We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
$215
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 38 The Park(Cheltenham)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
$64
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveler rating
236
250
95
62
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
250
95
62
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalvern hillsbeer gardenold english innslamb shankpub grubbishops cleevebooked a tablegreene kingtwo night stayeggs benedictstaff were attentiveplenty of hot watersunday lunchcar parkwaiting staffshort breakfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 693 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from two night short break which was booked via Old English Inns website using a valid offer code which gave 2 nights B&B for 2 persons for less than £40 . Have used these special winter offers at various Old English Inns and have never been disappointed .
Myself and my wife were allocated Room 6 which was a large room with all standard fittings and flat screen TV with Freeview channels . Large bay window looking out over Cheltenham and beyond with great views as premises are situate high up on Cleeve Hill .
Dined at restaurant on both nights and utilised menu giving 2 meals for £9.95 and food was plentiful and of good quality . Bar is very pleasant with range of lagers and real ales . Excellent breakfast with buffet and full English if required .
Special mention must be made of one of the waitresses , Sahar , who made us very welcome and provided a great customer service throughout our stay . Was also impressed with Manager , Parviz , who buzzes around like a Duracell Bunny . We will return .

Room Tip: It appears that all rooms have great views but can certainly confirm this is the case for Romms 1 to 6 inclusive .
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for attending our hotel and writing a lovely review, we are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of the food and the service of the staff and it is great to hear that this has been recognised.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Parviz Tabai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Returning to the Rising Sun for the sixth time to celebrate the New Year we once again had a thoroughly enjoyable two days.The manager and staff certainly know how to lay on a party providing excellent food,entertainment and service.The New Year`s Eve feast fulfilled all our expectations and the early hours of New Year`s Day saw us retiring to our very comfortable beds having been well cared for.We are already looking forward to our seventh visit!! Amazing value at all times with clean comfortable rooms very friendly helpful staff and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We returned to The Rising Sun for the sixth time in succession to celebrate the New Year with friends. The New Year's Eve buffet was superb, as was the service .The staff are always extremely attentive and friendly ensuring that customers requirements are met in full.This is testament to the management style of Parvis who is a consummate professional and who manages the hotel with a very 'hands on' approach , meeting and greeting people and very much aware of everything that is going on around him whether this is in relation to the staff or customers. We look forward to returning again for New year 2014 !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a couple of days at the Rising Sun at the end of December and despite the weather had a very good break. Quick (and early) check-in, after which we went up Cleeve Hill behind the hotel. We found everyone at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable with views across to the Malverns. Good breakfast, buffet style for cereals, fruit, cakes and the hot food served at the table. Restaurant meals re good value.
Good base to visit Cheltenham and Gloucester. GWR steam railway nearby at Winchcombe.
Like other Old English inns there are areas that could do with some attention, but a perfectly acceptable standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We come here with all our friends when they visit.
The food is AMAZING, the customer service is always friendly and the prices are very good for the portions and quality of the food you recieve.
The view is to die for, although not so much when it is foggy.
We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews