We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL WITH FAB BREAKFAST SELECTION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Rising Sun.
The hotel is situated on Cleave Hill with lovely views over the surrounding countryside.
Although the hotel is a little tired in places the room was clean and comfortable. The only downside for us was that we were in a room near the kitchen and there was noise from what we think was a cooling unit. We were given this room as we had our dog travelling with us but I believe that most of the rooms are at the front with the lovely views.
It was great to find a hotel that made us welcome with the dog and we cannot praise the staff enough for there wonderful, friendly service.
The food in the restaurant and bar was good and very reasonably priced as was the drinks.
The best part was the fantastic breakfast which was plentiful and freshley cooked to order. Not just the standard cooked breakfast but a selection which included eggs benedict, kippers , omlettes and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. There was also help yourself to fresh fruits, cereals, pastries etc. Simply one of the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. Would recommend this hotel 100% .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizardgirlCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

Something for everyone, in a relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. We used it as a base to going walking in the area. Then back to the bar for a drink, followed by an excellent meal. The room was quiet at night and clean. Ironing and coffee facilities in room. Free room service and wifi. Also suitable for a stop on route, or longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrisseKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Situated in Cleeve Hill, with beautiful views over to the Malvern Hills from bedrooms, the bar and restaurant. A very spacious hotel and the welcome from everyone was second to none. The usual special offers from Old English Inns on dinner were available and the breakfast was superb.
Bus stop just outside takes you into Cheltenham in 10-15 minutes.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for that lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizzyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We spent a weekend here & would definately stay again if in the area. The room we had was a little " tired " but none the less very clean & had an amazing view. We had a very comfortable bed & everything we needed.All the staff were all very friendly & welcoming. The food was excellent with something for everyone & every budget, including 2 meals for £9.95, & on sunday evening 2 roast dinners for £9.95.I thoroughly recommend the fishermans platter starter for 2 which was excellent & the steaks were very good too.You can eat in the restaurant, the bar or outside, from the same menu. Breakfast was very good, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals & pastries followed by a good choice of cooked dishes including my favourite eggs benedict.The hotel does have quite a lot of stairs so maybe less mobile people might struggle with that. Sunday evenings they have live music & we spent a very enjoyable few hours listening to a man & his electric guitar doing lots of 70's & 80's stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamahen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Helpful, friendly staff, lovely food, clean and spacious room and stunning views. What more could you ask for? Would definitely stay at The Rising Sun again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatthumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very ordinary lunch. Didn't stay in hotel. The rooms may be great for all I know. The location is great, but don't expect decent food

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peccadillo1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thank you for your comment regarding the Rising Sun, we are always grateful for feedback.

In order to address the issues behind the disappointment with your visit I would be very grateful if you would give further details via email to CustomerServiceTeam@greeneking.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The position was very good with magnificent views.. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. The menus and meals were excellent. Loved are stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rising Sun or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
509 reviews
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $84 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing