We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service and average food!!”

Ellis Beach Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Australian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ellis Beach Bar & Grill sits amongst a rainforest back drop and provides magnificent views of Ellis Beach just over the road.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service and average food!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Firstly I'd like to say, this is not what I would call a 'bar and grill'. It's an average cafe/seafood joint at best. Definitely not what I was expecting. The food was ok, however the service was TERRIBLE. From what I could see, there was one girl serving behind the counter, and one guy in the kitchen. The waitress was only as nice as she had to be, no extra pleasantries there.. I could look past that if the service wasn't so SLOW. My partner and I ordered 2 pizzas and a serve of chips. 45 minutes later, our food comes out. No apologies from the waitress what so ever. The worst part is, the place was half empty! The pizza was average, might've been better if it didn't come out luke warm. The only good thing about this dinner was the chips! Would not recommend. Head another 20 minutes up to the main strip at Port Douglas, more choice and much better service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy_merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    90
    23
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Ellis beach oceanfront bungalows so this place was a really convenient stop for dinner as it is only a minute drive away and theres not much else around here.
My partner and I came here at 6pm on a pretty deserted Thursday night and there was only one other man there who had already ordered. We ordered 2 pizzas and a side dish of chips. My eftpos receipt says the food was ordered at 6.08pm. We finally got our food at 6.54pm. It wasnt like the place was busy at all. There was no apology when the meals came, no update of an ETA of the food during the wait or any real concern from the waitress who took our order despite walking past our table a few times. It felt like she was more busy talking to the cook in the back more than looking after thrle customers that were there.
The food was alright but nothing to come back for. If you can avoid this place then do so or if u must order because youre desperate, make sure you order when they first open, otherwise god knows how long they take if it ever got busy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beekool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colo Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had the fish and chips for lunch yesterday very average for $17!!! Shame as its a good location but rather limited menu and only seafood was fish and chips when your sitting righ acrosss from the ocean? My tip go into Palm Cove lot better selection of places to eat and many are cheapier

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Welcome to the romantic ellis beach bar and grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Ellis Beach Grill has always been a favorite for steaks and seafood and as a contrast from glitzy Palm Cove [just over the hill to the south] and seems to have undergone a facelift over the past 2 years. The last time we went there about 4 years ago, the meal was once again great in a quiet tropical setting open to the beach and the sounds of the swell from the Coral Sea just across the road. The setting was sublime with the geckos crawling up the walls, the curlews in the bush and the [very] occasional car heading north to Pt Douglas. Last time our family group we left just before the motorbikes and Utes rolled up for a show best described as ladies with vegetables. A charming place, but edgy.
This time; well the edginess seems to have gone but the charm remains. The place has been painted, the chairs are chrome and it still has that roadhouse feel with a cheery bunch behind the bar knocking out seafood, steak sandwiches and burgers [don't order extra chips you won't need them but get one of the salads; they're great]. Beer on tap, a few wines, and an eight ball table with a few familes, couples and the odd solo dining out in peace and quiet. Total cost for our family of 4 was less than AUD$90. The service was fast; we didn't have time to finish the game, it's all you need really

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tornasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Relax while you enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

A great bar and grill off the highway opposite the beach. Great burgers and the chips are CRISPY. A good selection of beers as well. Going to try this again during the week instead of weekends. A good destination to head for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellis Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Ellis Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing