We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views - fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Part of the Old English Inns chain, this reasonably priced hotel/pub is way above average. The location is ideal for exploring the area, either by car or walking and is near to both Cheltenham & Gloucester. The views are amazing (highest point in Gloucester) but what REALLY made it for us was the wonderful staff - nothing was too much trouble ! Will definitely sdtay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 661 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The rising sun has great views from cleeve hill over Cheltenham and made a lovely spot for a meal or even just a drink. The menu was varied and the dishes we ordered were very tasty and good portions. I would visit again and recommend to others. I can imagine during hot summer days it will get very busy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steve_Tunnicliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful visit, our room with a four poster bed was clean and well kept and enjoyed views to die for! The staff were friendly, honest and helpful. All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Had an evening meal here which was very tasty. The views over lookig cheltenham and outside seating area make this place well worth a visit. Reasonable selection of real ales. Good selection of food for veggies as well. Plus children's menu. Recommend the tear and share garlic and herb bread as a starter!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cloudpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have been coming to this hotel on and off for the past 20 years originally as it was close to the hotel I used to work at and then after I left because of the spectacular views over the Cotswolds on a clear day.
If visiting at lunchtime ensure you leave yourself enough service time as it gets very very busy with local companies going there for their lunches.
More recently we went up there purely for a drink as it was such a lovely evening, it was very busy up until about 2030 then it went quieter so was good for a relaxed drink.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheltenhamgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. The weather was excellent just like the hotel, it sits on the side of Cleeve Hill and overlooks Cheltenham with the Malvern hills as the backdrop. It started life as a pub and has been extended very cleverly by stepping it down the hill, this gives a series of levels all with great views. All in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we had sunday dinner here yesterday(29/7/12) once again. we ate after 5pm as the roast dinners are 2 for £9.95. what value. geat food served hot. a choice of 3 meats. you can have a combination of any two on your plate. i ate turkey with almost all the trimmings . i say almost as there was no stuffing. bit disapointed as this is a good bedfellow with turkey. the selection of desserts is impressive. we all ordered a different one so we could compare. the trio of puds was very good value. i ate banoffie tart. to die for . we didnt wait long for our food which was a nice surprise as this is a popular place to eat on sundays and not eeveryone orders sunday lunch., there is a great choice of main meals. if you get the chance orde your coffee and go upstairs by the hotel reception and sit in the huge semi circular floor to ceiling window and take in the breathtaking view. you will see cheltenham racecourse to the left and the malvern hills in the distance and everything else ibetween . the best view around. live music to on a sunday. we have had lunch here in the week too. well worth a ride out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We value all your comments and aim to deliver the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
382 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
570 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $68 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing