We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanokupolu
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Liku'alofa, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great and the views were very nice!
Enjoyed snorkeling off the front of the resort, fish weren't abundant but the ones i saw were amazing

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were embraced by the family of the beach of love. Highlights are the food, the buffet performances and atmosphere, Hoosay and his exquisite singing, Angelina and her checky humour, the kava circles the generosity of spirit. We are inspired by their ability to celebrate and appreciate. Thank you so much for the privilege of knowing you all and experiencing Tonga at this special place.

Hazel

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelhahei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Liku Alofa for a week and what an amazing week it was!!! The resort is in a beautiful location, with absolutely stunning views. The staff are amazing, so friendly! Big shout outs to Peseti and the gang. Especially to Latai for serving us drinks all the time up at the treetop bar. Also, to Jose for his amazing voice - still can't get "Blue Bayou" out of our heads. If you are looking for a lovely getaway to somewhere different- this is the place to go. I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for fancy five star service buy the experience you will have will definitely be five star! My partner and I were engaged at their buffet show and it will be a night we will always remember! Thank you so much liku alofa! We will be back soon! P.s. Yes, the resort does run on "Tonga time" and you do gave to wait a while for your meals but that's just Tonga and you're in paradise so what's the rush!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trishashine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The good part:
The staff were lovely, very friendly and tried to be helpful.
The setting was lovely, beautiful views and the rooms were solid and spacious, all the windows are screened to keep them bug free. We found the bed a bit hard, but that is a matter of personal taste. There is the sound of the waves throughout the night, which we found soothing.
The island night banquet was enjoyable - a good buffet with island delicacies like roast suckling pig - and a spectacular dance show - very professionally done by staff.

The not so good part:
The servicing of the rooms was very hit and miss - we went several days without the room being touched, and the standard of cleanliness was only average.
The food on the menu was not available - instead there were three dishes of the chefs choice every night. The quality of these ranged from ok to poor (the pizza is not recommended). The food tended to be a bit cold when it got to the table. The prices for meals are average compared to eating elsewhere in Tonga.
There was a slight air of disorganisation about the place - a lot of people standing around.
We also thought it was on the expensive side for what we got - but this is typical of Tonga - everything is quite expensive for what is basically a third world country - eating out, transport (car hire, taxies, guided tours) and most items in he supermarket.

There is a small shop about 10 minutes walk away (walk back to the main road, and a few hundred metres towards town) where you can get snacks, crackers, cookies, soft drinks.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are bigger, better equipt (TV and fridge) and have unobstructed sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank RedAuckland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed for a few nights - the accommodation is good for Tonga - clean room, good hot shower, lovely sea view and nice ocean pool. Feels pretty glamorous. Staff very friendly. The internet only really works at reception and not in your room. Like most places in Tonga, no soap is provided, which most Westerners ("Palangis') expect. The food is ok but they still make some classic Tongan mistakes which don't suit Palangi tastes - not enough fresh salady things, and *really* heavy and starchy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esthersummerson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The whole experience was exactly what we wanted, layed back excellent food, awsome scenery, but most of all the staff treat you like family and miss them most of all. Our boys aged 13 & 10 made friends with all the staff which helped them experience and love the cultural side of Tonga. The entertainment was awsome Jose is a really talented performer and if met by the right manager could go far. Angie, there was nothing that she could not make happen and goes our of her way to keep everyone happy. Hire a car form sunshine rentals to experience the whole island as it offers different cultural things to experience. Our family was in tears when we had to leave..... Make sure you organise pickup and drop off to the airport and confirm same day or day before..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shereelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I came here with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it here! The people were genuinely nice and you never get that feeling of being "intruded". This place seems to attract alot of interesting and good-hearted people. Much privacy and beautiful views. Much love goes to Sulieti and the other wonderful girls (you too, Koso) who work here. The culture night is well-worth it!

The only thing I could ask for is that they work on the "path" that leads to the beach. You have to trek through the forest Crocodile Dundee style to get to it. Watch out for big spiders!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lithe_Taahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanokupolu
10.4 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
17.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
185 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
5.9 mi away
Royal Sunset Island Resort
Royal Sunset Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Atata Island
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liku'alofa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liku'alofa Beach Resort

Address: Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Kanokupolu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanokupolu
Price Range: $68 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liku'alofa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast of Tongatapu, Liku'alofa Beach Resort lines the beach front with 11 fales (bungalows) five single and five duplex fales (15 rooms), a tree top bar & restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week which is overlooking the ocean, very convenient for whale-watching or simply gazing at the sunset with your favorite cocktail. We also have a tidal swimming pool, camping grounds, a business center, free wifi. We can host private functions such as weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, reunions and many more. From the minute we pick you up from the airport to the time we bid you farewell, your stay will be enriched with unique Tongan experience of its history, culture, tradition, and why we're called "the friendly islands." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Liku'alofa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liku`Alofa Beach Hotel Kanokupolu
Liku'Alofa Beach Resort Tonga/Kanokupolu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing