We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic English hote/pub/restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
leeuwarden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic English hote/pub/restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Something for everyone, in a relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. We used it as a base to going walking in the area. Then back to the bar for a drink, followed by an excellent meal. The room was quiet at night and clean. Ironing and coffee facilities in room. Free room service and wifi. Also suitable for a stop on route, or longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrisseKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    222
    81
    44
    33
See reviews for
139
282
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Situated in Cleeve Hill, with beautiful views over to the Malvern Hills from bedrooms, the bar and restaurant. A very spacious hotel and the welcome from everyone was second to none. The usual special offers from Old English Inns on dinner were available and the breakfast was superb.
Bus stop just outside takes you into Cheltenham in 10-15 minutes.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for that lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We spent a weekend here & would definately stay again if in the area. The room we had was a little " tired " but none the less very clean & had an amazing view. We had a very comfortable bed & everything we needed.All the staff were all very friendly & welcoming. The food was excellent with something for everyone & every budget, including 2 meals for £9.95, & on sunday evening 2 roast dinners for £9.95.I thoroughly recommend the fishermans platter starter for 2 which was excellent & the steaks were very good too.You can eat in the restaurant, the bar or outside, from the same menu. Breakfast was very good, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals & pastries followed by a good choice of cooked dishes including my favourite eggs benedict.The hotel does have quite a lot of stairs so maybe less mobile people might struggle with that. Sunday evenings they have live music & we spent a very enjoyable few hours listening to a man & his electric guitar doing lots of 70's & 80's stuff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamahen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Helpful, friendly staff, lovely food, clean and spacious room and stunning views. What more could you ask for? Would definitely stay at The Rising Sun again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatthumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very ordinary lunch. Didn't stay in hotel. The rooms may be great for all I know. The location is great, but don't expect decent food

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peccadillo1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for your comment regarding the Rising Sun, we are always grateful for feedback.

In order to address the issues behind the disappointment with your visit I would be very grateful if you would give further details via email to CustomerServiceTeam@greeneking.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The position was very good with magnificent views.. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. The menus and meals were excellent. Loved are stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rising Sun or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Rising Sun is a beautiful hotel set in the Coltswold Hills, with beautiful views, it is very well maintained. It is great value for money, The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is excellent with a great range of a la carte and bar meals. We were on a two day stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. Will definately be going back. Couldnt fault it,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailgriffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing