We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back In Time To Bygone Era”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Were weekend guests at the Hacienda and could not have been more pleased with our time spent there.
First a comment on location: this was a real Hacienda. Haciendas were not built city center, or near current popular tourist attractions. They were large land holdings in the countryside. It is a convenient location as it is 45 minutes out of Guadalajara. This hacienda is a destination, not a home base for touring Jalisco.
It is above all authentic and charming, but is up to date with wonderful spa facilities and in house recreational opportunities.
The service is attentive and the staff are well trained to take care of guests needs and wants. There is a genuine service attitude from the staff. Hospitality and service orientation are evident, but one doesn't feel as if they are tripping over the help. We were made to feel at home here.
We enjoyed authentic meals, prepared well and served on the haciendas grand columned terrace.
We enjoyed tequila from the charming bar and wines from the wine cellars. In the evening at dinner we were serenaded by a musical trio at dinner, they were still serving at 10 pm.
The rooms are luxurious with very large bathrooms with all the amenities. The shower was one of the best ever with surprising water pressure. The bed firm and comfortable with fabulous bedding.
In one weekend I became a huge fan. I will be back in the very near future.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaElCarmen, Manager at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments about our Hacienda! It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your review to our staff to encourage them in what they are doing! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I just attended a photography conference at El Carmen. We had a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was exceptionally friendly and the food was wonderful. We felt very safe the entire time. If you are looking for an affordable relaxing getaway in the Guadalajara area I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tait0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaElCarmen, Gerente at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015
Google Translation

Sus comentarios nos gustan mucho, esperamos verles pronto por la Hacienda.

Reciba un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My three female friends and I just came back from three days and two nights at the lovely Hacienda el Carmen and we can't say enough good things about it. We had a beautiful drive through the lovely Tequila/Ameca valley to get there and from the first moment we arrived, we were pampered and happy. A welcoming drink of aqua fresca and scented hot towels awaited us at the checkin desk. The rooms were lovely and the ambiance of the old buildings and the period furniture was charming. The grounds and gardens were very pleasant for a stroll. There is lots to do there but we didn't do anything but sit around and read, visit, sketch, eat and go over to the spa for wonderful facials and massages. The food was consistently top notch and the kitchen staff accommodated our every wish. The staff felt like family by the time we left and they stood by waving as our car left through the big gates on our way back to Chapala. For a unique experience in a beautiful setting, we highly recommend this hacienda.

Room Tip: One of the staff gave us a tour of the hacienda, the chapel and most of the rooms. There are suites...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margoandthecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I absolutely loved my week at the Hacienda El Carmen. It was above all my expectations and each time I look at my photos a piece of my heart is pulled outside of my body. It is truly a beautiful location but the staff and owner are the heart and soul of the venue. The service and friendliness is the best I've ever experienced. The Hacienda has been painstakingly renovated and the atmosphere is genuinely Mexican. There are many photos of the Hacienda over previous decades, the work the owner has done to take it from rundown to glorious is amazing.

The food, wow the food was amazing. I

One of the things that I loved most about this location is that is far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It's the perfect location to get to know the real, authentic Mexico. Also, just down the road is an amazing Inca ruin and if you like Tequila the town of Tequila is a great day trip from the Hacienda.

Do yourself a favour and take the time to walk around the town and meet the locals. I was hesitant at first to do this, but once I did I wondered why it took me so long. The people are so friendly and very humble. They will make you realise that happiness does not come from money, but from experiences and connections. My time at this Hacienda was life changing as you can see. I hope that I can take my family with me next time.

The only drawback for me was that the beds were very hard, but it's only a small thing. When you wake up and walk into the bathroom tiled with gorgeous hand painted mexican tiles, or look out your window and see a peacock looking into your window you will quickly forget.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowgirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The place is an over-sized guest house with limited amenities. When making the reservation we were told that the hotel was easy to get to and only about 20-30 minutes away from downtown Guadalajara. WRONG. It takes at least 45 min. to drive to downtown Guadalajara IF there is no traffic. The grounds and rooms are pretty, but outside of the Hacienda there is nothing around but fields. I found a dead rat right outside my room window; my sister found a live scorpion in her room. The second night I was there I found bloody finger prints on the sheets at the edge of the mattress. (Gross.) I couldn't tell you if the food was good, because the kitchen has limited hours and it was closed the majority of the time I was there. On our second night, after going on a popular all-day train tour, our extended family (including three young children) arrived hungry and exhausted only to be told that the restaurant was closed and we could not order a hot meal. We were also told that we had been expected at 6:00pm (ridiculous, since the tour is over at 6:30pm, after which there is at least a 45 minute drive back to the Hacienda), and that a table was set for us at the dinner/show event that would take place later that evening for which we would be charged a discounted rate of 500 pesos (around $40) PER PERSON. After some discussion with management, they prepared some light food items for the children and a few of the older adults. I, as some other family members, just gave up and went to bed hungry. If you are looking for a remote place to visit in Guadalajara, Mexico, this fits the bill. But this is definitely not the place to stay if you want to be in the center of it all, or have dining and entertainment options.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank craftyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Hacienda El Carmen has it all, great rooms, beautiful grounds, amazing food and drink and attentive staff.

I stayed for two weekends at the begining of May, with each weekend staying one night in the presidential suite and one night in the standard room.
Each was immaculately presented and came with all the nice little perks of a quality hotel. I recommend the presidential suite with its own hot tub and steam room, however that said, the standard rooms were just as functional. If staying in the presidential room, make sure you bring your own DVDs, as the TV in there has no reception whatsoever.

Food was amazing, on one night there there was only us and another couple, so the chef came and asked us exactly what we wanted and how we wanted it. Trully amazing food!

The bar was good too, the cocktails were beautifully prepared and were delicious. The bar closed at 11pm, but on request the bar tender prepared an ice bucket full of drinks and had them placed in our room by the hot tub :)

Horse riding was amazing too, we didn't have enough time to fit any of the packages they offered in, so they adapted their service around our needs and took us on a couple of great horse rides! And they didn't even charge us!

The Spa is amazing too, great staff in a tranquil and beautiful surrounding.

Finally the all inclusive is definately worth it. It is about 1190 pesos per couple, and our average daily bill easily topped 2000 pesos due to breakfast/lunch/diner and drinks.

The only negative is in the fact it is 1.5hrs away from Guadalajara, but it is well worth the trip.

To summarise, this is easily one of the best hotels I have stayed at and I travel a lot. Next time I am in Mexico, I will make the effort to travel back there for another weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The room, food and service are excellent.
It is refreshing to find a hotel where some wines on the list were very reasonably priced.
The room was 1340 pesos and dinner about 400
But we thought breakfast expensive at 300 pesos.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Carmen
16.5 mi away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
16.3 mi away
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
16.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#5 of 6 in Tequila
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Casa Dulce Maria
Casa Dulce Maria
#6 of 6 in Tequila
44 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
2.5 mi away
Hacienda Labor de Rivera Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa

Address: 58th km-highway Guadalajara-Tala-Etzatlan, El Carmen 45090, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > El Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Carmen
Price Range: $111 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda El Carmen is more than just a five star resort and spa, it is the beginning of your adventures in the land of tequila! Gourmet cuisine, cultural tours, horseback riding, adventure sports, archaeological excursions, we offer whatever your heart's desire! Our spa is the largest of any hacienda in Mexico with unique and extensive menu of servivces. We offer a la carte or all inclusive packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel And Spa
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel El Carmen
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa Mexico - Jalisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing