We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem in Lux-Ger-Fra triangle”

Le Bistrot Gourmand
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Remerschen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gem in Lux-Ger-Fra triangle”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spontaneously stopped in Remerschen to fill up our empty stomachs on a rainy Friday evening. The Bistrot Gourmand had hit our eyes with many cars parked in their lot and all around the place.
Although we had no reservation, the very friendly waiter quickly found as a table for two.
Beautifully presented duck breast and kidneys in mustard sauce were chosen from the comprehensive menu, followed by a delicious rhubarb tart. Our thirst was quenched with local beer from tap and a glass of wine from their long list.
In summary: If you would like to try local Luxembourg cuisine on a beautiful plate in a pleasant setting, served with a smile at reasonable prices, this place is a must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fritespolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    60
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great and friendly service, good food, good wine card , nice setting... A small globetrotter jewel on the Luxembourgish Mosel.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We spend one of our Sunday lunches at the Bistrot. The first surprise is that this place is not in Schengen , but in Remerschen , some 3 km away from Schengen . The second surprise was the excellent wine list ( we are not in Paris but in Remerschen). The people were friendly. We arrived at 14.05 and where at other places in Luxembourg we were told off at 13.30, the owner was happy to accept our orders. It is true that Remerschen is a center of wine in Luxembourg, nevertheless we were surprised by the Parisian style of bistrot and wine offer. The food was respectable, bistrot style like. All in all, a place we are certainly happy to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
333 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The restaurant has a good and varied (even enough for picky eaters such as me) menu with the emphasis on local cuisine. Portions are good and the dishes are well presented. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff helpful, attentive and friendly. Decor is modern (think pinewood and glass with black tables and chairs) without being too minimalist. There is a small car park in front and, apparently, in summer tables outside. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice food, great setting a wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Thanks to previous good reviews of the restaurant, we booked a table for two for a saterday evening. At the start of the evening we got served quickly and correctly. Our first course "escargots à la bourguignonne" was very well spiced and delicious, but small in size. We loved our main course steak, frites and salade. The "boeuf" meat was of excellent quality and we received a large portion. We had to remind the waiter of our dessert after some waiting. Dessert (ice cream) was again of good quality. The wine we choice was very nice. As we were sitting next a large table it was sometimes a bit noicy. Overall the whole atmosphere was very nice. We had a wonderful time and will surely come again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
750 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The restaurant is in the small village of Remerschen in the centre of Luxembourg wine making country.
We ate there on a warm summers evening (Saturday 3rd July 2010). By booking only two days before we had secured the last table available on their terrace. It is a very nice outside space, with a lot of greenery including a large amount of Wisteria.
We found the service very friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was excellent, fresh, properly cooked and well presented.
As my wife and I were in a celebratory mood we ate 3 courses and all were perfect.
Our starters were Salade Paysanne €10.00 and Salade de Scampis €14.00. The main courses Brochette of Chicken €17.50 and Navarrin of Lamb €18.50. The desserts were Nougat glacé and Brochette de sorbet both €6.50.
We drank a bottle of local Riesling €24.00. A half litre of water (Vittel) was €3.20.
We had a wonderful evening and will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank gfplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Gourmand also viewed

Perl, Saarland
Mondorf-les-Bains, Grevenmacher District
 
Schwebsange, Grevenmacher District
 

Been to Le Bistrot Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing