We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but probably not worth £90 a room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were taking part in the retro rides hill climb event the next day.
The room was a bit dated and small. Just a basic room really. The water was hot and the bath filled fast. The bed was comfy and even though we were in the room next to the door, we weren't bothered by any noise. The bar was big but boring. With older ladies knitting and asking you to move as they couldn't see the tv! We had a table booked to eat but what we saw on other people's plates look less than inspiring, so we decided to go into Cheltenham instead. Breakfast was just ok. Probably would go back but only if there was no where else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em_fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 656 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent location for Cheltenham centre and also for the lovely " chocolate box"villages not far away. The actual hotel needs a bit of updating/decorating. The staff seemed to go over and beyond what you would expect of them. We were booked in on a B+B basis for 2 nights and our intention was to eat in the first night and eat elsewhere the second night. I think the quality of the food speaks for itself when I say we ate there both nights. The breakfast was also lovely and if you wanted you could have a full English breakfast which was cooked to order. The resident cockerel and his harem of hens added to the "feel good" factor of our stay. All in all our visit to this hotel was a memorable one for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The view over to the Malvern Hills was spectacular but the rest of the stay was disappointing. The bed was uncomfortable. Yhe plumbing was exceedingly noisy not only in our room but that in the adjoning room. The menu descriptions were inaccurate for example the stilton stuffed mushrooms were actually chopped up mushrooms zapped with some cheese in a rather gooey mess. My poached eggs on the first morning were cooked properly but on the second were cooked in an egg poacher and were rubbery. The noise from the bar and beer garden also meant that we could not get to sleep until after the pub closing time. I would not recommend it. Booking in and out were painful experiences with the reception staff seemingly disinterested.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane_macgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at The Rising Sun on the 9th August for two nights, My wife and I have been a few times and can only say we have a fantastic time ,from arriving till when we leave nothing is to much trouble for the staff.The food is great always served with a smile from the excellent staff.We sat in the garden having a drink watching the sun going down what an amazing view.Hope to be back soon.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mwreford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a quick drink and to look at amazing view. Coffee was delicious and young waiter with glasses carried all our drinks outside for me which was nice touch. Lovely garden which would be nice place to stay for longer but would return anyway for excellent service

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaandjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel position superb with fantastic views over the countryside. The staff were extremely helpful especially the deputy manageress.The food was good and reasonably priced.The only downside was the toilet in the bathroom which needed replacing as was badly stained.If this was remedied I would definitely give it five.

Room Tip: Inspect the bathroom first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at The Rising Sun for a one night break after a family funeral and found the staff, room, food and views were excellent. We had a room overlooking the terrace from the bar area and thought that it might be a noisy night but, having gone to bed early after a long day, found that it was extremely quiet considering the bar and terrace were full. We ate in the restaurant and found the menu to be very extensive, the food ordered was excellent and the staff waiting at tables to be very pleasant and polite and wonderful views from the restaurant also. All in all, we are hoping to return to the hotel for a longer stay next year to visit the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
3.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $71 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing