We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here last weekend as we attended a wedding at Ellenborough Park. It is a great location for doing this as it is about half a mile down/up the hill and alot cheaper !! but only 5 mins away in the car or taxi.
The hotel was easy to find and the lady on reception was very welcoming. We were in room 21 with stunning views over the hills and a 4 poster bed. Both the bedroom and bathroom were big and spacious and very comfortable. Very creaky floorboards though but that was throughout the whole hotel not just our room. There was quite alot of traffic noise from the main road but the amount of time we were in our beds it didn't really matter. We had the full english in the morning which was average, nothing special but set us up for the journey home.
Overall a decent hotel, great views, nice rooms and in a great location for cheltenham and surrounding areas. Would visit again.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the front of the hotel for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrummieMoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. I am extremely pleased to hear that your stay with us was in your own words "comfortable". The Team at the Rising Sun Hotel aim to please all our guests and welcome them into our hotel as if they were coming home.
The Rising Sun Hotel is based in a great location for both shopping, walking, local attractions and more, so I am pleased to hear you chose us to stay with.
Myself and The Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 671 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice pub with a view to die for.

Food is ok, but you'll enjoy the view more to be honest. We ordered 6 meals between us, and at least half were very (very) marginal. The prices suggest to you that it's going to be a lot more desirable than the reality.

Good deserts though, if you like that sort of thing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank chrisk495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am sorry to hear that not all of your stay with us was up to our usual high standard. I have taken the issue up with our kitchen team to prevent this from arising in the near future. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our picturesque views from our beer garden as many guests do!
Myself and the Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have just enjoyed two comfortable nights here and a family lunch party. The service is brilliant. The food is very good. No hesitation in recommending this honest and unpretentious hotel. The hanging baskets are outstanding at this time of year and frame the magnificent views.

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am pleased to hear your stay and lunch party with us went well, and our team provided their outstanding service as they always do. Our views from the garden are second to none, and we try and season our garden to the same standard. I am pleased to hear this stood out.
Myself and the Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just been here for a late lunch with friends..... Haven't been here for years but was quite happy to give it a go.... Paid £9.95 for a Ploughmans which was one slice of a standard loaf of bread, two tiny slithers of cheese one of which was the rind of the Stilton which was inedible, two slices of ham which didn't look very appetising, half of what looked like a Tesco's pork pie, no butter, one pickled onion and two little offerings of some cheap rated chutney. We were all totally disappointed and that's five people who will not return. Also the sausages and mash came with onion gravy but the gravy was standard but had half a raw onion plonked in the middle of it. SHOCKING! DO NOT GO THERE TO EAT!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am extremely sorry to hear that your visit wasn't up to our usual standard, I can assure you I will notify the chefs on the matter of the English Ploughman's so that future guests do not experience the same issues.
Please do not let this visit discourage you from visiting us again soon. As you can rest assured you will not experience the same problems.
Thank you again, and Myself and The Team at the Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for one night at a cost of £110 not including breakfast - definately not worth it. Good points are the amazing view and large bedroom. Minus points are that bedroom needed refurbishment, windowsill was very sticky, bathroom was grotty with broken towel rail lying on the floor. We saw the lunch and evening meals - looked to be of poor standard, and decided to eat in Winchcombe where we had an excellent meal. Much better places to stay locally.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank berks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to our usual standard. I have taken up your issues with our housekeeping team, and they will be resolved as soon as possible so we do not have future guests who stay with us experience the same problem.
Please do not be discouraged from staying with us for your next visit as I can assure you we will have these problems rectified.
Thank you again for your comments.
Myself and The Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very pleased with the parking as plenty of room any time of day as it was a large car park,
Enjoyed the food-had a meal at the hotel and really enjoyed the breakfasts, very filling .
Had entertainment one evening-a singer.
Could of easily stayed for longer as it was a lovely area to stay and if we had of done could of done lots more exploring of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Establishment, I am pleased to hear your stay with us was as good as you say. The areas surrounding The Rising Sun Hotel live up to the Cotswold's name of being outstanding areas of natural beauty. The Team encourage the guests to explore the areas and point them in the directions of their favorite locations.
I am pleased to hear you appreciate the work we put into the Rising Sun to keep our guests entertained. We have entertainers performing every Sunday evening and Quiz Nights every Wednesday evening which are both extremely popular with locals and guests.
Thank you again and Myself and the Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Rising Sun is a wonderfully located hotel and restaurant with views forever. To the rear of the hotel parking lot is a walking trail - with a boatload of sheep hanging out - giving a cozy vibe to the whole scene. I believe this trail hooks up with the Cotswolds Trail which allows people to walk from village to village, staying at places like this as they go. The staff is warm and welcoming. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. This establishment is owned by the Greene King Brewery and the restaurant and bar are well managed. The ambiance is comfortable and interesting. We stayed on a Monday night and the terrace seating (with the astounding view) was full of locals as well as travelers. It is a convivial atmosphere and they run a Quiz night every Wednesday. Breakfast and dinner were good, with many options to choose from and including gluten free items which is important to me. Our room had an amazing view and they provided sleeping for three (as we travel with our 13 year-old son). My only caveat - which the hotel can do absolutely nothing about - is that the highway is quite close to the establishment and if you like to sleep with the windows open it is very loud with cars and trucks rolling by at the usual breakneck speed one finds in the UK:) Although I love the view - I might ask for a room in the back next time just for the quiet. We would absolutely stay here here again. I found this place through trip advisor and wanted to pay it forward.

Room Tip: The best views are from the top floor. There are amazing corner tables in the restaurant that provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank daughterofasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, our location at The Rising Sun Hotel is second to none, overlooking the Malvern Hills and Severn Trent Valley.
I want to thank you for your kind words on our service and ambience, at The Rising Sun we pride ourselves on our excellence in customer service and commitment to ensuring our residents and customers have the most memorable stay with us, whether it is just for a coffee or a single nights stay.
Myself & The Team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
576 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $74 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing