We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good views, poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very busy place but well staffed. Wide range of food at reasonable prices. Service erratic however: if you order a starter you'll wait a long tIme for the main course! We had to ask where our main course was, an answer came after quite a delay: "it won't be long now" then almost immediately followed by the food....... Which sadly was not all hot. So it had to go back. Shame.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your feed back . In rare occasions when sun is out and guests in huge numbers are enjoying our gardens with its beautiful views errors can happen . I am so sorry to hear that you obviously were on the receiving end. I would like take this opportunity to invite you back with 25% discount on total bill. Hope you will give us the chance to reinstate your trust in The Rising Sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 652 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

that the Rising Sun is a very welcoming place.From the receptionist to the dining room and the breakfast room staff everyone was helpful ,courteous and efficient . We were particularly pleased at the attentions of a young Hungarian waiter who seemed to be at our table anticipating our requests and everyone else's too At £65 B and B for two and a 3 course evening for approx £20 for two this was exceptional value . The rooms are comfortable and after a day' s walking on the Cotswold Way the deep bath was relaxing . The breakfast menu is top class . Try the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon : delicious
.

Room Tip: The traffic noise can be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worbillyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently visited the Rising Sun, on a Friday evening in June 2013, having booked a table just for the 2 of us. We both decided to order steak from the menu. The service was excellent, the food was impressive, the steak was fantastic as were the chips etc, in all we could not fault it, friendly staff too. Fantastic location, highly reccomended on a summers evening to watch the sun go down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flooshant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Called in here for a drink late afternoon. The young girl behind the bar needs to learn how to smile. She never once looked at me whilst I was ordering, mote interested in someone else. Views great beer good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed - late April-early May 2013

We had room-16 n no-20, with fantastic view of nearby town. Car park was behind the building, after a quite steep slope, soon after a corner along the road (same side).

We tried Summer Pudding on one evening dinner - with Raspberries puree on top........ meow....... too sour for me although the taste was super good, enjoyed by my husband and mother-in-law. :-)

I tried set of steak from Thursday special choice. :-) Very delicious and a definite offer should you be there on Thursday.

The mushroom fried (ball-like) was good. Morning breakfast choices are superb, especially the English breakfast, gracious portion provided.

Our room was the 2nd room from lobby place, but noise was an unfounded concern as we first thought it would be. We slept soundly. So was the concern about road noise as window was facing the main road just outside, though view was marvellous.

The staff were friendly although on our returning morning, I was a bit worry not to find someone waiting at reception/cashier desk as we needed to have smooth check-out to get to the LHR airport, apparently 3 hours solid should be enough. (It was a safe approximation in spite of being caught in traffic for an accident upfront but we managed to go around through another route..... whew ......thanks to navigation system.)

My mother-in-law was very happy with her one large bed room and the huge bathroom facility.

A definite recommended hotel should you be in town. :-D Meals and service are very good and the view and drink in the beer garden, IS A DEFINITE place to be. (It is always packed but with a good turnover.)

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 20 have good view. Room-20 has huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having visited the rising sun before when friends were staying there in Febuary ,when the offer to stay two nights for £99.00 came up we jumped at the chance to extened our holiday on the south coast .Paying such a resonable charge i expected a room at the back ,but no a great room on the ground level with a view to die for .! Okay with such a unique attraction you might think the rest of the hotel would rely on it to please customers but not a bit of it the rooms were clean , spacious and well equiped and Ladlo and his staff gave great service in a very busy resteraunt and the food was great and very good value (so much so that my wife had the stuffed peppers both nights!) Breakfast was great with a good selection and a superb engish breakfast .
So it is not just a hotel with a view but a great place to stay whatever the weather and we will definatly be back for more! thanks again colin and sonia

Room Tip: try for rooms 7 to 12 on the ground floor for a view without the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Rising Sun has always been a personal favourite of mine. Of course, most people go there for 'that' view - and who can blame them? On a summer's evening, there's no finer place to be than in their beer garden, looking over the vista below. However, on this latest visit, we went ostensibly for lunch - the view was secondary. The food on offer is of good quality, and was speedily served with a smile. What we had was nothing mind-blowing, but it was tasty and 'filled a hole' and was quite good value.
To conclude, I recommend this place for food or just for a drink on a summer's eve (can't comment on the hotel part, though I'm sure it's lovely), but do remember to leave your car in gear in the car park and your hand brake firmly secured, so your vehicle doesn't roll off down the slope (as happened to my dear aunt, bless her).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickyDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
326 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
3.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $75 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing