We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the Sun shine inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, the price was reasonable, plenty of parking. The room was large and clean although the vacuum cleaner must have been short of suction.The bed was confortable, the decor a little tired. In spite of being at the front there was no road noise. Basically a pub and clearly very popular as it was always busy. A pleasant garden with benches and extensive views. Food is decent pub grub. The most striking feature was the pleasant demenour and friendliness of all the staff. Excellent location for a walk direct from the hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodericWey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for The Rising Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 636 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel after a day out and in the need of a place to stay. No problem they said, got a fantastic rate including breakfast. This hotel operates like a pub and there are pub benches outside which give a stunning location for the view out towards Wales. The food was inexpensive and efficiently served, hot fresh and tasty.
On this Sunday evening they had a muscial entertainer, which consister of one man with a drum kit and a lot of other electrical music making equipment, he sang popular songs and this attracted a lot of local people. The sort who seem to spend little and take over the place, I hate being crowded and as a lone traveller alway difficult to get up and go to the bar or toilet only to find your seat had been taken, this was the case so went to my room and was pleased not to be able to hear the noise.
I would also ask guest to pay attention to where they park especially if they have a new or expensive car, I found someone in a banger which looked more like a skip than a car had parked so close I could only get to the drivers seat by climbing over the passenger seat. I quickly moved my car.
The room was comfortable and quiet despite being on the main road, which is not very busy. The breakfast choice was vast and included egg benedict which was very nice and quickly served.
The small issues would not prevent me staying here again and it really was very friendly, excellent money value and in a super location in the summer,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were warmly welcomed at the Rising Sun. We ordered light lunches and a couple of lagers.
I was disappointed to be overcharged by £2.54 which took some time to resolve. One lunch came without cutlery and about eight to ten minutes later the other one arrived. I complained, and my lunch which by now had gone cold was duly replaced. On the plus side the food was very good and the young gentleman who served us was apologetic. We ate outside and the view was absolutely stunning. With some additional staff training this superbly situated hotel/pub could be outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wirral_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went after booking using special offer in local newspaper. Far better than we imagined. High on Cleeve Hill it overlooks Cheltenham with views towards Malvern Hills and the Black Mountains. Superb location for visiting the local area, but also would have felt right at home just sitting reading a book in the bay window of our room, in one of the many seating areas looking out the glorious windows or outside in the beautiful garden.
Room was faultless we had one on the ground floor. Large room with large bay window with seating and magazines to read. The beds were supplied with quality mattresses and quilts and also ample pillows (usually have to ask for more in most hotels). Ironing board and iron, hairdryer, free wi fi and quality tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplied.
Staff were amazing friendly, helpful and courteous.
It was very busy when we were there, obviously popular with locals too which is always a good sign! there were 3 family parties held there and also a very large coach party of japanese tourists but at no time did this hinder the serving or quality of our meals. We ate in the restaurant both nights (advisable to book) food - good choice excellent value for money. Specials every day - special theme nights (curry night, sizzler night) as well as the full menu on offer. This included local meats and produce. My husband was impressed by the generous portions and the choices of real ales on offer.
Breakfast was good choice of buffet cereals, pastries fresh fruit and juices. Also various cooked options available. Full English, Eggs Benedict, Porridge local kippers or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
This hotel may not be the best choice if you have mobility problems because it is an old building it is on 3 levels with some rooms up or down flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the car park for the best view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Part of the Old English Inns chain, this reasonably priced hotel/pub is way above average. The location is ideal for exploring the area, either by car or walking and is near to both Cheltenham & Gloucester. The views are amazing (highest point in Gloucester) but what REALLY made it for us was the wonderful staff - nothing was too much trouble ! Will definitely sdtay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The rising sun has great views from cleeve hill over Cheltenham and made a lovely spot for a meal or even just a drink. The menu was varied and the dishes we ordered were very tasty and good portions. I would visit again and recommend to others. I can imagine during hot summer days it will get very busy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steve_Tunnicliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful visit, our room with a four poster bed was clean and well kept and enjoyed views to die for! The staff were friendly, honest and helpful. All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
544 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 23 in Cheltenham
555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $84 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing