We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ultimate relaxation place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liku'alofa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanokupolu
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate relaxation place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We traveled to Tonga from Australia, family of four with two teenage daughters and stayed at this resort for 10 days. The place is fully refurbished and everything is kept immaculate clean. The rooms are large enough, serviced daily, with comfortable beds and private bathrooms with fridge and coffee facilities. The family that owns the place constantly invests time and money to improve the place. New snorkeling equipment, new chair mattresses on the pool chairs, new fountain on the buffet hall where cultural nights take place once or twice a week. The water is crystal clear on this beach , snorkeling is good and the place is ideal for surfing. When we wanted to visit the church on Sunday the people from the resort took us there in their private cars because buses were not running and we were treated like family experiencing first hand the amazing Tongan hospitality. The meals at the restaurant are very reasonably priced and very large because "you need to eat like a Tongan". Buses run every half hour from the resort to the town where you can catch boats to close by islands. Overall a memorable first visit to this amazing place.
Maria, Gordon, Evangeline and Dimity

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mklona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    105
    35
    17
    3
See reviews for
72
111
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at this resort and it was just amazing, we saw whales jumping most mornings while eating breakfast, surfing the reef and snorkeling just 100m from the resort.

The staff were just awesome and completely accommodating for both us and our friends who stayed further down the beach. I would definitely stay at this resort again.

Big love to the lovely ladies Lola and Rita who made our week away unforgettable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff was wonderful, they make you feel special. The singing and dancing was lively and upbeat - keeps you singing all day. I loved the tapa in the room. The food was wonderful especially the fish. We toured the whole isand whiich is green and very beautiful. The pig on the spit was fun to see and even better to eat. You really feel like you have walked into a happy family and you are soon apart of it. We came to see and discover more about tonga and we did just that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muttimoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, amazing staff, super warm and friendly! Definately reccomend to anyone.
You get to know the surroundigs and the staff which make for a real personal experience. We went for vacation and surfing. The surfing was not so good for the first few days, but a massive swell rolled through and we got some awesome waves. Worth the wait. Thankyou liku'alofa

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Three friends and I recently stayed at the Likualofa for 6 nights and had a great time. The location is one of the best on ha'atafu beach with great snorkelling out front and surfing a short paddle away if the waves are there. We loved the laidback feel of the resort and the awesome staff made it a perfect short getaway.

We were skeptical before we arrived since we planned the trip on a tight budget but were blown away by how great the food, staff, rooms were for how little we spent.

Room Tip: If you're coming with four people try and get a duplex fale, they have huge front balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife spent two nights and Myself only one night. I was very impressed ,I arrived late in the afternoon and was greeted with you must be Greg from reception.Unfortunately I was on the flight from Vavau to Tongatapu that was delayed for a day & a half.I went straight to the water for a snorkel. Tide does go out a long way but is still possible to snorkel & swim. Great fish life. The bar /dining room is amazing with its view over the water & the whales were putting on a show only 80 Meters away. The staff blow a conch shell to let you know there are whales close. Very cool.
The food is good although not top of the line. Plenty of drinks , cocktails etc.
Accommodation was a surprise , I had expected a fale to be a lot less comfortable , Our fale was huge , nice bathroom good bed , clean & tidy with a samll fridge
In summary A lovely place to stay & there are some other resorts not to far away. It is a 20 minute ride to nukualofa but the town is nothing special. This is a great place to spend a few days in the warmth!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forbes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at the resort for 6 nights and loved it! The friendly staff and cheap cocktails won me over straight away, amazing Polynesian show night on the friday (dont forget your $1s) If you are looking for the Hilton you should probably book there (not that you'll find one in Tonga!) It does what it says on the tin, it is a nice clean hotel, provides you with a base and some friendly faces for your travels!!! Its a little bit out of town but theres always the taxi service, lovely Uncle Wesley to shuttle you around if you want to head in for a few.
I would recommend going on the Island tour & make sure Glenda shows you the Tsunami rock!! Breakfast and dinner most days was an amazing show put on by the whales out in the distance and the screaming tourists (myself included) trying to spot the next one first!!
10/10 experience and cant wait for my next visit so I can come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean front rooms which were the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairHB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanokupolu
9.2 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
9.6 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
11.0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liku'alofa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liku'alofa Beach Resort

Property: Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Address: Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Kanokupolu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanokupolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liku'alofa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast of Tongatapu, Liku'alofa Beach Resort lines the beach front with 11 fales (bungalows) five single and five duplex fales (15 rooms), a tree top bar & restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week which is overlooking the ocean, very convenient for whale-watching or simply gazing at the sunset with your favorite cocktail. We also have a tidal swimming pool, camping grounds, a business center, free wifi. We can host private functions such as weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, reunions and many more. From the minute we pick you up from the airport to the time we bid you farewell, your stay will be enriched with unique Tongan experience of its history, culture, tradition, and why we're called "the friendly islands." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Liku'alofa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liku`Alofa Beach Hotel Kanokupolu
Liku'Alofa Beach Resort Tonga/Kanokupolu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing