see kitchen cupboards re-organised so there is one empty for food stuffs. We would stay here again when in the area. Only downside for us was the lack of flow in the shower as three of us have long thick hair, water heated up quickly after each use.
Chalet is on a nice well kept site and has outdoor furniture which saved putting dining table up as weather was fantastic while we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds with decent pillows.
Liked least: wi-fi was only for two gadgets and we would all have liked to use it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thanks for your comments and we're delighted to hear that you had a great time by the beach and exploring the area in lovely sunshine. You're right that the chalet is a suntrap, which makes the patio an additional room in good weather - perfect for outdoor eating and sunbathing. Thanks for pointing out the shower problem which has been rectified by a plumber now. As you say, the chalets are compact so we're always trying to find ways to maximise the space which isn't always easy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndyloo1...
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great base in a perfect setting”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely chalet close to some fantastic beaches and attractions.Really comfy beds, beautiful shower, plenty of piping hot water. Only downside was lack of storage space for food but good pubs with restaurants offering good deals on meals ( 2 for £7/ £7.50) in Mumbles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Storage space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the chalet. Your comment about food storage is valid and we're looking at ways to overcome this in the near future by rearranging the kitchen. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing