We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, excellent service - as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dog and Hedgehog

Dog and Hedgehog
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dadlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service - as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

When ever my 82 year old mother-in-law comes over from Australia, she insists on going to The Dog. We always have first class service and the food is delicious. The view from the window across the countryside to the Ashby Canal is just the icing on the cake. We will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwendoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    128
    35
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem of a pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
It was really busy but the service was very good and the food even better.
The view from the car park is what England is all about.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The welcome at this pub/restaurant was lovely, we had very good service and the choice on the menu was very good, the portions were large the steak was very good. There is a good selection of wines both by the glass and bottle, the atmosphere was good and we had a lovely evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went here for a birthday celebration with friends. The welcome was very warm, friendly and made us feel ' at home' .Service was good, we were shown to our table immediately.our drinks were served immediately and the order was taken with personal involvement of the owners.Food was plentiful and portion sizes were not lacking in quantity.The food quality was not outstanding but better than most village eateries and pubs and we rated it 'very good' with a good selection of wines .I.e. Well above average.Overall we enjoyed our night out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rural Public House providing above aveage food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We mad last minute decision to eat out and booked table for 2. We had eaten at the D & H last year and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal. This time my wife enjoyed Pate starter followed by Bass. I had scallops followed by burger. The scallops were not the best I have tasted I prefer them to be seared instead they were probably cooked on too low heat but the burger was 1st class. I finished off with Bread and Butter pudding which was average.. I would go again as the food is superior to pubs which lay on formula meals. Service was delivered by pleasant staff. I was irritated by the occasional smell of cigarette smoke drifting in from the nicotine addicts that hang around the door to the car park. (perhaps the proprietor could encourage people to smoke further away from the door). The pub has attractive garden with large lawn looking across fields. The drink prices are reasonable and although food prices a little more expensive the quality of the produce is worth the extra.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrocodileRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog and Hedgehog also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Sutton Cheney, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to Dog and Hedgehog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing