We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food lovely staff and so dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tasty food lovely staff and so dog friendly”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for a night on Sunday 24th and we had a wonderful meal in the bar and our Labrador was made so welcome by all the staff. We hope to go again soon. Lovely walks on Cleeve common a short step away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    220
    78
    43
    32
See reviews for
138
280
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I met with my friends here recently for a mid week meal. The last time I visited the place was 25 years ago. Things hadn't really changed during that time... Decor looks a bit old fashioned. Good menu choice. Food was nice but I felt the portion sizes were very small. The service however was excellent, faultless in fact. The staff could not do enough to help. I would return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank C-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We really appreciate feedback and it’s wonderful when it is so positive. The team are so pleased you had a great stay and have shared your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here recently with my mother and sister. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the food was extremely good. The whole stay was extremely good value for money and the views were fantastic . I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in future and would recommend it highly.

LJM Guildford

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is well placed with stunning views across the Vale of Evesham toward the Malverns from Cleeve Hill in the Cotswolds.
The restaurant is spacious and well lit, with good decor and a nice ambiance. I was taken there as a first date and I was impressed with her choice until the Sunday roast arrived........

This was an unprecedented disappointment ..... I have beef and my date had pork ...... she complained that the pork wad tough and to be fair it was totally over cooked and looked like shoe leather! My meal faired little better .... the beef was pre sliced and therefore microwaved ..... it's was like eating soggy cardboard. The vegetables .... one carrot, yes one carrot , and this was the tastiest thing on my plate ..... it was a fresh carrot and tasted very nice.

The rest bland and cooked from frozen if I'm not mistaken ........... all this for just under £9!!!

Quality ..... 1 out 10 for the carrot. Value for money 1 out of 10 - an expensive carrot.

Overall ... all that's worst about big chain pubs.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valkyrie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear your displeasure at our food standards on your last visit. We are proud at The Rising Sun for our food quality and I am sure this situation would have been resolved if it was pointed out either to myself or another member of the management team on the day. However I would like to take this opportunity to invite you back to The Rising Sun for a 50% discount on your next visit to prove your last experience was a rare one.

It is feedback such as your which enables us to improve our quality. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Perched on top of the hill The Rising Sun has great views of the surrounding countryside, although for the most part it was drizzling whilst I stayed there.

The bedroom had the usual features (tea making/hair drier/ironing board etc) and was clean and tidy. The room was quite dark and could do with modernising and how about Sky sports to give the lone traveller something good to watch? Perhaps this is reflected in the moderate price.

I ate a good quality meal (the veggies were nice and crunchy!) and the bar had a wide range of beers to choose from. The bar/restaurant became busy later in the evening, but being new to the area I don't know if this was beacuse it's the only pub around, or it has a good reputation. However, it was impressively busy for mid-week.

The breakfast menu was also extensive.

The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall very good value - B&B plus evening meal/drinks for less than I'd pay a lot of places for room only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am happy that you have a fantastic stay in our hotel and we will take your comments into account and make sure that your next stay will be even more pleasant than the previous one. We are so pleased to have gained another satisfied customer. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A large group of us had a Sunday lunch here - the service was efficient and polite, the meals were all very tasty (a higher quality of meal than your standard 'pub grub') and the views from the main restaurant area are lovely (as is the interior with its gorgeous large bay window). It was a sunshine and showers sort of a day so we had several rainbows appearing over Cleeve Hill as we ate which was a nice bonus. I would be very happy to visit again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for such lovely feedback. Our hotel is set on Cleeve Hill, the highest point in the Cotswolds enjoying views of five counties, combines friendly charm with the superb standards of modern comfort to make it a favourite among locals, and visitors alike. We look forward to your next visit. Marry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We happen to come across this hotel by accident and was impressed by the comments from trip advisor. Our family room was large and spacious and had beautiful views across Cheltenham. We were pleasantly surprised by the restaurant food, which was lovely and very reasonable; better than the usual pub grub from usual chain pubs; staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was amazing. Probably the best best breakfast we had with very personal service. All the produce seemed very fresh and locally sourced and was cooked to perfection. A good selection of fruit, cereals, pastries and plenty of tea/coffee and toast. Would definitely recommend and will be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
424 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing